We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
202
229
46
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
229
46
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat hotelplatinum memberroom servicepool areaegg stationairport shuttleevery monthbusiness triplive musicshort stayrooms are cleanpleasant staybusiness hotelfree shuttleyogurttaxi service
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 489 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2018

This modern hotel has some issues. In the fist place there are rooms on the river- and cityside. The first are more expensive but unfit for travellers with allergice or pulmonary problems. These rooms smell musty and there is moulding. The cheaper rooms don't have that problem. In the second place: The chambermaids shout to each other along the corridors early in the morning (08u.00) even near rooms with a Don't distrurb sign. In thitd position follows -and this is rather unique in a hotel in this part of the world where the tap water is not to be trusted- is the absence of the ususal free bottles of water. Instead you have to buy them them for appr US$ 2 for half a liter. Lastly: their breakfast is very good for Asian appetites but rather poor for western travelers. They have no freshly bakes rolls, buns or slices. All is at least a day old or should be stuck in a toaster..

Stayed: April 2018
Thank benjamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardParamaribo, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramaribo, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Benjamini,

Thank you for providing your feedback in regards to your stay with us.

We apologize that we fell short on your expectations in some area. Our constant aim is to provide only the highest level of service and hospitality to our guests.

We are sorry to hear regarding the musty smell you mentioned. It is a challenge for us, as Suriname is a country where the humidity levels are naturally high between 60-75 % resulting in musty odor in some of our rooms. Temporarily, we are using dehumidifiers in our rooms to prevent this issue and working on a permanent solution. Regarding your comment on tap water, drinking tap water is safe in Paramaribo. I am sorry that you found our breakfast selection poor, we do try to offer a wide selection of choices for our guests.

Please rest assured that we have addressed your concerns to the respective team to ensure a far better experience in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us for your next visit.

Best Regards,
Courtyard Paramaribo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I totally enjoyed my stay. My room was great and so was the food and service. Front room and all other staff were friendly and services oriented. I'll recommend Marriott Paramaribo to my colleagues and friends.

Room Tip: You could improve my room experience by placing a magnifying glass for shaving.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yearwog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishaSadhoe, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramaribo, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're happy to hear that we will be your top choice whenever you're travelling to Paramaribo. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Since decades we travel a lot (we have been to more than 100 countries). And the Courtyard by Marriott Paramaribo was one of our best hotel stays in the last years. Therefore, we rate this place 6 STARS! Our excellent experience started actually before arriving on the property: we were coming by plane from Georgetown, Guyana to the city airport of Paramaribo and we called the hotel the night before to ask you for an airport pick-up. The lady on the phone was very friendly and efficient and when walked out of the small airport the other day, our driver, Mr. Pam was waiting with a smile and an excellent car. We were so satisfied, that Mr. Pam became our driver during our visit to Suriname and he drove us even to the border town Albina. Very Safe driving and good conversations!The check-in in the hotel was also perfect, but the best was when we came to our room: oh what a view! We had a balcony and could watch the tranquility of the Suriname river with a glass of wine and a good cigar. So great!. The beds were super-comfy and we had an excellent rest. Needless to say, that everything was spotlessly clean. We ate twice dinner in the hotel and both times the food was very delicious (Risotto / fish at the restaurant and Burritos / Burger at the pool bar). The hotel pool is excellent for an evening swim. Another great fact of the hotel is the friendliness of the hotel staff. Virtually everybody had a smile and was greeting us when passing by. The location of the hotel is good - there is a very well stocked supermarket named "Choi´s" close by, where we went by taxi. As said before - a fantastic hotel - go there and you will be happy! Ah - and the breakfast was also super!

Room Tip: High floor with balcony facing the Suriname river
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishaSadhoe, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramaribo, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for your kind review!

We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let Mr. Pam know that he made an impact during your stay.
As always, don't hesitate to let us know if you're visiting again soon. Our staff is always ready to help you with anything.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Kind regards,
The Courtyard Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018

The property is well located, with views of the river and lovely outdoor dining options. However, the best part of this property is well and truly, the staff. Every. Single. Person. from the front desk to the restaurants and cafes and cleaning crew, know the very essence of customer service. Friendly, knowledgeable , accommodating, and kind. They absolutely turned this experience from a standard hum drum business trip, into a wonderful week!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SubaOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishaSadhoe, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramaribo, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

It brings me a lot of pride and joy to hear that you're an avid fan of our hotel. We appreciate your business, your loyalty and your trust. Don't hesitate to call us if there's anything we can help you with for your next trip.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

Excellent property with very good food. very good location. great bar and restaurant out back. staff was very friendly and helpful, and would highly recommend this property to anyone with business in Suriname.

Room Tip: very clean room and Bath
Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 747elliotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManishaSadhoe, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Paramaribo, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews