We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terribly run down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pegasus Hotel Guyana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pegasus Hotel Guyana
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terribly run down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This Hotel is in a great location but has nothing else going for it. I stayed here for a week on business.

The shower in my room did not work and when it did brown rusty water came out and you could smell the rust. The staff were generally unhelpful, rude and incompetent. This is generally what "hospitality" staff are like Guyana but Pegasus were especially bad. The food was ok but like the price of the rooms very expensive. They began doing work with what sounded like an arc welder at 7:00am every morning.

Despite all of this the hotel was full. People need to stop staying here so they spend some money fixing it up. Definitely wont stay here again. May stay at the Princes which looked a lot better but not in as good a location.

If you must stay here then try to avoid staying in the tower rooms.

Room Tip: If you must stay here then try to avoid staying in the tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    113
    96
    27
    29
See reviews for
40
33
35
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Pegasus is the default hotel for business travellers & flight crews in Georgetown. It is of adequate, if not sparkling, quality - in terms of facilities, cleanliness, food options, etc.

The pool is nice, and draws not only hotel guests but also other local families.
The food is ok, but definately pricey / bad value - especially the breakfast & lunch buffets. The kitchen hygiene must be ok, as I was fine during a 2 week stay (Dec 2011).
The gym is below average, has very minimal and old equipment in a small room.
The location is reasonable - a bit out of town but due to safety reasons you'll probably be taking taxis to go places anyway so it doesn't make much difference.

The main plus is that it's always busy, with plenty of people at the poolside bar / restaurant in the evening. It holds frequent events, such as group dinners, corporate parties, etc. For a business traveller on your own that can be a big selling point.

But you pay for all of that. I've also stayed at the very nearby Duke Lodge and that was much cheaper, had the same quality rooms, but is very quiet and has much more limited eating options. It's a 5 minute (safe, as far as I can tell) walk between them - and I often walked from the super quiet Duke to the Pegasus to be around people / life.

So overall I'd say it's a nice enough hotel - but if you are looking for good value and don't mind a quiet hotel consider some of the other options such as the Duke Lodge or Cara Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesDB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Pegasus and it’s really a decent little hotel. The front desk staff is very friendly and the lobby and pool area are well kept. The breakfast buffet is very impressive. They have everything from made to order omelets to sweet pastries and all sorts of fruit. During my most recent stay I also tried the dinner buffet, which I believe is only offer on Saturday nights. This was also was quite varied. I loved the sweet and sour sea bass and the dessert cheesecake tasted homemade. On the other nights of the week there is a different dinner theme every night. If you are adventurous though I would highly recommend going out and eating in Georgetown because the food at the hotel is slightly expensive. I’m pretty sure I paid around $20 for the dinner buffet.

I stayed on the 7th floor and while the room itself could use some updating I loved the view of the ocean! The room itself is very clean. My only apprehension was the bathroom is very outdated. The light is weak and the ceiling comprised of old wooden paneling. On my previous stay, my room was located in the Kingston wing on the ground floor, and while these rooms seemed to be larger and more modern, I would probably opt to stay in tower again for the view.

Room Tip: I loved the view of the ocean from my room on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaggieMay148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Visited Guyana with my family just for the weekend only to see the falls.. This hotel was recommended through a friend, but was a great disappointment. The rooms are extremely small and over priced and the staff are unprofessional.

Please do not book tours through the hotel as it may not be done efficiently. I went to see the falls with my family but only half my party actually got to see it due to miss communication on the hotels part with the tour operators which is located in their lobby. Car rental through the hotel is also not recommended as in my experience it does not occur. Try the airport instead.

This was the worse trip ever taken. So if you are thinking of going to Guyana use another hotel.. Save your money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GCLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I used to love this hotel, but now the standards are way down. It was the holiday season and the reception staff needs a smile, the poolside tables and chairs are badly in need of refinishing, music is needed at poolside, the small cheap boom box is very tacky, waiter forgot to bring second order of food and worst of all, MY CREDIT CARD WAS BILLED TWICE FOR THE SAME MEAL. I hate to think what happens during regular season.....It is NOT a decent hotel anymore, it USED to be. I agree with the comment that it is now comparable with a Motel 6.....very sad....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Telldtruth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Georgetown hotels

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business. It's unimaginable that the Pegasus is advertised as a 4 star luxury hotel in Georgetown. I don't know on what scale anywhere this would be a luxury hotel. For me it made a run down Motel 6 look like a Hilton! The lobby is charming enough but the rooms and food are a different story. First the rooms with their furniture and fixtures are terribly outdated and rundown. My first room had a leak in the bathroom ceiling that was making a puddle on the floor that I almost slipped in. I changed rooms and that room also had a leak but at least a smaller one. With the use of some towels in the ceiling panel I was able to stop the leak myself. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable and the sheets felt...dare I say...greasy! I slept in full length pajamas and socks after thoroughly spraying the bed and room with bud spray. There were holes in the walls and ceiling with water damage and possible mold.
My biggest problem with this hotel is how much they are charging! If a hotel if fair about what their accomodations are like and have a fair price it's understandable. However the Pegasus is charging close to $200/night!! There really isn't much choice in Georegtown. If your're used to staying in moderate to luxury hotels when you travel just be prepared that this will NOT meet your expectations. The food was also very poor quality. I ordered breakfast before leaving for my business event. The pastries were so dry and bitter I couldn't even eat them and the coffee was awful. There is a pool. I'm not really a pool person so I didn't check it out but some coworkers told me is was a little sketchy as far as cleanliness. The one plus was the the front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be prepared to change rooms a few times to find that has the least number of leaks or holes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed at the Pegasus for a week on business. Didn't think that much of it when I first arrived - rooms basic but clean, certain areas in need of a bit of TLC. Took me a while to get "into" the place and get relaxed and comfortable.

But as the week went on the place grew on me - the staff were good if a little too laid back at times, but always very friendly and helpful. It is rare that you can go to any hotel and come away 100% satisfied but, despite a few "odd quirks" (glich with the room phones not working / poor broadband connections), the place was pretty damn good and offered a very reasonable stay. Reasonable comfortable beds but the aircon was a bit noisy (sounds a bit picky I know, but it did get on your nerves a bit until you got used to it)

Food, despite being a little over-priced, was very good and served either around the pool or in relaxed dining area. Poolside bar was excellent and very friendly. Self service breakfast was top notch (bacon lovely and crispy, proper sausages and nice scrambled egg). Drinks a litlle on the expensive side too but after the first two or three - who cares. Poolside music is of a easy listening genre mixed (obvioulsy) with a bit of reggae now and then.There was work going on adding a new cafe area but this didn't cause too many problems when sitting round the pool.

Enjoyed my stay and would be happy to stay there aither on business or on holiday. Am due to go back to Guyana in the 2012 on business and will definitely use the Pegasus.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pookierara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.3 km away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
7.3 km away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
2.0 km away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#2 of 19 in Georgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 km away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 19 in Georgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.9 km away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#6 of 19 in Georgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus Hotel Guyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Hotel Guyana

Property: Pegasus Hotel Guyana
Address: Seawall Road | Kingston, Georgetown 101147, Guyana
Region: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegasus Hotel Guyana 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the delta of the Demerara River and the Atlantic Ocean- the Pegasus Hotel Guyana holds the most stunning seascape views. Within walking distance of many of the major commercial and tourist sites. The hotel is centrally located in the city of Georgetown- making it an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers to Guyana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pegasus Hotel Georgetown
Le Meridien Georgetown
Georgetown Le Meridien
Pegasus Hotel Guyana Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing