We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Choice”

Review of Stone Villa's

Stone Villas located within the lush green forest of Niue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Villas located within the lush green forest of Niue
Natural setting Stone Villa private front patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Stone Villas located within the lush green forest of Niue
Natural setting
Stone Villa private front patio
Spacious Villa
Intimate bedroom in the evening
Stone Villas Separate Bedroom
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Dining with Nature
Private Patio
Alofi Bay end of Stone Villas street
Hio Beach (Tuapa Village)
Limu Pools ( Namukulu Village)
Typical Coastal view on Niue
Where is Niue?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Alofi

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michaela7...
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Great Choice”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This is really great place to stay in Niue. It's within easy walking distance to the main centre and comes with a car for your use during your stay, giving you easy access to the whole islandw whenever you want.

The accomodation is comfortable and provides everything you need.

Ida and Albert are great hosts and balanced their desire to help well against our privacy. When the washing machine broke Ida even did our washing for us. Ida and Albert make you feel very welcome.

This is highly reccomended.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location of the property and the facilities
Liked least: Im hard pushed to find anything I didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikatosf...
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“You can hear the sea but not the roosters.”
Reviewed December 21, 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Came here from a week at the Coral Gardens motel up the coast. A short walk from town/village.Thought I would miss the sight of the sea from my room each day but instead you get birds and the sound of distant waves at night. Set amongst trees and dense undergrowth ( you can find coconut crabs here) are two villas. Mine the front. If you require a little more quiet request the back one. Although I personally think the way the front villa is facing its the best. Interiors very similar. The back has gas for hot water and the front solar. No boost so some mornings tepid shower. Bed was fine, not sure about the comments on too hard. Cotton wool expected for some. No air con, good, dont like it. The two floor fans powerful and do the trick. Small oven with two plate cooking, micro and most utensils you could need. Supposedly self contained but unfortunelty has only a BAR FRIDGE. Far to small for a week even for one person. Complimentary fresh coconut supplied on arrival in this fridge and bottle of wine. A pawpaw arrived later. The best one of this trip, I had brought some limes with me and wow do they go so well togeather. YUUMM. Washing machine and dryer. This is like home. Unfortunately there is nowhere comfortable to sit. A horrid vinyl couch that is splitting along its seems and where ever you sit a spring pops up. Table and chairs although are a pleasant design but are PATIO furniture not indoors. Iron and the table is full of holes(part of the design). To fill out registration paper on this tabe you could easily press pen through the paper into holes. Read a book( there is often down time on this island) the bed becomes the best place. Fiji Sky televison if you really want to turn it on. $1050 for the week which includes car- which you collect and leave at airport. This is great.
Have a game of golf on Saturday, people very welcoming, collar not tee shirts. Sunday, Washaway cafe, place to be. Swimming (sea snakes everywhere around the island) and a cold beer, help yourself and pay yourself when you leave, burger, meet some locals and tourists. Even pastor came down from village trying to recruit. Have a look at Matavi resort. Not self contained so you are at the mercy of their kitchen or the few eating places in town some 10ish klm away. It does have a lovely pool setting and dolphines often playing out front. Priced as expected.
The pluses outnumber the minuses at the Villas. If you want to be self contained then the Villas are a great choice. The owners ARE WONDERFUL. They belong in the industry unlike a lot of people I have met on my journeys. The people of Niue are also wonderful, friendly and wave everytime you pass in car. Returning home after two weeks of this and you automaticly want to wave at every passing car, even a bus. Niue it should be mentioned is very clean, the message of recycling and dont rubbish has got through unlike the Kingdom of Tonga across the water.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bush setting with its bird life
Liked least: Seating and tiny fridge
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2011
Hiya David/Ian
Great to hear from you and thank you for your constructive comments.
We have closed down the villas for one week before the season starts again. Maintenance this week interior, exterior and cutting back of branches of trees.
We have replaced the sofa bed / couch, but not the dining table and chairs as they are so pretty. Will put cushions on the dining chairs to make it more comfortable and Albert will mill some local wood for the top of the dining table. I love the design of the table and chairs so sorry for now it will remain.
The critic you have provided are great general comments on many things on Niue, so its a great overview.
Thank you for the kind comments about Albert and myself. We do try and be good hosts.
Hows the book going? Hope you document your travels as the stories you shared with us are great.
Take care and stay safe during your travels. Ida & Albert (Stone Villas)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsub
Berri, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So Glad We Stayed At Stone Villa's”
Reviewed September 14, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We have just returned from a week on Niue staying at Stone Villa. Ida and Albert meet you at the airport and point out restaurants, supermarket and bakeries to you as they are driving you to the villa. Do agree with previous comments it is the best accomodation on Niue. Ida and Albert have done a fantastic job on building them. The photos do not do justice to what they are really like. The lounge/kitchen, bathroom, toilet and bedroom are extremely spacious. There were 2 large electric fans there but we only used them once. There are 2 villas but you have complete privacy and quietness. We did not hear any rosters at all. Even though it is not sea views the location is so central. Easy and quick walk to the wharf, bakery, supermarket and eating places. Try the coconut bread it is fantastic. The only slightly negative comment would be the bed is too firm, but I see Ida has posted a comment that they are going to get a underlay. Other than that the villas are excellent accomodation. Everything you need is supplied, more than I was expecting and Ida even had a coconut and paw paw for us on arrival and Albert shared a Uma Crab with us. Absolutely scrumptious. Ida services the villa each morning when you are out and when you return it is absolutely spotless. The car included is a real bonus, we travelled around the island a lot and used approx. $105.00NZD in petrol for the week. Petrol is $2.74NZD per litre. Really worth doing all the sea tracks, Limu is great and Tamakautoga is a excellent swimming spot. Each morning we walked from the villa to the wharf and saw whales just out from the wharf. One morning a whale was in as close as 50 metres of shore. The villas are easy walking distance to the eating places. Falala Fa is a must to eat at. The Fish and Chips are the best we have ever eaten. $15.00NZD for it and you get 2 big pieces of wahoo,chips and salad. Great value, we ate there 4 nights as it was that good. Crazy Uga Cafe just down the road from the villas has great muffins. Juanna's Restaurant and Bar has a roast night on Sunday's. $28.00NZD for either roast lamb.pork or beef. It was a lovely huge meal and we could not eat it all. The Niuans are extremely friendly and welcoming. Everything about the holiday exceeded our expectations to what we were expecting. 7 nights was not long enough we should have booked for longer as we did not have enough time to see Limu pools etc twice. We would highly recommend Stone Villa's to anyone looking for accommodation on Niue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of villa, privacy, quietness and central location.
Liked least: The bed is a bit firm.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2011
Thank you for those wonderful comments Warren & Sue. Really glad you both enjoyed your holiday. We have also decided to replace the double bed with a Super King bed. We are now also doing a vegetable garden next to villa 2 for guests to use and in return they replace whatever they use by planting the next batch for the next guests. Thanks for booking with Stone Villas Warren & Sue and thanks for spreading the word about Niue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelloKiwi
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We'd love to come back again ....”
Reviewed August 30, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

... but there is only one flight per week ;-)

This accomodation has met all our expectations. The reviews here on Trip Advisor were very helpful and everything what the others mentioned is correct.

This is a very nice hotel, just the right size. We watched every evening the geckos on the walls (enjoying their "dinner"), this place is very quiet :)

Yes, the ocean is too far away to hear the waves during the night. Instead you hear the birds in the morning, (and a few chicken ..) ...

The apartment itself, amenities etc is perfect. A few really minor things for the kitchen, but I am sure Ida/Albert will add some stuff to the kitchen. We really loved this place.

We couldn't connect to the WiFi although we received the signal. Ida knows this and I am sure they will fix it. During our stay we did not really bother and therefore we did not shared our problems with Ida/Albert.

The only downside was the hard double bed, you really need to get used to it.

And they are so helpful !! Our flight had 5 -6 hours delay and guess what: Ida was looking for us, found us in a cafe and offered her car to us. Isn't this great !? This is truly very honest hospitality.

Yes, were now friends of Niue :)

Don'tlook further for other apartments, you can't beat this one, especially because the car is included in the deal :) !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, personal touch, car rental included
Liked least: had double bed
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2011
Hi Ralf & family
Thank you for the review and constructive comments which we will use to improve our little abode and thank you for booking with Stone Villas. Yes colander noted for the kitchen for pasta lovers. Wi-Fi connection for IPad's for some reason you have to configure manually with a different IP address to laptops. Apple security applications we have been told. Hard double bed.... we get different comments about the firmness of the bed but have been advised that an underlay will soften and if guests want the bed firm then just remove it.
Sorry tell Yannik we had to chase the gecko's outside again.
The whales are still around and our current guests are making the most of the sunshine and spotting the whales from the shoreline.
Take care and hope Yannik has settled back into school again. Monuina. Ida & Albert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthzmail
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Niue's best kept secret!”
Reviewed August 13, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have just retuned from a week's holiday at Stone Villas. This delightful place is by far the best accommodation (and best value for money) on the island... like the review below, we had a good look around and talked to fellow travellers!
The experience begins when either Ida or Albert meet you at the airport in your rental car and on the short journey in to Alofi point out where to buy your essentials.
Our villa (there are now 2) was everything we expected from the previous reviews and more!
Perfectly clean and equipped with everything we needed , including a water filter/cooler....much appreciated in the heat! They have a very comprehensive description of what's included on their website.
The setting is so quiet, true there are no sea views... you have to walk for 2 minutes (!!!) for those, but also no crowing cockerels either. Ida and Albert are always there when needed but otherwise unobtrusive. I really can't think of anything negative to say and would be happy to recommend to anyone, but do get in quickly as their reputation is growing!!
Niue is a very quiet island, un-commercialised and very laid back, sometimes places are open and sometimes not! You are on 'Island time'.... just enjoy the rest from the hustle and bustle of home. We saw whales, lots of them, EVERY day and the Swimming with Whales trip (Niue Dive) was a totally unforgettable experience. happy to answer questions!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angeraynz
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place for a week on the Rock”
Reviewed May 28, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a week on Niue, 'the Rock of the Pacific' staying at Stone Villa's. This is the best accommodation on the island and we saw pretty much the lot. Doesn't have sea views but is central to everything. Ida and Albert are fantastic hosts. Ida thoroughly services the unit while you are out each day. They provided a great starter pack including milk, fruit, cereal, beer, tea and coffee, honey, jam etc. The unit has a clothes washer and separate dryer. The design with the stone walls keeps it cool and the insect screens keep the bugs out. Bathroom and toilet, as well as everything else, are beautifully clean. Ida also lent us extra beach towels etc, what a hostess!
Utuko sea track is a couple of minutes down the hill as is the centre of Alofi, the only town to speak of on Niue. Just be aware that Niue is tiny with only about 1100 people the centre of Alofi is not big.
Albert is busy finishing the new second villa (by the end of June 2011) so soon you'll be able to go with friends. There are plans for a pool later too but with Utuko down the road you don't really need it. Having the car included was fantastic. Door to door service to and from the airport. We went everywhere and still only used a half a tank of gas.
Bring some reef shoes, walking shoes, snorkeling gear and have a great time in a unique place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed December 21, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Privacy
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing