We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The Highlight of our Trip!!!

It was a beautiful sunny day and Phillip was there to meet us at the Cruise Terminal. It was easy... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
pangal
,
Perris, California
Would highly recommend

It was an absolute amazing tour first of the main island Noumea, although on our tour it was abit... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Cruiser49159407683
via mobile
Read all 384 reviews
  
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
316
33
12
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
316
33
12
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews escapade island cruise ship pastries resort facilities ferry wharf buffet lunch day trip country tour duck new caledonia passenger terminal seafood quick tour interesting tour royal caribbean shuttle bus prawns
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did the Escapade Island Tour with Gateway as it was cheaper than going through the cruise ship tours. The city tour at the beginning was interesting - lots of information about the City of Nouméa. We were a bit late leaving for the Island and were taken across in water taxis as the ferry wasn’t ready (it was quite rough during the crossing). The ferry was also late on the return journey, which was a bit stressful (had to be back on cruise ship at a certain time) and also meant we ran out of time to go to the duty free shop.
On the island we were left to organise our own activities - we didn’t receive any info on what was available or how to go about organising hire of equipment etc.
The buffet lunch that was provided was lovely. Our guide was friendly and the Island was beautiful. I thought the tour was a little overpriced.

1  Thank Customer432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a beautiful sunny day and Phillip was there to meet us at the Cruise Terminal.
It was easy for us to get the Francs we needed for the tour (Money Exchange in Terminal or ATM across the street in the market), We started with a city tour and a stop at the Lookout with beautiful views. Then to the harbor for the boat to Escapade Island. Before getting the boat we spent a little time in an area with vendors. The ride there and back was delightful. Once there we had the most wonderful buffet lunch. Afterwards we walked around and down to the beach to snorkel or just wade in the water. We didn't see any turtles, but we did see lots of other creatures. And like I said in the title "IT WAS THE BEST DAY OF OUR 28 DAYS AT SEA!!!"

1  Thank pangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was an absolute amazing tour first of the main island Noumea, although on our tour it was abit forecast Alfred made sure we all had the best time with his humour. then escapade island it was fantastic and an amazing island to visit our day was nice, relaxing and all round amazing so thank you Alfred x

1  Thank Cruiser49159407683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on Carnival Spirit and having visited Noumea 7 times before I really wanted a great memorable day.

I pre planned out trip to Escapade Island with Alfred via Facebook (Alfred Genevieve Nauka) from Gateaway Tours. I had heard a lot of positives of both Alfred and the tour so we wanted to try it out. We emailed, pre paid an AUD deposit (direct debit) and paid the rest in cash XPF on the day.

Alfred met us where he said he would, we waited sufficient time for stragglers then we loaded up for our local tour, info along the way as we headed to the cannons look out for some great views and photos.

Then down to Port Mosselle for a quick visit to the markets (they take AUD) whilst waiting for our transfer to Escapade. A 20 minute or so trip out in a comfortable ferry / transfer (fully enclosed from any weather).

Arrived and explored, such a lovely little island that just looks beautiful looking back towards Noumea and walking out over the walkways. We jumped in soon after and snorkelled around, relatively empty waters do was quite peaceful. Alfred walked along the walkway and pointed out where the turtles were so that was good so we made a b line straight to them. We spent around 2 hours following turtles (never too close) doing their thing, swimming, chilling, feeding and when they had enough they would just take off. We saw around 5 turtles but the other side if the island had more in shallower water, just a lot windier on that side.

Enjoyed a lovely buffet lunch which had a great selection of sea good, fresh fish, lots of different shellfish plus other selections and some really yummy desserts (we had a few). In the afternoon we chilled by the pool enjoying the view while the kids happily played in the resort pool.

It was a very enjoyable day and a great memory from Nounea. My teen even said his life was now complete after snorkelling with turtles. We would all definitely do this again.

1  Thank Flubbernugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic tour. Alfred and Gen very easy to communicate with. They picked us up from the Cruise Passenger terminal gave us a tour of Noumea, a visit to the morning markets then a quick boat ride out to Escapade island where we swam and snorkelled with wild sea turtles and had a fabulous seafood buffet lunch at the islands resort. They had us back ready to our cruise ship on time with no fuss. Will definitely book with them again next time I’m in Noumea. Perfect tour for all ages

2  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We booked Gateway Tours for airport to hotel transfers on our recent holiday in Noumea. The booking process was very easy and Genevieve was quick to reply with details and confirmation.

After arriving at the airport, we were greeted by Alfred who was very friendly and welcoming. Our family of 4 also traveled with another family of 4 and there was no waiting around. It cost 5,000 francs for 2 adults, and our 2 children (under 5yo) were free.

The shuttle bus was very comfortable, modern and clean. Alfred spoke perfect English and provided information on Noumea along the way. The whole experience was easy and trouble free.

We decided to use the same service for our transfers back to the airport too. Alfred arrived at the exact time specified, and this transfer was also great.

I would definitely book Gateway Tours for airport transfers again, and highly recommend their service.

1  Thank trademark25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Words will fail to fully describe how much we enjoyed our tour with Alfred. From first getting into the bus, to saying goodbye there was not a single thing we could fault - Alfred even went out of his way to recoup our bottled water we had paid for and not received from a local cafe we visited prior to boarding the boat out to the Island! What a legend!
The friendly tour prior to heading out to Escapade was really delightful, but the magnificent island was the real highlight! What a spectacular place, made better by our daughter getting to snorkel for the very first time and managed swim with some turtles!
A remarkable day to remember! Thank you Alfred.

2  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2018

we visited in june this year
six of our group of 8 had never been to noumea before
Alfred was awesome as usual....its been a two years since I was last here
as ouf ship docked late in the afternoon we couldnt do Escapade Island
Instead alfred and genie arranged a combination of their city and country tour
Alfred offered everyone free wifi from his bus which was great and the younger ones were estatic
plenty of time was spent for photos at the lookout with the cannons
then off to the patisserie shop where Alfred shouted some freshly baked baguettes
all we needed was butter and vegemite lol
then offf through the traffic to the local milk shake shop
next we stopped at mcdonalds so some could try the local version
My friends were all vey impressed with Alfred,s friendly and funny nature
Talked about the time with him for ages once back on ship
next time hopefully we will get to escapade again...its brilliant
thanks to alfred and genie for taking us to places Ive not been to when at noumea in the past
this was the 5th time I have booked tours with Alfred and Genie
well done again guys
hope you enjoyed the jelly beans too lol

2  Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018

We booked two tours with Gateaway Tours Noumea, one to the North of the island (Bourail) and the other to the Deep South, plus airport transfers and we were extremely happy we did! These tours are a must to do in Noumea, and I would recommend them to anyone whether they're coming on an extended stay or just for a day on a cruise.

Alfred was extremely friendly and helpful as well as knowledgable when showing us around the island. On both tours he showed us a variety of tourist sites, from military forts, to mines to great swimming places. He even gave us tips on where the best snorkelling spots were to find turtles on an island we were visiting on the following day.

The tours were thoroughly enjoyable and were a great way of seeing the diverse environments of New Caledonia. Alfred made the tours extremely fun, and knew many great lookout points to take pictures. He took us to a variety of places, telling us the history of them all and answering any questions we had. We loved the time we spent on these tours, and suggest you do both the north tour and south tour as they are very different scenery and activities but both equally as enjoyable. Whilst the North tour allows you to learn about the Kanak people and the history of the colonisation of Noumea, the South tour focuses on gorgeous scenery not seen anywhere else in New Caledonia, and Alfred takes you to a river and waterfall which was extremely fun to swim in and spend a few hours at.

Alfred went above and beyond to ensure we had a good time. Answering any questions we had whether that be about the nature in New Caledonia or about his life in Noumea. Alfred even went as far as offering everyone in the Van wifi, if they wished to use it.

A clear highlight of our two days was the lunch that Alfred made. You must try his venison kebabs, they were absolutely delicious. If you book with Gateaway Tours request this lunch be included and I promise, you will not regret it. As well as the venison, there was chicken which was also delicious, and a variety of salads and cheeses as well as baguettes. He also offered wines, and juices to complete this lunch as well as local beers.

Alfred was always reliable and punctual, when picking and dropping us off from both the tours and at the airport. We were so glad we booked with this company, as he was friendly, funny and helpful.

Overall I highly recommend booking at least one tour with Gateaway tours, they went above and beyond our expectations to provide amazing tours with many memories we all will have for many years to come. We stayed in Noumea for 10 days and the 2 days spent with Alfred were certainly one of the highlights of our trip.

Thanks Alfred! We will definitely use you again if we return to Noumea one day!

3  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018

Thoroughy enjoyed Alfred & Genevieves tour to Escapade Island....Alfred was so funny & entertained us all the way. We did a short tour of the city & then jumped aboard a ferry to Escapade....there we had a wonderful seafood luncheon followed by snorkelling & swimming. A lovely day out & certainly a lot cheaper than the ships tours. Thankyou Alfred for a great day!

5  Thank Gertie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews