We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable room, pricey breakfast”
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable room, pricey breakfast”
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Phoenicia's location is very convenient. It's a walking to Zaintuney Bay, corniche and Solidere downtown (watch out for the cars when crossing the street!). It's also near most business offices and, therefore, one doesn't have to suffer through Beirut's traffic.

Room is comfortable. Because we booked late, we couldn't get the king size bed, no smoking room we requested. The receptionist instead arranged to combine the double beds in a no smoking room in the club floor. That worked well for us.

The hotel has a lot of pluses. However, smoking in the public areas (common in Lebanon and the region) and the pricey breakfast are a turn-off. Other than those, it would have been perfect.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jojo-bebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear JoJo-Bebot,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut and for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the facilities within and the highlights of our location and neighboring surrounding. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad to inform you that discussions are in place for a law to ban smoking in public areas in the future. So hopefully when you come back again it will be to healthier environment.
One again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed Beirut and we are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    173
    42
    7
    10
See reviews for
98
141
60
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Went to Beirut for new year and stayed at the Phoenicia. A rather bigger hotel than I normally pick but as I had not been to Beirut before and it was new year we decided to stay at the best rated hotel. It was perfect. Extremely comfortable if not slightly old fashioned rooms. Definitely worth getting to know the guys at the concierge desk. They helped us find some really good restaurants and bars. Had a massage in the lovely spa at the hotel which was good, but the great thing about the hotel and the whole of Beirut are the people. Probably the most friendly city I have ever stayed in. We never felt uneasy at any time and everyone welcomed us and spoke to us in bars etc. New years eve was superb. Dress up well in Beirut theynare extremely smart and be prepared for the bill at the end of the night. With the exchange rate it is seriously expensive but well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Definitely try to book a room high up and over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Leedsey,

We are glad that you took the time to share your feedback and post this review on trip advisor about Phoenicia Hotel even though time passed on your last stay with us.
Thank you for that and for your detailed comments and recommendations. Hopefully you will be planning a return visit to Beirut this summer so you get a chance to experience our renovated Presidential suites and the other side of Beirut with its hospitality and friendliness all over again.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and thank you again for your feedback,

Best Regards,

Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I checked in at this marvellous hotel 3 nights ago and everything has been impeccable until today when we decided to relax by the pool and enjoy the hotel for a day. People are allowed to smoke at the sun loungers yet one cannot enjoy shisha there, i was told quite rudely that I must go and sit at a table if I wanted shisha - I then proceeded to sit on a sofa which I should add I had been using every night at which to smoke shisha and was then told no I must sit on a table - I was very annoyed considering the whole plae was practically empty with 6 people sitting in the entire area including me and my husband, I think cOnsidering the quality of the hotel and price of the shisha guests should be allowed to smoke where they like and not be treated like school children, I was ready to write a glowing report on this hotel but am extremely disappointed by the daytime pool staff who I found to be extremely rude and nonsensical. Very unfortunate as the hotel itself is impeccable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheeni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R.E.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

the hotel looks really middle east and it is amazing! trust all the below messages.
the SPA is gorgeous and you will find a very well equipped gym with all facilities as well as a quite big swimming pool where you can relax.
another very good point is the breakfast room where there are all the kind of food you can look for, form the european, english to the arabic taste.
the hotel is not cheap at all but it really wort

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cervino75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear cervino75,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we really appreciate you taking the time to post this review. It is a great pleasure that you described Phoenicia Beirut as the Middle East soul hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed our SPA and Gym and got the chance to try the pool and relax. We are focusing more than ever on health and fitness and promoting a lot of indoor and outdoor activities like Boot Camps and Adventure outings, so hopefully next time you get the chance to try them out.

It is a real pleasure that you liked the food and had a great experience at Mosaic our international buffet and got a taste of different cuisines.

Again thank you for your recent post and for choosing and recommending Phoenicia Hotel Beirut.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have been to Lebanon several times as I have many friends there but this was the first time I had to sta in a hotel. Given Lebanons optional power supply and somethimes lack of facilities Iasked everyone what is the best hotel and they al said the same ....... Phoenicia. The service was very high quality and the location is very nice to. I would return. The price varies depending on high or low season but I think it is pretty reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Kevin M.,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and give us your opinion about your stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. It is very nice to see that you are a recurrent visitor of Lebanon and have friends in the region and it made us really proud that everyone suggested you stay at Phoenicia Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and found all the facilities and services to be up to the standards and expectations.

One again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

As you arrive if you not too lazy walk up the grand stair case - most of us take the escalator. Then you are transported to the time this was the Paris of the middle East. Go straight o the bar on the right hand side the counter and have a beer or if you travelling with a weirdo a fresh carrot juice. Chat to the barman and get a feel for the place rather than at one of the tables. The check in staff are quota driven so you could get a local that does not care but this is rare at this hotel. The pool area is very nice and the breakfast first class. If you feel like something different just in front of the hotel you can pay to have a swim in a salt water pool. The corniche is a short walk away and lovely to soak in the local relaxation culture in the early evening. Also just in front of the hotel is a statue were the assassination of a prominent politician took place.
So the location is great the food excellent rooms are nice I would not stay elsewhere again if you coming to Lebanon don't be a cheapskate stay here and enjoy the feeling that you are in the Paris of the middle East.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Manydaysaway,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut. We appreciate you taking the time to post such detailed description of your entire Phoenicia visit.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and found all the facilities and services to be up to the standards and expectations. It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the facilities within and the highlights of our location and neighboring surrounding.

One again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed Beirut and we are hoping to welcoming you back soon and thank you for using “Paris of the Middle East” it is our favorite description for Beirut.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

A very well organized establishment.
The room rates are very fair.
CLEAN.
Room floors are calm isolated and the hotel itself is located in the most wonderful area in Beirut.
The food is good.
Each one of the staff knows what to do, and doinf it very well.
I am sure they have a very professional HR.
Yesterday i ate at the Mosaic lobby level , great food

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Rachid H,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. We really appreciate you taking the time to post this review in such a clear manner. It is a pleasure that you considered us an organized, fair, clean and calm hotel. Please note that we have communicated your 5 star review with the team as a thank you for their consistent work to provide the highest level of service and standards. We are happy you had a good stay and enjoyed the food hopefully we will see you back soon at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
1.2 km away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#2 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.4 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
5.2 km away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
2.6 km away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#8 of 117 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.4 km away
Le Bristol Hotel
Le Bristol Hotel
#5 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Property: Phoenicia Hotel
Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#3 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#4 Family Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing