We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Apartment Hotel Was Meant To Be!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha
Ranked #30 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What an Apartment Hotel Was Meant To Be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Having traveled (as a family with small children) far and wide in the Gulf as frequent residents of apartment hotels, we finally found our favorite 'stay' in the Kempinski Doha.

Plusses:
Our 2-bdr apartment was *very* spacious, well-laid-out, tastefully decorated, and quiet. There was a full kitchen as well as separate dining area, and the living room had comfortable leather sofas. The bedrooms were carpeted, and the walk-in closet in the large master-suite was absolutely wonderful. The lighting was well planned (not always so in Gulf apartments) and easy to understand. The baby cot provided was fine, and had baby-appropriate bedding (again, not always the case!). Our apartment definitely had the 'wow' factor - particularly the comfortable master suite. There was something relaxing and welcoming about coming back to this apartment at the end of the day.

The children's club was a surprise hit with our 4-year old - they had well-organized activities (arts+crafts) which she loved, and the gals working there were very attentive and sweet. The indoor swimming area included a VERY large children's pool, which we also loved. We certainly missed the experience of swimming outdoors (and missed having a pool restaurant), but I suppose during summer the indoor factor would be a plus.

We did not have breakfast included, so cannot comment on that (we did not eat at the hotel at all, except for one evening of room service which we found to be somewhat overpriced for the product delivered).

Hotel was conveniently located within very short walking distance to a mall.

Due to our short stay, we cannot comment on things which are important to folks having a longer stay: dishwasher, washing machine.

We didn't have any negative impressions specifically associated with the hotel. Regarding Doha as a whole, the taxi situation is atrocious, and any important transfers should absolutely be booked well in advance, as it is often not possible to simply call for a taxi and have one arrive. We took advantage of private taxi services, which were more expensive (but still cheap by western standards) and not always reliable. It is worth bargaining with private taxis before departing, as the price can often be reduced substantially.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereisjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    47
    17
    5
    9
See reviews for
72
30
19
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I have been there for three nights, enough to experience most of it. Rooms are large, small or medium apartments, just the bathroom could be bigger. Services are very well, gym is really good equipped, nice swimming pool. I suggest to have breakfast in the bar close to the lobby. I haven't used the restaurant in the evening. Hotel is close to corniche and to a medium size mall.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
893 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 812 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Others have written about this first-rate suites hotel being perfect for a long stay. I stayed for three nights, and it felt so good after travelling for two weeks elsewhere. For longer trips like I was on in Feb-Mar 2012, I enjoyed this kind of a break. The full kitchen was a joy as was the dining room.

Room Tip: They are all excellent. I was upgraded to a two-bedroom suite which was far more than I needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at Kempinski Doha for a few days in January and was delighted by the spacious rooms and the service. After checking in, we were escorted to our suite where we enjoyed the most amazing views over the sea. Very scenic!

Room Service was ok, but beware of the prices. I have never been charged this much for a can of soda or a cup of coffee.

Every hotel in the world has at least one staff member that will exceed all your expectations and will make you feel right at home. At this hotel it is Johanna at the Front Desk. She was extremely pleasant and helpful and seemed to know everything about Doha and its sights. We received fantastic recommendations for sightseeing, shopping, dinner, etc. and we are extremely thankful for the outstanding service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed here from 25 Jan to the 9th Feb,2012. Excellent place to stay in and the rooms (suites) are exceptionally large and tastefully furnished. Was upgraded to a 3 room suite as the hotel was full up. The in room amenities are great.
The City Centre Doha Mall is a short walk away and has a Carrefour where one can buy most small things one requires. The dining options are sadly limited in the hotel but there are nice restaurants and a food court at the Mall.
All the elevators went off service one evening, due to some water leakage from the tanks but the hotel staff took great care in arranging rooms for us in lower floors to sleep in.
The staff is exceptional in their service right from the front desk to housekeeping.
Will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The bay facing rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rath_ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stopped for two nights. The room was like a huge apartment, very well decorated. The staff was very efficient and helpful and everything worked fine. They really help to make your stay easy and comfortable, even for hiring your transportation from and to the airport before your arrival and for getting the visa to get into Qatar. Also to arrange some some tours, they provide an excellent organization regarding that. The hotel is very well located, where most hotels are, surrounded by Doha's modern and impressive buildings, only two blocks aways from City Center, a shopping center that has cafes and restaurantes and from where you can get a taxi to go to some of the city main attractions, like the sokos and the city´s Art Museum. Besides the restaurant, which is ok though a little expensive, it has a sort of fancy and wonderful deli where you can buy or take pastries, cafes, teas, sandwiches and salads, also expensive but highly recomendable.

Room Tip: A lot of space, modern decoration, it has all it needs to have and more
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esthercbuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Excellent hotel for families and long stay, I stayed there for 4 nights during new year the front desk was friendly and reservation department was excellent thank Mr. Mazan. You feel home when you enter the hotel, city center mall is close by 5 mins walk. Swimming pools are nice and I like the kids club.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
5.7 km away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
0.3 km away
Ascott Doha
Ascott Doha
#84 of 141 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 km away
InterContinental Doha The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Melia Doha
Melia Doha
#32 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.8 km away
Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha
0.1 km away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha

Property: Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha
Address: Al Qassar Street, West Bay, Doha 32129, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Doha
#17 Business Hotel in Doha
#19 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#21 Spa Hotel in Doha
#28 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown that graces the skyline of Doha has truly left a footprint in the sand. Indulge yourself with ultra modern luxurious residences. Experience a passionate sense of style and comfort. Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha is ideal for the business and leisure resident whom requires privacy and intriguing surroundings. Absorb the Arabian air, warm gulf waters and beautifully designed mosques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Residences And Suites, Doha
Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing