We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,225)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveller rating
650
438
89
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
438
89
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews witches market sister hotel free tea hotel restaurant central courtyard hot water day tour third floor busy street altitude sickness three star breakfast buffet is no elevator top floor location is excellent lake titicaca san francisco church
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,225 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Rosario for three nights while in La Paz and we're not disappointed! The cleanliness of the room, charming artistic decor, and beautiful outdoor landscaping were worth a five-star rating. The staff went out of their way to assist with our travel needs, including assisting with taxi's and recommendations for local sights. The hotel is in a excellent location, very close to the Witches Market and the central station for Mi Teleférico. We were sad to check out this morning and would happily recommend Hotel Rosario to any of our friends and family!

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank bethanyaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located for a walking sightseeing. The room was really comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave us plenty of information about la Paz. If you plan to arrive before 6.30am you can pay some extra money to do an early check in, it was really convenient for us arriving by bus at la Paz.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MomoM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018

They let us check-in early (11:30) which we did not expect but was great since my daughters felt sick. It is very close to the Whitches Market, other markets. Right in the hustle and bustle of the city.
Breakfast was good - and the breakfast lady was amazingly friendly.
The room was big, I guess, they call it a suite, with an extra bedroom, table and bathroom. It was a bit tacky though with its brown heavy furniture and yellowish, stained net curtains and dusty drapes.
The shower was leaking all over the bathroom floor. I could grab a look into some other rooms downstairs, and they looked all more modern and light.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank difelidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

We had pre booked this hotel though a local agency in New Zealand. We had a red-eye flight from Bogota and it was 5 a.m. when we finally stopped outside the hotel and still dark. We had noticed the down at heel area with a lot of the buildings covered in corrogated iron and the dirty streets. The guide said we had arrived and I asked where. All I could see were two lit ATM booths, nothing that looked like a hotel. There were homeless people sleeping on a mattress against what turned out to be the front wall of the hotel. When our guide knocked on the barred glass, the door was opened by a security guard. It was then we discovered that the hotel had lots of stairs and a lift that only went to the 2nd floor. I had sent two emails a couple of days before we arrived (one in English and one in Spanish) asking for a ground floor room due to some mobility issues I have. The hotel did not receive them. They also have no walk-in showers, only over bath ones. No use to me.

In the end, given the time (Bolivia being 1 hr ahead of Colombia) we agreed to stay the night, or what was left of it, but insisted on moving to a hotel with no stairs or at least one with a working lift, as soon as possible. To be fair the hotel offered to move us to a ground floor the next day but still no walk-in shower so we declined. There were still stairs to be climbed to reach the breakfast room also.

I am not sure who was responsible for moving us but arrangements were made swiftly and efficiently and we were very relieved and grateful.

From what we saw of the hotel in daylight it is as quaint and pretty as other reviewers have said. The staff are pleasant and helpful and if it were located in a nicer part of the city with no homeless people camped against the front wall, able-bodied people would probably enjoy their stay immensely but please be warned, if you find stairs difficult or you are not prepared to stay in what can fairly be described as a slum area, the Hotel Rosaria, La Paz, is probably not for you.

Neil and Jackie, New Zealand

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jt13gsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

La Paz's almost complete dearth of western chain hotels means that you'll be staying at a more local place no matter what. While the Rosario will cost more than many, it's still a bargain from Western standards and is well worth the extra cost

Location:

Centrally located in the heart of La Paz, a short walk uphill from the Plaza San Francisco and a short walk downhill from the nearest Mi Teleferico cable car station It's about 25 minutes from the airport via taxi (70-80 Bolivianos) and close to pretty much anything in La Paz you'd want to see

Building/Rooms:

The hotel itself is a very pleasant structure, though it's worth pointing out that my room on the 4th floor required two flights of stairs - the elevator only goes to 2. My room was lovely, however, and worth walking up for. Still, room quality varies significantly from what I could see, so request room 430 if you can - it had significantly more space than every other one I saw.

WiFi/Amenities/Breakfast

Compared to many other hotels in La Paz, the Rosario is well appointed. Hot water is abundant, space heaters are provided (central heating is rare in Bolivian hotels) and the WiFi was consistently fast and reliable.

The free breakfast which was provided was also very nice, with a mixture of buffet options as well as eggs to order.

Staff

The staff are all (mainly) fluent in English and were helpful with all matters, whether ordering a cab or setting up a tour.

The Bottom Line:

While a lack of central heating and the inability to flush your toilet paper (South American plumbing problems) perhaps might not remind you of a five star hotel, the Hotel Rosario is an excellent choice in La Paz

Room tip: Elevators only go up to floor 2
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews