We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food & great service”

O'Farrell Restaurant
Ranked #102 of 280 Restaurants in Punta del Este
Price range: US$50 - US$70
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Placed in a natural & peaceful setting overlooking the wonderful beaches of Manantiales, in the La Barra district. Hubert’s Mediterranean style cuisine is inspired and redefined to match this unique setting. He chooses an Argentine style grill and a large wood oven to braise the best and freshest products from the sea and organic farms of Uruguay. He offers tasting menus paired with selected wines from Europe, South America, South Africa & Australia. Out in the garden you can enjoy a wonderful meal surrounded by aromatic herbs that also supply the kitchen.
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

With my wife we had dinner at O’Farrel on valentine’s night. It was a great experience. The place is beautifully decor and the service is kind & professional. The food was tasty and drinks were also great. Try the clerico and the burrata as starter.

Thank mauchovarela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 135 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2017

We went with a large party for dinner during Christmas Eve. Food was terrible. Service was very very slow. I asked to see the manager and they told me that there was no manager, that the owners were at a private event. We paid USD 180 per person and felt it was a rip off.

2  Thank Eduardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubertOFarrell, Owner at O'Farrell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

We sincerely apologize for your dinning experience on Christmas Eve. We value our customers and we regret we didn’t have the foresight to have prevented the issues that arouse that night. We work every day to ensure that our customers have the best culinary experience at our restaurant, and clearly that did not happen that night. We promise to make the necessary changes to make sure this does not happen again, where the restaurant is left with out a chef and manager on site. We will like to invite you with a bottle of Uruguay’s finest wines if you choose to give us another opportunity to show you that what happened that night is an isolated incident and that we are motivated each day to give the best service our clients deserve.

Sincerely,

Hubert & Pamela O’Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017

So we happened to be here also on Christmas Eve as another reviewer....We experienced pretty much the same disastrous experience. From the beginning we could tell the staff was completely unprepared. We were a party of 13 and the waitress had a really hard time taking our order. By the way, it was a quite expensive USD 180 fixed menu. After inexplicably waiting for an hour, the appetizers came and we were astonished that these plates were rather simple, plain and were certainly prepared ahead of time. Then much later we complained and finally the main courses arrived: cold turkey or a couple of dry slices of beef paired with deli-style salads ( potato salad, cole slaw).To finish off a terrible evening the waiter explained that only 2 of the 5 desserts listed on the menu were available. So we tried both, happy at least to leave them on the plate and not gain useless weight by these foul tasting desserts. Mine was a meringue that was chewy instead of crisp. We heard that waiter mentioned by the other reviewer break a couple of glasses, and the restaurant felt like an abandoned ship. Its owners had gone to cater a private event. I believe they should have closed the restaurant for ChristmasEve if they were to leave it completely adrift. We had a long, awful experience and will certainly NOT EVER go BACK!! Neither should you....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank deboraperez56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubertOFarrell, Owner at O'Farrell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

We sincerely apologize for your dinning experience on Christmas Eve. We value our customers and we regret we didn’t have the foresight to have prevented the issues that arouse that night. We work every day to ensure that our customers have the best culinary experience at our restaurant, and clearly that did not happen that night. We promise to make the necessary changes to make sure this does not happen again, where the restaurant is left with out a chef and manager on site. We will like to invite you with a bottle of Uruguay’s finest wines if you choose to give us another opportunity to show you that what happened that night is an isolated incident and that we are motivated each day to give the best service our clients deserve.

Sincerely,

Hubert & Pamela O’Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2017

On the recommendation of our hotel concierge, we made a last minute reservation for Xmas Eve dinner. This was a set meal for $180 USD per person.
My family does not often find a meal to be unpleasant. However, this was a shocking experience.
Every course was practically inedible - fishy salmon, stone cold main meals of turkey, salads which were pre-prepared cold picnic salads like potato and coleslaw (which when asked to be heated up still came back almost as cold), and a plum dessert which was so tart and savoury that it tasted like unripe tomatoes, with a scoop of a sour cream on the side. Much of the food was left uneaten.
An inexperienced waiter accidentally smashed two wine glasses on one member of my family, leaving much of the glass behind around us, and then tried to give us a 2/3 full bottle of wine. He then broke off the cork in the bottle, leaving my dad to have to resort to opening the bottle himself.
These were only some of the things that went wrong during this meal (including the restaurant running out of some options for food).

In the end, we refused to pay $720 USD for this horrible experience, and to the restaurant's credit, they accepted our offer to only pay about half of this price.
However, this was an exceptionally awful experience - we do not recommend this overpriced sham of a restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cassidy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubertOFarrell, Owner at O'Farrell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

We sincerely apologize for your dinning experience on Christmas Eve. We value our customers and we regret we didn’t have the foresight to have prevented the issues that arouse that night. We work every day to ensure that our customers have the best culinary experience at our restaurant, and clearly that did not happen that night. We promise to make the necessary changes to make sure this does not happen again, where the restaurant is left with out a chef and manager on site. We will like to invite you with a bottle of Uruguay’s finest wines if you choose to give us another opportunity to show you that what happened that night is an isolated incident and that we are motivated each day to give the best service our clients deserve.

Sincerely,

Hubert & Pamela O’Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Excellent meal and great service. We were four and all the choices were very good.
Very good service as usual so we enjoyed the beginning of the year in a great atmosphere with an spectacular meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Farrell Restaurant also viewed

Maldonado, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to O'Farrell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing