We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheba Hotel
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
14
24
16
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
24
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distancenice hotelold citystar hotelbusinessfurniture
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 57 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights on a biz trip. Nice old world charm. The staff do a remarkable job of keeping the place running and maintenance despite all the turmoil around

It could do with dome upgrades but then the pricing is in line with a 3 star in most big cities and the location is very safe. Staff is mostly expat Indians so the Indian food was a bonus

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Vgupta_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have stayed at the 'Taj Sheba' a few times when working in Yemen with elections, and when I saw that they now have a Movenpick Hotel in Sana'a, I wanted to see how it stands up to the 'old' Sheba Hotel. I was thrilled to see it placed #5, while the Sheba is still remains #1! As it should be.
Over the years I have talked about not only the top-notch services at this hotel, but the staff is more accommodating than anywhere else I have stayed across the world. It was my '2nd home' abroad, and it was wonderful viewing the same rooms, pool, etc , today, and seeing their familiar beauty.
Gladys Teske
ps
I checked the earliest 2013 date, but I was there before any of those dates. (1993 and 1997)
Sherwood Park AB
Canada

Room Tip: I always chose a room overlooking the pool....even if I couldn't find time to enjoy it, I enjoyed watching others enjoy it. Plus the Hot Tub!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glady78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed two weeks here on business. it felt very safe and was conveniently downtown. The rooms are fine, very clean. They brought complimentary fruit most days - very nice. And once a week they gave the non-Muslim guests a bottle of wine (on Thursday!). Amazing in such a dry place and very appreciated. There was a manager's party by the pool one evening with wonderful grills - also a very nice touch when one is so "confined to the barracks". There is a pastry display case in the lobby where one can buy snacks, or sit and have a tea or coffee and a pastry from the shop. Most everywhere in Yemen people can still smoke, and that is the case in the lobby, but in the restaurant there is a non-smoking part.
I had stayed here three three years ago, and the menu had not changed, I'm sure. The hotel is Indian run, and the Indian food on the menu was the best choice, I feel. Since it is unsafe to go out much you are at the mercy of the hotel restaurant and after a while the menu seems very limited. That said, the restaurant staff especially were very friendly and remembered what one took for breakfast and so on. Breakfast was included in the rate, but wifi was not, and when your wifi card ran out you had to call the business office and they sent someone up with another card. Generally the internet was available and had a good speed.
Good pool and pool area - the women's gym downstairs is windowless and not too inviting.
The hotel has a generator, and as soon as the electricity goes out in the area the generator kicks in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gayle15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The priority for most foreign visitors to Sana'a will be their safety. The hotel is well protected by barriers and high walls. The waiting staff in the dining room are unfailingly polite. The food from the buffet and the menu is excellent. The housekeeping staff kept my room spotlessly clean and tidy.

The only negative is the requirement to purchase wifi internet access at an additional cost. Internet access in an hotel is as essential as soap and toilet paper, not an added extra.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller4902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed their for a couple of days. Awesome and secured property. Located in the capital city and surrounded by shops and basic amenities required for people to live. Just opposite to Bank of Yemen. Services and the food is good. Lot of Indians. Security is good and foreigners are comfortable in staying this hotel. Old sanaa city is also nearby. Its a heritage place'and the sanaa mosque is just 10 kms from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balasubramaniam11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews