We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
68
60
22
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
60
22
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

The rooms are old, gloomy, bathroom smelled like bug extermination spray. There is no water in the room. Our room was on the first floor, which basic meant we were on the street - where people get robbed. We had to have the metal window shades down the whole time. Generally, the price is about 3 times of what this hotel is worth.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria_BDA, General Manager at Baie des Anges Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Dear Madam. I am sorry you didn´t like the place. However some things do not belong to our hotel, as, for example, we don´t have metal window shades in the hotel. We wish you a very nice 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

It is an apart hotel. I went there with my family and rented a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was large enough but it as an automatic deodorizer that was almost unbearable. Actually the whole hotel was deodorized with such a sticky smell. I stayed only one night as it was really uncomfortable. Not sure why they were exaggerating with deodorizer! Location is not the best one: it is within Punta del Este but you definitely need a car to move around. Breakfast included was just OK.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank jfinkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria_BDA, Gerente at Baie des Anges Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

Dear Mr/Mrs FinkR. Many thanks for sharing your opinion. It is a pitty you didn´t like our exclusive fragrance which some clients wish to take home. If you had requested it, we could have put it off immediately. It is very correct your comment that renting a car is the best option for our guests. We always recommend it and we appreciate your suggestion. We wish you a very nice and safe trip back home and our best wishes for this new 2017!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2016

As other reviewers have noted, this isn't in the center of Punta del Este. But for us, that actually worked as an advantage, since it was more laid back, and so was the beach area in front of the hotel.

We got a family suite with two rooms, two bathrooms, and a living and dining room. It was a great size for us, and all things considered, the price was pretty good, also. We didn't have too many issues with the room, except that the doorknob to one of the bathrooms was completely broken, so you could only mostly close the door, but not all the way.

The kitchen was also pretty functional, but we did notice that we had to basically buy everything we needed, salt, pepper, and oil included. That wasn't a major annoyance, but it's good to keep in mind.

The pool area was great and relaxing, and the beach in front of the hotel is a lovely section. I wish we could have stayed at both longer than just two nights, but when we booked we were a bit skeptical about Punta.

The breakfast was pretty adequate. Not a huge selection, and no hot items, but that's OK. It was a hot day, so light fare was appropriate. Good fruit and breads, also.

Again, this is a drive of about 10 or 15 minutes from the center of town, so it's best if you have a car or are willing to get taxis if you want to go into town (and there's an underground parking garage on-site). But since we went as a family, we didn't really feel the need to be right in the middle of the action, and this hotel was perfect for us.

Room Tip: We had a suite at the back of the hotel. The view wasn't amazing, but it was quieter than rooms at the front, which face the street.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaOutsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at Baie des Anges Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Dear Costa Rica Outsider. Many thanks for your detailed review! It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed the size of the room, the relaxing pool and the nice beach just crossing the Street. It was an honour to have you as our guest and will be looking forward to tempting you with Punta once more!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2015

This hotel was the best! Clean, big rooms, lots of space, A/C, flatscreens, BBQ, GORGEOUS VIEW, pools, and terrific service. Couldn't ask for more. There are several restaurants within walking distance and right across the street from the beach! I was even able to call for a massage at my convenience. I would describe this hotel as a practical, family boutique hotel. They only serve breakfast and there is no room service, but what comfortable accommodations!

Room Tip: Get a room in front with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kissmekaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at Baie des Anges Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Sirs. We are very pleased to hear our small boutique hotel met your expectations. We are glad you found the suite spacious, comfortable and it is great to see our service described as terrific. The good location is perfectly described in your review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and we will be expecting you again at any time. Best regards and have an excellent year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is very far from the main city. You need a car/taxi to get there. Walking will take an hour.
The staff is very friendly. Will help you with everything.
Unfortunately only breakfast is available. No lunch options or snacks, or other options to eat. Therefore you have to leave the hotel. By car again. Although the staff of the hotel is also kind enough to order food to get delivered to the hotel.
The room we had was very spacious, the Junior Suite, great lounge, balcony, 2 bathrooms. However, the photo's on the site booking.com were only of the redecorated parts. This redecorating was only applied to half of the room: our 1st bathroom was modernly redecorated, the 2nd bathroom, kitchen and dining table still looked like it was placed there 20 years ago... however, the appartment was very clean and contained everything we needed. Also with a baby bed!
In general:
a bit too far from the city, but you'll be fine by car/taxi.
Only partly redecorated, but in fine condition.
Great staff that will help you with everything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank el a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at Baie des Anges Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por compartir sus experiencias. Estamos remodelando todos los años durante el invierno, para no producir molestias a nuestros huéspedes y sugerimos tal como Ud. mencionó alquilar un vehículo para poder recorrer mejor todos los lugares lindos de Punta. Será un placer tenerlos nuevamente con nosotros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews