We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice enough”
Review of Tehran Homa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tehran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tehran Homa Hotel
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Tehran
Reviewed 17 September 2009

It is really hard to like any hotels in the world when we think there are plenty of beautiful hotels in Istanbul where i live. Location is great if you are in biz trip. life at outside is always alive and people are friendly. Hotel was almost empty i think the reason was Ramadan period. I have seen lots of 3 star hotels in Europe and their rooms are smaller and uncomfortable compares to Homa. You can easily understand it was well decorated in 70s but nothing added after that date except curtains, pillows etc. They have taxi service and driver can travel with you all day. You can also find green/yellow cab but cannot convince them to travel allday. There are standard meat restaurant and well decorated Italian one called picasso. Everything about eating is already great through tehran. you should be really unlucky to eat tasteless things. there is construction front of hotel and it looks it would continue for years so donot forget to ask room with pool view. reception can speak english but no chance about concierge.briefly, you can stay with confidence but you should try wellnamed apartment hotels for longer stays.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chemist55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2009

My best hotel experience in Iran, definitely designed to offer as close as possible to what the Western business traveler is used to. Middle-Eastern hospitality is unrivaled.
The hotel is older decor, but still comfortably modern in it's services.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The location is very good. The rooms are very comfortable. It is a bit pricy, well like most of the good hotels in Tehran. The staff are not very polite, but the room service is not. I usually use this hotel in my trips to Tehran

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramin-Raiszadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I use the Homa Hotel a lot. It used to be the Sheraton prior to 1979, and much of the decor harks back to those days. Rooms are adequate and functional, but make sure you ask for a room facing the back of the hotel as the front can be noisy, from early in the morning until late at night. Using a credit card can be expensive, as they are processed through Japan and go through two sets of exchange rate variations before they reach your bill. Cash is best (Euro, Sterling or Dollars) and the rates are displayed so you know what you will be paying. Restaurants in the hotel are adequate, but all rather samey. The hotel is going through a renovation program, but this does not impact the quality of stay. Convenient for Vanak Square area, but a long way from either airport (minimum of 1/2 hour from domestic and 1 hour from international, depending on time of day). Popular with locals for their coffee lounge which does excellent coffee and patiseries. They have a policy of retaining your passport until you check out, which if you are visiting government organisations is a problem, as most request your passport as a means of ID. Either take another photo ID (eg: driving license) or ask them for your passport back, which does take persistence. You need to explain why you need it. They don't even accept a photocopy. They say it is government policy but other hotels are not so insistent. Increasingly used by tourist groups (it is linked to Iran Air).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awsculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

For USD 130, this was a 'lunch bag' let down. I have nothing terribly bad to say, but it is not worth the price.

I spent a nights here while skiing in Shemshak.

The bed was uncomfortable, but the room was clean and spacious.

The location was nice for a walk with lots of people watching on the strrets near by.

Go up to the roof restaurant for a great view of the city

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backInCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

This is DEFINATELY NOT a 5-star hotel. It's rather a 3-star property. I might have been a 5-star hotel 30 years ago, but not as per 2008. Everything about the hotel are very dated, and the service is very cold and mediocre. But I suppose this is Iran, and hospitality business and services are extremely underdeveloped. But Homa is as good as it gets for Tehran.

It was pretty easy to make the reservation, despite some language barriers. The reservation was done through e-mailing the hotel directly. The rate was around 100 EUR per night including internet and breakfast.

I was met at the airport by a driver booked through the hotel. This was very handy. The driver was nice and polite.

When I arrived to the hotel the doorstaff was desperate to take my luggage, just to get a tip, which I learned later. The check-in was efficient and I was in my room in minutes.

My room was on the second floor. It was large and airy, but time definately stood still. Everything was old, tired and outdated, but it was comfortable enough. The bed was little firm, but okey. The bathroom was red marble anno 1972, but everything was working and it was clean and tidy. Toothbrush, bathrobe and slippers in the bathroom. The tv had both BBC and CNN. The internet connection was slow, but complimentary. Most western sites were blocked, but it's easy to unblock them if you know your way around the censorship:) There was also a working area and a personal safe in the room.

I did not use the swimmingpool cause it was very dirty and not maintained properly. I did not see anyone else using it either. The restaurants were serving food even during Ramadan-hours, but the food was horrible! I suggest future guests to venture out of the hotel to eat some truly delicious Iranian food.

The location was good, walking distance to many shops and restaurants. It is close to a central squre which have shopping malls, banks and exchange bureaus. The subway is also relatively close.

I paid my stay upon departeture in Iranian rials. The reception kept my passport as a deposit during my stay.

Iran is an amazing country - and Tehran is an amazing metropolis, with great food, and the people are very hospitable. Highly recommendable.

I would not hesitate to stay here again, it's a good base for exploring Tehran, and it's one of the better hotels in the city. Homa Hotel used to be a Sheraton, even though it's not a Sheraton property anymore, it's definately on par with many tired Sheraton hotels throughout the world (such as Sheraton Lima, Sheraton Zagreb, Sheraton Heathrow, Sheraton Damascus, and other tired Sheratons), but it's definately not a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skrosvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

I've been to this hotel LAST YEAR. I choose this because of thease reasons:
1ST- It is a 5 stars hotel
2nd: It was a Sheraton Hotel before revolution in Iran
3rd: It is located in Northern part of Tehran
4th: Easy access to subway
5th:It has a view of both Alborz mountain chains and also down town of the Tehran which have a lots of hitorical buldings.
6th: You never feal home sick in this hotel because all the staff are so hospitable.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jackTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tehran Homa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tehran Homa Hotel

Address: 51 Khodami Street | Vanak Square, Tehran 11369, Iran
Region: Iran > Tehran Province > Tehran
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Tehran
Hotel Class:5 star — Tehran Homa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 143

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing