We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makeover Needed”
Review of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I spent two nights at this 4 star hotel and was appalled at the total overall appearance. This hotel hasn't met an upgrade in 15 yrs. the two gentlemen at registration were totally unfriendly. The room was tired - from torn drapes, rusted window frames, sheets that didn't fit the bed and a tv hanging from the ceiling at an angle fit for a gymnast. The breakfast was totally inadequate from what we had experienced elsewhere. C'mon invest some pesos and fix it up.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good hotel, although some details of old which shows that they have not invested in improving it, at least in the last 5 years. Conveniently located just 100 mts away from Av Gorlero and about 8 blocks from downtown. Just one blocks from the "Los Ingleses" beach and two blocks from the pier. It features 2 swimming pools, one large enough outdoor pool and other heated is for use during the winter months. The rooms are spacious and comfortable although a few old details over time. Breakfast is very good considering the standards of Uruguay. All rates are highly variable since year-end these up almost 250%. deside tath I think it offers good value for your money. All the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to book your room on the highest floor as possible, in order to get a great view of the Ocean,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinistryGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went there for two nights and we were very pleased with this hotel! The service was really good, everyone was very helpful. The breakfast was to die for!! A great variety of meals, from breads and spreads to fruits and yogurts. Many teas to chose from and the best was the freshly squeezed orange juice! you could see the machine just squeezing the orange away! not many places have that.
The room sizes were very generous considering room size in other hotels in uruguay, it was very good for the price you paid. I've read previous reviews mentioning the aspect of the hotel, yes it is old but it is very well taken care of. The flush of the toilet could be a bit better, but the staff goes out of their way to help you with any issue.
The pools are a good size, could be a bit bigger considering the amount of guest the hotel had. However, as the beach is right across i don't think anyone really mind about the size of the pool.
The location of the hotel is good, its not right downtown but it is about maybe 10 blocks top away from Gorlero. There is a bus that passes right across the street from the hotel that will leave you right at La Brava in less than 5 minutes, that was a big plus! In addition to this, the hotel is right around the corner from a supermarket! so you can get any snacks at a regular price rather than the overpriced of the kiosks downtown. Apart from the supermarket there is a nice little restaurant called El Milagro whose food is really good and at a normal price, nothing as expensive as most of the restaurants in the city.

This was a great stay!! We will definitely come back and visit Hotel Amsterdam!!! I will recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget visit to Punta del Este!

Room Tip: 5th floor has an amazing view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noeliaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The service was excellent with friendly staff who spoke very good English. We arrived very late (straight from our wedding!) and there was actually a leak in the ceiling near the door of our room. The room was changed for us straight away without any fuss. The hotel organised a taxi back to the airport for us and looked after our luggage until our departure.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had a four night stay in Amsterdam. Had some brilliant experiences with The Amsterdam museum, heineken and bols museum with many others such as ann frank, and house of wax. The night life was a different experience with expensive prices and pretentious bouncers. Hen party's turned away due to party size and men turned away due to sex even though they were with the hen parties. A total disgrace.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I will appreciate if you don't translate my review.
The staff is the best in the hotel and also the buffet breakfast.
It is a typical 3 star traditional Punta del Este Hotel. Old building which has been refurbished to improve amenities and facilities, but it still needs more maintenance in the rooms (air conditioning had problems, the bathroom window in room 306 was broken, there was only one socket,the WC flush was weak). The advantage is that the staff is so helpful that they will go an extra mile to solve the flaw, and this is very important. The mattresses are new. It has free internet access in the lobby (very good and not common in Punta del Este). There is a swimming pool and solarium. It is very well located, near the center although 12 blocks away from the Mansa and Brava good beaches. Better if you go with car.

Room Tip: If you can afford a corner room with view to the sea, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I was slightly worried booking the Amsterdam after the reviews I had read, but since it was relatively cheap by Punta del Este standards and we were only going for one night, we decided to splash on a sea view room and weren't disappointed.

The hotel is located in the older part of Punta del Este, close to the church and lighthouse and while that may put off those who are looking for the more glamourous gleaming towers of Punta, it felt just right for us.

The views out of our corner room on the 4th floor were superb. Windows to both sides mean stunning seaviews at all times and while the old windows need some help to close properly so the wind stops whistling through, we felt the supplement was well worth it.

Sure, the room feels old and the building, constantly under attack from the wind and salt of the sea does show its age. But we felt the spacious, aging room had charm.

Also on the plus side, the breakfast was one of the best we had in Uruguay with an abundance of fruits, bread and cakes.

Altogether, we enjoyed our stay, found the the Amsterdam to be quite charming and would have no doubt in going back. However, those looking for the deluxe experience at Punta del Este may have to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
1.3 km away
Punta del Este Shelton Hotel
Punta del Este Shelton Hotel
#37 of 65 in Punta del Este
192 reviews
0.7 km away
Bonne Etoile Hotel
Bonne Etoile Hotel
#11 of 65 in Punta del Este
404 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Camelot
Hotel Camelot
#41 of 65 in Punta del Este
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Iberia Hotel Punta del Este
Iberia Hotel Punta del Este
#38 of 65 in Punta del Este
85 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Playa Brava
Hotel Playa Brava
#56 of 65 in Punta del Este
150 reviews
1.9 km away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#22 of 65 in Punta del Este
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam

Address: Calle El Foque 759 | Playa de Los Ingleses, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta del Este
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range: $99 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing