We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable, nice”
Review of Cruz de los Andes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cruz de los Andes
Ranked #11 of 77 Speciality Lodging in La Paz
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Stayed here twice as the location is convenient and the price is fair. Its a clean and comfortable spot, with most of the walls covered in murals which makes it very cheery.
Its tucked away on a fairly quiet narrow one-way street near the witches market and San Francisco church. Some of the rooms have balconies, but ours was dusty and looked like it had not been used for a long time.
There is a pool table and computer in the basement with internet access.
The travel agency only seems to be staffed if you ask at reception.
There is not much of a lobby area.
The breakfast is quite good, and the dining room very nice.
The staff are friendly but it helps if you have a few words of Spanish.

Room Tip: No elevators so you may not want to be too high up! The rooms next to the travel office may be noisy...
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Cruz de los Andes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016

We stayed here on two separate occasions and enjoyed our stay. We were on floor two and three on our different visits and the stairs were tough with our big bags due to the altitude (we were thankful not to be on the 5th floor)

Breakfast was good and the staff were really helpful and allowed us to check in very early.

The rooms are decorated each with a different mural on the wall. There were lots of layers on the bed for the cooler nights. We struggled a little for hot water but the staff helped us to get the shower working properly (I think our jet lag was to blame!)

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We are travelling around South America as a late twenties/early thirties couple and we stayed in Cruz de los Andes in a private room for four nights.
The value for money was outstanding. It felt more like staying in a hotel whilst paying hostel prices.
The location is great, right in the middle of the centre and only 5-10 minutes walk to most places of interest.
Breakfast was very good: eggs, cereal, coffee, fresh fruit, chocolate milk.
The rooms were nicely decorated and the beds so comfy we could have laid in all day.
The staff were very friendly and always on the door so it felt extremely safe.
We couldn't recommend this hostel enough.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank El_Viajero_Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Our room was located on the 5th floor, without an elevator, which was a struggle at altitude and with heavy bags.

The hostel was eerily empty and dark. There is a nice communal area downstairs but there was nobody there. It is located in a sketchy area of La Paz which didn't feel particularly safe, day or night.

When we arrived, it felt like the hostel wasn't expecting us.

The decor in the dining area is too formal and breakfast changes location to a different hostel each morning.

On the positive side, the hostel organised a good airport transfer as well as our trip to Death Road which was brilliant and a highlight of our trip in South America.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Toni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful, well-maintained, cozy and confortable hotel. It's decorated with care and taste, many walls with incredible murals. Our room was really big and clean, with a tiny balcony. The street is a bit hidden so there is none of the street noise typical of La Paz, and the windows have thick curtains so the light doesn't wake you up at 7, like in other hotels here. The breakfast is average but abundant. The staff was incredibly helpful with all our travel-related questions. 100% recomendable.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 400LuC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

This is a great hostel (well, probably was a hotel before) even if you are a solo traveler and just want to unwind after busy days, treks or the salt flats. It has only single rooms with ensuite so lacks the social area but for that you can just head to Wild Rover or the like. It gives you most of the convenience of a hotel at a cheaper price. Breakfast is rich for a hostel (eggs, cereal, yoghurt, bread), WIFI is epic for Bolivia (i backed up my iPhone and streamed from YouTube) and laundry is 10 BOB per kg. Staff helpful throughout and only have to pay on checkout for everything consumed - take credit cards.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
Thank Texmex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights before and after a trip to the rainforest. We had a double room with bathroom. The place is clean, the location excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the wifi connection is good. There are also hot showers and a nice breakfast. I'm not sure it's very good for lone travellers since it lacks an active social area, put for couples or friends it's perfect.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.4 km away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,100 reviews
3.3 km away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
3.6 km away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 77 in La Paz
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Wild Rover Hostels
Wild Rover Hostels
#2 of 77 in La Paz
720 reviews
2.6 km away
3600 Hostel
3600 Hostel
#9 of 77 in La Paz
46 reviews
2.1 km away
Pirwa La Paz Hostel
Pirwa La Paz Hostel
#8 of 77 in La Paz
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz de los Andes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz de los Andes

Address: Calle Aroma 216, La Paz 00591, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 Speciality Lodging in La Paz
Price Range: $38 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All room have private bathrooms,tv cable,phones,breakfast buffet included in the price,garaje,front desk is open 24 hrs, internet is available on the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cruz de los Andes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz De Los Andes Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing