We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohh la, la.”

Marmite et Tire Bouchon
Ranked #1 of 251 Restaurants in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We were so happy to find and book this restaurant. The food is magnificent and the staff fun and accommodating. We dined with another couple and found the food and wine range excellent. You can order either two or three courses. The Gazpacho, Crab Au Gratin and salmon were my favourites.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Looly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordane B, Responsable relations clients at Marmite et Tire Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi,

It’s a pleasure to read your review, thank you for that.

We are working to offer good times to our customer! We are keeping in mind that you are coming to spend a nice evening and that’s it!

Kind regards,

Jordane B.
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 507 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

Great service, good atmosphere and beautiful food! We found as a couple of aussies in Noumea it was very difficult to find good food for a reasonable price. The food here was impeccable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichatBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordane B, Responsable relations clients at Marmite et Tire Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi,

Thank you very much for this lovely feedback!

I remember your coming and it was a pleasure to receive you and your friends.

Kind regards,

Jordane B.
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We wanted to enjoy a nice French meal for our final evening in Noumea. What a great choice! The staff were friendly and engaging and the meal was delicious and well priced for New Caledonia (we found everything here very expensive compared to Australia). We ordered the mahi mahi and the special of the night, venison. Both were beautifully presented, a good portion and tasted delicious. For dessert we shared the mielle feuille and apple turnover- again beautiful to look at and enjoy. Can highly recommend this restaurant!

1  Thank Hynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordane B, Responsable relations clients at Marmite et Tire Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Hi,

Thank you very much for this lovely comment!

We are glad to know that you chose our restaurant for your last evening!

Every person in the staff is working to offer good times to people, and this is the result!

Kind regards,

Jordane B.
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

For years I was reviewing the Michelin restaurants of France and knew most of the chefs. So it was amazing to find a restaurant in Noumea that is right up to that standard! If this is not the best and most elegant sampling of French cuisine outside of continental France, I will eat my chapeau in the public square!

The food here is truly amazing and the gaspacho soup is better than such soups I've had in Michelin Three Star restaurants.

But everything we had here was perfection! The wine list was also outstanding!

If you are coming to Noumea and are looking for the very best at a very reasonable price for what you get, book ahead so that you don't miss out. If I were to live in Noumea, this would be my favourite fine dining restaurant by far. When I go back next time you will find me here every other night. Look for the Houlihan2 review of this restaurant (this was the other couple we went with) which could not say it better!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank retiredtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordane B, Responsable relations clients at Marmite et Tire Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Hi Sir,

Thank you very much for this awesome feedback!!

It was a real pleasure to welcome you twice in few days! Coming from a real gourmet like you, these compliments are very enjoyable. This is exactly why we are giving our best everyday, to make people spend the best moment.

I am pretty sure we will have the opportunity to meet again,

Jordane B.
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Highly recommended! Wow! What a find! We ate here three times in two weeks and ate better food here than in some of the best restaurants in France. On our first visit, we started with the Ravioles de Royan, which consisted of tiny little ravioli parcels stuffed with comté cheese served with a bacon cream sauce and Serrano ham. The ravioli were so small and delicious that we thought that the chef must be Italian. However, we were assured that he was a Frenchman! Bravo!! This was accompanied by a 2015 M. Chapoutier Tavel Beaurevoir Rose from the Rhone Valley. For our mains, we had the most exquisite beef cheek with champignons wrapped in pastry with a delicious jus served with a coleslaw and a pea mousse. This was accompanied by a 2015 Marsannay Les Longeroies Village Vignes by Regis Bouvier. On our second visit, we enjoyed the gazpacho, which has got to be one of the finest taste sensations I have ever experienced! It was truly Michelin star quality! For our mains, we had the red snapper with lentils and sautéed vegetables and the lamb shoulder, served with amazing mashed potato, which were both equally enjoyable. On the second visit, we enjoyed the Perand-Vergelesses Premier Cru by Pierre Marey et Fils 2014 with our starters and for our mains, we enjoyed the Volnay Premier Cru Clos des Chênes 2011 by Reyane & Pascal Bouley. The Marsannay was served in the most unusual red wine glasses that were brilliantly designed to allow the full bouquet of the wine to be enjoyed, with the top angled in such a way that you could really experience it. On our third visit, we both could not go past the gazpacho, which we cannot rave more highly about! The sheer concentration of flavour achieved in this dish is remarkable. For our mains, we both had a brand new dish for the restaurant which consisted of tuna, of exceptional quality, lightly seared and served with a curry, honeyed, satay sauce with peanuts, sitting on a bed of Napa cabbage. The dish had tiny red pickled onions that gave just the right degree of acidity to counterbalance the honey. There was a separate bowl of coconut rice with almonds that was delicious! We selected the perfect accompaniment of a 2013 Benjamin Laroche Chablis Premier Cru Forests la Manufacture. The service in this restaurant was outstanding on each occasion, the staff being very ably led by Jordane, the Service Manager. After having three incredible, faultless meals, we went into the kitchen to congratulate the chefs. We cannot wait to visit the restaurant again on our next visit to Noumea. We suggest that you book early to ensure that you can eat here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordane B, Responsable relations clients at Marmite et Tire Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Hi Houlian,

Wow! What a feedback!! Probably the most pleasant that I had to read!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this down. It was a real pleasure to welcome you on each occasions, you were exactly in the mood that we like : coming to spend a great time / tasting all dishes and searching for best qualities of each / tasting good wines / letting us take care of you!

You can be proud to be members of Chevalier du Tastevin, you deserve it! Actually you were the first I met in New Caledonia and it's cool!

I hope we’ll have the opportunity to meet again,

Best regards,

Jordane B.
Service manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marmite et Tire Bouchon also viewed

 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Marmite et Tire Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing