We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could do with some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Brisbane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“could do with some TLC”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Have stayed at better IHG hotels in the pacific, in saying that the staff were very friendly and willing to help. The food was good, alot of choice, the room was dated but evrything worked and the bed was comfortable

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPollockGM, Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Amber M,

Thanks for your comments regarding your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby in March. I take on board your comments regarding the rooms being dated. We are currently working on a plan for the hotel to take us through the next few years. I was pleased to read your comments regarding the bed. We recently replaced all beds in the hotel and have seen much more favourable comments in relation to these. Thank you also for your comments regarding the hotel food, we are constantly trying to improve this area and offer a broad selection that meets most peoples expectations.
We look forwarde to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    59
    61
    16
    9
See reviews for
5
10
20
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed hear a couple of times now. All in all it's ok. The hotel is a little bit dated in its decor but the staff are very friendly and the ocean views are great. Like a lot of things in Moresby it's not cheap -around 900 kina a night . Security is good with heavy gates and round the clock security .

The club lounge is small but ok - can be a bit crowded. Complimentary drinks are available or only one hour in the evening - most hotels I've experienced have at least twice that but it's a pleasant little oasis. Internet is pay as you go and quite expensive - 50 kina for 100 mb - wifi is really frustrating as it drops out after about 5 minutes.

This is ok - but I think the airways hotel has the edge in Moresby.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Mark A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a candid review. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Port Moresby.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I've been coming here several times over the last few years. It used to vie with the Airways Hotel as the premier hotel in Port Moresby, but it's losing that contest quite quickly. Only a block away, the Grand Papua Hotel has just opened and this really highlights the need for a makeover of the Crowne Plaza. There's a distinct lack of maintenance of the facilities here. The prices are still very high (starting from K920 a night or US$450). The bedrooms are still very good, with good views, beds and desk space. The bathrooms are getting a bit worn out now, as are carpets and other facilities in the hotel. The service is still very good and staff are friendly and helpful. It's annoying that there is still no little shop to buy papers, water, phonecards, papers etc.. The internet is also expensive. Breakfast is still very good - no change from last time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear fitzrovians,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
I also want to thank you for choosing us when we know you have other options. We appreciate your loyalty.
We will take your suggestions into consideration next time we do remodeling. And a special thank you for mentions how great our staff is, It is always nice to hear about how you like our service.


Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I was here on business in October of 2011 and it was a decent experience. The food was expensive and the pool was small but not bad. The hotel is gated to keep the proletariat out. I heard people fighting in the streets at night. I had an east facing room with a view of the Coral Sea. Sunrise was amazing! The water was blue and there is a beach just a few hundred yards from the hotel. We asked if it was safe to swim there and it was explained that the brown streak in the water was most likely from the sewage discharge pipe just up the beach. We decided swimming was not a good idea. The sun was intense so be sure to bring sun block. I did not do any diving while I was there but the water and the history (WWII shipwrecks) look ripe for it!

Room Tip: Get a room facing East if you like the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPollockGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Good Morning James B,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in late 2011. It is good to read that you enjoyed your first PNG experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. It is unfortunate that you cannot swim in the beaches close to the hotel, however if you return you should take a boat trip to one of the outer Islands where you can swim in the crystal blue waters of the Coral Sea. You are also correct that the diving in the area is amazing. Again, if you return to PNG we can assist in getting a guided diving excursion arranged for you.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This was my first hotel in PNG. It was a bit overpriced for what you get. I think the prices have been inflated by the resources boom.
The service, food and accommodation were are ok.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gollum4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPollockGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Good Morning Gollum4242,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in December 2011. We are pleased that we met your expectations during your stay and would welcome the opportunity to host nyou again when you are next in Port Moresby.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were forced into this place since Air Niugini had a "technical problem" and our flight was cancelled. I would never stay here if I had to. The hotel is rotten, linnen dirty and stained, so was the curtain at the window as well as the carpet. This the kind of place you keep shoes on all the time. Room doors are just thin wood so is the connecting door. Bathroom is late 60es design and not cleaned properly. Restaurant was reasonable for a 3rd world country. Beer expensive. The hotel is completely fenced and there are guard with guns standing around to protect this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Berggericht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPollockGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Good Morning Berggerict,

Thanks uou for your comments regarding your stay with us in Novemebr 2011. It is disappointing to read that you found the hotel well below your expectations in terms of cleanliness. we have a very stringent set of systems and policies in place to ensure and standards are maintained, however from your comments it appears we have failed to maintain the standards in the room you stayed in. Please accept my apologies for this. I am also sorry that the design of the bathroom was not to your liking. The price of a beer at approx AUD4.80 we believe is a reasonable price and what you would expect to pay in mst parts of the world.

Again, thank you for your comments

Tim Pollock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Moresby hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Travel a lot in the Pacific Region and also a Platinum member of the Priority Club and may I say thatt this is the only hotel in the Priority Club Group that does not recognise you as a Platinum member. They should learn from Holiday Inn Suva in Fiji where they treat you as a VIP guest as part of the Priority Club Platinum member. The rooms are in need of renovation, however the improvement from my recent visit in September 2011 is the choice of many channels from cable TV. The room rate is defintely the most expensive I have stayed in the Asia Pacific Region. It was very noisy at night from the local vendors outside. Most secured hotel with very good security. Hotel transfer was good however they need an extra bus service as we waited nearly an hour for the bus to return and pick us up from the airport. Food was good in the fine dining area and the buffet was just ok. Reception service was too long for Priority member and there should be another check in/out service for Priority Clubs Members.

Room Tip: Rooms from Level 9 facing the Ela Beach side is quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ExperienceCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPollockGM, Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your visit to the hotel. We certainly value the business provided by our Priortity Club memebers and thank you for being part of our loyalty program. we continually strive to improve the offering of our members and I have contacted our Holiday Inn in Suva to understand how they reward their members.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the larger offering of TV Channels. We would also like to hear if there were any preferences that were not in the available selection. We continue to work on providing a secure environemnet for our guests and I thank you for the positive feedback on our security department. As I have mentioned in earlier responses, we are continually liasing with the local autorities in an attempt to have the local vendors removed from around the hotel. I do hope to be able to report some success in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
7.8 km away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.7 km away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#6 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Port Moresby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Port Moresby

Property: Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Address: Cnr Hunter & Douglas St, Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Port Moresby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby and you'll discover a different perspective on Papua New Guinea. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is situated on a hilltop in the heart of the business district and commands panoramic views of the Coral Sea and surrounding inland areas.Conveniently located 15 minutes from Jackson's International Airport, it makes visiting Port Moresby a highly comfortable prospect for business traveller. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby's contemporary design is unique, capturing the rich vibrant essence of the indigenous culture. With superior accommodation, an Executive Club Lounge Floor, guest facilities and business services, Crowne Plaza welcomes you to a safe,secure and relaxing haven in Port Moresby. For someone who travels often for business, the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is a welcoming oasis that sets a new standard in hotel accommodation for Papua New Guinea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Port Moresby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby Hotel Port Moresby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing