We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more like a B&B than a guesthouse”
Review of Nomad Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat Governorate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nomad Guest House
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“more like a B&B than a guesthouse”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

a great place to spend some time in Muscat. The hosts Chris, Lorna and Rose will give you all the time you require to help plan your travels. Rooms have more than adequate space and were very family friendly. Get to Oman soon before the crowds start coming to this special place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarrodd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
43
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We spent four nights at the Nomad Guesthouse but wished we could have stayed longer. Lorna, Chris and Rosemary made us feel at home and went out of their way to ensure that we had a fantastic experience. We arrived late in the evening in a rental car, without directions to the guesthouse, which we had forgotten to print. We called Lorna and she told us to wait at the Chedi, from where she picked us up. It was so easy once we knew where we had to go! Our room and bathroom were huge and spotlessly clean. The rooftop terrace was a great place to relax and socialise. We had one of Lorna’s tasty home-cooked dinners there one night with some of the other guests, and we also went on a snorkelling trip with them which Chris organised, which was great. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of fresh fruit. There was a problem with a noisy water pump which I mentioned to Chris, and they immediately got on the case to sort it out. As long as they know they will try their best to fix any problem you might have, and they can also offer advice on trips, sights and pretty much anything you need to know about Oman. There’s a washing machine, a kitchen for self-catering and free wi-fi. The location’s good (close to the airport and Grand Mosque), so for us Nomad was the perfect choice and we would love to return in the future as one week in Oman was not nearly enough time to appreciate what this great country has to offer. Thank you Chris, Lorna and Rosemary for making our holiday so special! Julia & Andy

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meerurlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

It's a shame that it was such a short stay for us at the Nomad Guesthouse. It's practically the few odd accommodations that you can practise yoga in the room as it is very big and spacious. The hosts - Chris, Lorna and their helper, Rosemary, were all extremely friendly and helpful and always have good travel tips to offer. They arranged for our ground transport (on short notice) and even offerred us a boat ride.

The breakfast was sumptious with a good selection of fresh food and drinks. It pleases the more travel-weary palate.

The villa is only 15 minutes drive away from the airport but clearly, it's far more convenient to have a car or a driver with a car to be based out in this place (or anywhere in Oman).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

"Come as a guest --- leave as a friend" does indeed sound quite tacky but here it is absolutely applicable! We spent our first ever week in Oman at this place and found it hard to leave. However, it was for a few days only while exploring the South of the country. So coming back to the Nomad Guest House marked another highlight of our visit to Oman.
Service, quality and friendliness were at its best and the whole team was almost always available for giving advice, tips and their pure presence. And this was one of the major points: we felt very much welcome and well looked after. Highlights were a boat trip with the always cheerful host Chris... and bbqs on the overwhelming + tranquil rooftop terrace. Here, guests are mingling easily and the hosts blend in perfectly. The convenient and quiet residential location with the nearby chipper, a fruit juice shop (worth a daily three minute walk!) and a huge supermarket add to the excellent picture of this truly unique spot.

Our special thanks to Lorna and Rose.

Our promise when leaving: we will be back!
Inez & Alexander / Cologne

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napfschnecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed for three nights and had a marvelous time. Our room, Badger, was very spacious, with a queen bed, a twin bed, a couple of chairs, a minibar, tons of closet space and a big bathroom with a shower/tub combo. It was all immaculate, except for the shower curtain which had a touch of mildew.

We arranged for an airport transfer to the hotel when we arrived, which was a good idea since it's on a smaller street in a quiet residential area. The next day, they took us back to the airport (a 10 or 15 minute drive) to pick up a rental car, which was very inexpensive. Definitely book a rental car - Muscat is relatively easy to navigate, and public transport doesn't seem like a good option in this spread-out city.

On the last night of our stay, the guest house hosted a barbeque on the roof with all sorts of tasty foods. We sat with the owners, who were very gracious and friendly. It was a very relaxing and fun finish to a great stay in Muscat.

(In addition to visiting the capital, we also made the very worthwhile day trip to Nizwa to see the fort and souk.)

Note that the guest house does not accept credit cards, so be sure to have enough cash on hand.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Chris,Lorna, and Rosemary, our hosts in Nomad Guest House, made our trip in Oman a wonderful one. Their help, their availability, and their advice, made our trip a successful one, as it is not very easy to travel in Oman. They made our trip special, and we felt we left some good friends behind when we left. The house is very nice, with very spacious and spotless rooms/bathrooms. We enjoyed relaxing on the roof-terrace where you can lounge and have delicious dinners (not to mention the friendly Thursday night BBQ). Great breakfasts are served downstairs where it is nice to meet other travelers and share their experience. A great place to stay that we strongly recommend. Greg and Florence/Vancouver/Canada

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Chris, Lorna and Rose and had a great time. They make you feel comfortable and welcome. The rooms are clean and big. They are offering home cooked meals, who are great! Once a week a BBQ, all on this wonderful rooftop garden. They are taking care of you as being family. The house is situated in quiet, central part of Muscat. Very easy to reach Airport, Mosque, highways, shopping malls and restaurants. Great deal!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat Governorate hotels
2.9 km away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
12.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
1,513 reviews
7.6 km away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#9 of 52 in Muscat
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
4.1 km away
Somerset Panorama Muscat
8.3 km away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Guest House

Property: Nomad Guest House
Address: 4468 | Athaiba, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat Governorate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nomad Guest House offers luxury accommodation at a fraction of 5 Star Hotel prices. Standard en-suite Double rooms are 130 USD a night and Superior rooms are 156 USD a night The Guest House is located on the airport side of Muscat in Athaiba. It is only a 15 minute drive from the airport. The beautiful Athaiba beach is only a 15 minute walk away. All rooms have fridge, coffee & tea making facilities and free to air satellite TV. Free WiFi in all rooms and on the roof terrace The Guest House is very spacious and beautifully furnished. It is laid out to create a comfortable and friendly atmosphere where fellow Nomad travelers can swap stories of the day's adventures and plan for tomorrow's. Self catering facilities are available to all our guests A completely free dolphin watching and snorkeling trip is offered to anyone staying 5 nights or more The Guest House operates a strict no smoking policy within the guest house itself. Land and sea Tours can be booked through Nomad Tours also rent a car and rental of camping equipment. See our web site ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nomad Guest House Hotel Muscat Governorate
Nomad Guest House Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing