We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccomended!”
Review of Palau Royal Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palau Royal Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Highly reccomended!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This beautiful resort on the Bay in Koror, is a real pleasure! Although we only spent one night there we had a really great time and think that it is perhaps the best that Koror has to offer. The dining room is very good, offering a good selection from a varied buffet and a a la carte menu (did not try it). Rooms very comfortable and a rquest to repair a fault in the room was quickly and efficiently repaired.
The airport suttle worked well and the check in was effecient and friendly

Room Tip: Try for rooms on the seaward(harbour) side for a great view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatsoJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    206
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
108
156
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I spent the afternoon at the hotel and spa since I only had about 4 hours we went to get pedicures. The hotel staff was amazing! Even though we weren't overnight guests we were treated like celebrities and were invited to explore the gorgeous grounds laid out with ponds waterfalls and one of the few sand beaches in the vicinity. There was a lovely poolside bar, interesting items in the gift shop and of course the Spa was first rate. The entire hotel gave us the impression of comfortable, clean and laid back amosphere. I will definitely stay here next time I am in Palau and have more time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hotel: large rooms with nice, private balcony. Good view if you get the water-facing rooms. Clientele is largely Japanese / Taiwanese, and the food is catered towards the asian appetite accordingly. Breakfast was fine - but dinner was disappointing. There are numerous wonderful restaurants in Koror, though, and Palau Royal Resort is very close to town. Front desk staff is very friendly and accommodating. We also visited PPR and had a drink at their poolside bar. PPR definitely had more spectacular grounds/beach, but it's a bit of a drive to town. If you're coming to Palau for romantic get-away, PPR is probably the way to go. If you're coming primarily for diving, Palau Royal is a great option and conveniently located.

Diving: we booked a 5-day package with Sam's tours, which was a 2-minute shuttle or 5 minute walk from the hotel. The 2-tank dives usually involve a 45-60 minute boat ride to the southern islands, but the scenery is so beautiful and the water so vivid; it's easy to lose track of time and before you know it you've arrived. The diving is out of this world. Nearly every dive we saw sharks, turtles, schools of snapper, you name it.

Travel to Palau: we flew United out of SFO via Honolulu and Guam. It was a bit of a disaster. The connection in Guam to Palau is only 40 minutes, and for some reason we were late arriving in Guam (even though we took off on time), which only left us 20 min to catch our connection to Palau. We made the flight, but our bags didn't. And there's only 1 or 2 flights a day into Palau, so we were stuck the first 20 hours w/o dive gear and luggage. The return flight home was a bigger mess; the flight out of Palau was delayed 16 hours! (due to mechanical issue). United loaded us on a bus and were shipped to local cheap hotels. Finally, we were in the air on our way to Guam - but we arrived in the evening and we had 7 hours in Guam, so they put us on another bus and sent us to another hotel (which was better than sitting in the airport for 7 hours). All in all, it took 40 hours to get home. Not a fun travel experience. But in the end, Palau was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MarkNelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

great location for diving, snorkelling, kayaking and close to many great places to eat - kramers, drop off & carpe. lovely setting with the beautiful man made beach from the ocean & pool. nice clean large rooms, plenty of amenities and space. loved the pond at the entrance with turtles, rays & fish. staff are very friendly but relatively clueless and struggle with simple tasks but overall a great experience & stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigsleep55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Wonderful trip! Beats Hawaii w plenty to spare. Resort was nice, although food (included) was not as good as Club Med Bali, which isn't saying much. Can't beat the location. Comfortable and clean rooms. Tv was blurry, but who's watching tv when you're in paradise.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyheihei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Nice place for kids and adults. Most convenient location to go to snorkling excursion which is the best in the world (we visited 11 spots in three days, none should be missed).
Do not miss the hotel fish feeding in the afternoon.We were pleasantly surprised that at 7pm Friday, there was ethnic dance performace at the restaurant.Many people missed it.
The little acquarium put together by the artist Michael Glinski is most beautiful. We met the artist and he gave us an illustration about how he collected and managed them and how corals inter-react with each other which is fasinating.

Room Tip: Very spacious room. Ocean view room definitely worth the extra money,see attached photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I love the palau Royal Resort. The staff are so friendly and nice and it is good location-- so close to town and tour operators. The setting is quite beautiful and the beach has good snorkeling. Also, the food is very good .

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a water view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
2.6 km away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 29 in Koror
239 reviews
7.3 km away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#6 of 29 in Koror
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sea Passion hotel
Sea Passion hotel
#17 of 29 in Koror
206 reviews
2.3 km away
Palau Hotel
Palau Hotel
#12 of 29 in Koror
6 reviews
2.6 km away
Palau Pacific Resort
Palau Pacific Resort
#1 of 29 in Koror
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Royal Resort

Property: Palau Royal Resort
Address: P O Box 10108, Koror, Koror Island 96940-0877, Palau
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Royal Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Palau Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Royal Hotel Koror
Nikko Hotel Koror
Nikko Koror
Koror Nikko
Palau Royal Resort South Pacific - Koror

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing