We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Opera
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Bogota Urban 26 Royal(Bogota)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Bogota Metrotel Royal(Bogota)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vilar America(Bogota)(Great Value!)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
314
230
72
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
230
72
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotero museumgold museumpresidential palacemirador restauranthistoric hotelteatro coloncolonial sectiongovernment buildingscandelaria districtcentral courtyardseventh floorlovely hotelpolice presenceperfect locationsmall balconysimon bolivarwithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at another hotel just up the street before meeting my OAT group here..This is a marvelous 4 star tourist chas hotel that offers 5 star services and is so easy for seeing many of the sights on your own..Good restaurants close by and about 5 museums literally on the same street. Go out on a Sunday morning and you will be treated to a lively street scene. Great place to stay in Candelaria and wonderful breakfast buffet and served lunches and dinners.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jann1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jann1953,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the breakfast and the location of the Hotel. As you said before, we also serve dinner and lunch in our restaurants El Mirador and La Scala, which offer a wide international and national option. It’s really good you got to visit most of the museum in the area and enjoyed you time in the Hotel with your group.
Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to have you here sometime, please consider Hotel de la Opera you home in the historic downtown of Bogota.

Johanna Caro, Concierge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2018

This hotel is located next to the Opera House right in the middle of the historic center, making it convenient to explore the area on foot. Staff were friendly and helpful, sharing directions and ideas for sightseeing. The breakfast buffet was complete, with a staffed area for made-to-order eggs as well as a full array of fruits, meats, breads, cereals, and typical Columbian items like arepas and empanadas. Rooms were clean. We loved the warm pool downstairs and used the small fitness area (it is a small room, but the machines were relatively new and in good working order! We had a good experience with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ear plugs are very helpful for weekends when locals and visitors celebrate late into the night.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cathy40717th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Cathy40717th,

We are glad to hear about your experience and thank you for sharing it with Tripadvisor community.
As you said, the Hotel is located right in the middle of the historic downtown, which allows people to visit on foot to most of the museum and cultural attraction of the area. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, we work every day to satisfy our guest and it is encouraging how people, like you, notice it and actually take the time to bring it up.
We hope to have the opportunity and welcome you again to Hotel de la Opera, please consider it as your home in the historic downtown of Bogota. We will be more than glad to have you again.

Johanna Caro, Concierge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018

We stayed 3 nights at this very charming hotel. The history of the 2 buildings, now forming the hotel, adds a lot to the charm. The setting with the interior courts is very nice. It continues in the spacious and comfortable rooms. However, the rooms could use some updating. Nothing dramatic, but it could bring the furniture, decor and beds a bit more on the actual taste. The service was excellent, warm and very helpful in providing directions, suggestions, etc. The breakfast was very good and had a large variety of food including fresh local fruits. The location is absolutely perfect, right in La Candelaria near almost everything we wanted to see —— Botero museum, museo del oro, plaza Bolivar, etc. Absolutely no safety issue in that neighborhood. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvainautourdumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Dear Sylvainautourdumonde,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
We are so glad to know you enjoyed your time in the Hotel. Thank you for your suggestions, they are always useful for our continuous improvement policy.
It is good you got to try the different tropical fruits that Colombia offers, there are some very unique.
The location of the Hotel, as you said, is very central and is near to most of the cultural places in the area.
We hope to have you back some time, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogotá.

Johanna Caro, Concierge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Hotel de la Opera on our own and as part of group travel. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathroom was supplied with lovely toiletries. The front desk staff and concierge were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very satisfying and the young man who made the omelettes was most pleasant and brought them to our table!
Thank you for a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and faced the street. The quaintness of the room outweighed any outside noise.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Dear Gerald R,

We are so glad you enjoyed your time in the Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience and letting us know what you liked the most. We work every day to provide quality service and we are pleased to know you appreciate that.
We hope to have you back sometime, please consider Hotel de la Opera you home in Bogotá.

Johanna Caro, Concierge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

All aspects of the hotel were excellent: rooms, service, spa, breakfast and especially the location. The hotel is close to most everything we wanted to see —— Botero museum, museo del oro, graffiti tours , etc. Most importantly we felt perfectly SAFE walking around during the day and into the evening. There are many neat little restaurants in the neighborhood and due to proximity to the universities, there were always students out on the street. We never felt uncomfortable walking back to the hotel after dinner.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank collins_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear Collins_p

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your time in the Hotel and the location was perfect to visit all the places you wanted. Candelaria is such a pretty neighborhood in town, there are many traditional and independent restaurants around, as you said, most of the museums are walking distance from the Hotel. Since most of the buildings around the Hotel are governmental and cultural heritage, the area is safe to walk around.
Thank you for your comment, we hope to have you back sometime, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.
Johanna Caro, Concierge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews