We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$70
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
US$80
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Maha Arjaan by Rotana Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$55
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi Downtown(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$2,180
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers(Abu Dhabi)
US$159
US$136
Jumeirah.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,081)
Filter reviews
3,082 results
Traveller rating
2,175
606
172
58
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,175
606
172
58
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorgrand mosquecedar loungemarco pierremosque viewcuiscene restaurantcreek viewview roomwet roomsheikh zayed mosquefloor to ceiling windowspool barlebanese restaurantbeautiful hotelpool staffsun loungersbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
2,225 - 2,230 of 3,082 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr for five days in October 2012 for business/mini-vacation with my mom. This was my first time visiting Abu Dhabi or anywhere in the Middle East. The hotel staff was, by far, the most impressive part of the hotel. From the time I got out of the taxi until the time I checked out, every single person that I encountered at the hotel was kind, helpful and able to assist me with any questions- and I had a lot! The bellman even helped me make a local call!
The hotel grounds are very well maintained and the pool area is huge. I did not use the pool, but my mom did and she was treated like a queen as she read her book by the pool. She also used the health club and was completely awed by the assistance of the staff in using the fancy treadmill she was not used to using.
The room was huge, clean and very comfortable. We had a view of the city out of our window that seemed to go on and on forever. Internet signal was strong in the room and throughout the hotel. Tip – register for the Presidents Club before arriving as there is no charge for the internet if you are a club member.
The hotel has a complimentary city shuttle bus that follows a set schedule. It was fantastic! The bus will take you to the Mosque, Dubai mall, Marina mall and Madenat Zayed (awesome fabric shops here and the gold souk is very reasonable!!) and even does a run to Yaz Island and Ferrari World.
The drivers are friendly, on-time, and will answer any questions and even point out some of the landmarks along the way. We went to the Mosque for the evening tour, which is a must do if you are in the area. The tour guide explains the Muslim religion and the purpose and architecture of the Mosque. It was definitely one of the highlights of the trip. We also took the shuttle bus to the Madenat Zayed for some shopping and then to the Marina Mall. The timings were perfect as we had just enough time to do what we wanted at each place. We caught the Big Bus tour at Marina Mall and it was a nice way to end a long day of walking and shopping.
The concierge recommended a day tour of Dubai that was absolutely phenomenal. The tour picks you up at the hotel, takes you to Dubai to see the main sites there for the day, and then returns you directly to the hotel. It’s a must do if you have the time. You will learn so much about Abu Dhabi, Dubai and the UAE in general.
I only ate at the buffet restaurant and the Italian restaurant that are both on-site. Both were very good and, I thought, fairly reasonable in price for a hotel. English language newspapers were available during breakfast, as well. If you are looking for something different to eat, or to do some local shopping, walk (about 10 minutes or so) next door to the Shangri La hotel. They have a shopping souk and an excellent Indian food restaurant and other different restaurants to choose from.
I am coming back in early spring next year for additional business and am looking forward to staying at the Fairmont again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quilting4Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for staying with us on your first Abu Dhabi visit and taking the time to post this great review. It is a pleasure to pass on your compliments regarding our service, hotel facilities and restaurants to the whole team who made your stay a memorable one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week and from beginning to end everything was perfect. Facilities, the team, the restaurants satisfied all of our needs. The pool area was brilliant, apart from Fridays when families invade this area, taking away all the peace !
The MPW steakhouse/grill is not cheap but worth it !
I'll be going back to Abu Dhabi next year and I will stay at the fairmont.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Les A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during on 25-27 Eid Holidays and I must acknowledge the hotel efforts in making this an experience to remember. We had booked a total of 7 rooms and the rooms were spacious enough to fit us all when we wanted to gather in one room. The Hotel exterior from the Beach area was spectacular and the facilities available even added value to the stay. The hotel location is even fantastic which is at the entrance of Abu Dhabi which kept us remote from the city a bit. There is a nice number of restaurants that kept us always coming back. Check in and check out were smooth and internet connection was available throughout the hotel (thanks to enrolling to the Fairmont President Club Membership which offers complimentary internet connection). A definite must return for this hotel.

Room Tip: Creek view rooms are a must PEOPLE!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khalidalredha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived at the hotel during Eid holidays with wife and baby at 3.30pm. Room not ready and no clear indication from management on when it would be finished. So we waited, and waited. Upon which I told them this was unacceptable as we had to feed and clean our baby and did not want to do it in the reception. Half an hour later, they finally upgraded us (no explanation was offered as to our room). Beware of rude guests. And management's clear ambiguity on dealing with them.

Now the good things:
Room, hotel and amenities: Upgraded room on the 9th floor was great. Had city view but honestly it was not that important as the room took center stage. Beach was quiet and clean (water a little murky though). Pool was brilliant. But at the time we went there were way too many kids jumping and shouting.

Breakfast & food: Honestly I can say we tried everything and it was absolutely delicious. Go crazy. You will be surprised, especially with the Canadian Poutine.

Negatives:
Service. Service and service.
At poor hotels you have to call three times. At this one we would call seven and wait six hours. Room left uncleaned despite notice to clean and giving them 8 hours to do so. Again no explanation was given. Cot was requested four weeks prior to checkin. None was provided until ten calls were made and I spoke to the manager. Any request, such as restocking cups, towels, room service took forever or never came. This is their Achilles heel. If they only offered better or more competent and understanding staff we would have loved the stay. Unfortunately, as a result we will not return. This is unfortunate since we prefer to have the service instead of the infrastructure but as is the case here, forgo our troubles and speak to the managers and they will do things for you. The rest are incompetent.

Overall,
Beautiful hotel and amenities. Unfortunately, the service will reassure we will avoid. There are way too many better hotels that are priced competitively for us to return to this one.

Room Tip: Our room, 957 was on the top (Gold floor) and had the city view. Request the beach view instead, it makes it all the more romantic. And pick neighbors wisely, ours were Kuwaitis with a few children who were still screaming albeit it being 2 in the morning.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vino V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious and beautiful! Pool and waterfront area is fabulous. Food excellent. We enjoyed brunch at Cuisine, lunch Poolside, dinner at Frankies and Marco Pierre White and all were excellent. Hotel staff were all very friendly and eager to make your stay fabulous. I highly recommend this hotel for travellers to the UAE

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews