We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort, fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The title says it all. If you want to get away from it all, relax on a beach, swim, snorkel, or just laze about by the pool this is the resort for you.

Eratap is about 20 minutes drive (some of it on a fairly dodgy road) from Port Vila (about a AUD15 cab fare) and is surrounded largely by bush. It is set on a peninsula so even when the wind blows there is always somewhere protected to go.

The staff can't be more helpful. Whether organising one of the resort boats to run you out to a deserted island, sending food to your cabin or booking flights or car hire nothing is too much trouble.

Can't recommend this resort more highly for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Traveller_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Just returned from 7 nights at Eratap on our honeymoon. Stayed in Villa 7, a one bedroom villa, which was extraordinary. The villa itself was a very good size, the manicured lawn is beautiful and the beach right outside our villa was gorgeous. The villa has a small flat screen TV with DVD player and there are DVDs for use at the reception area which were a nice perk. The bed was very comfortable, although just a little firm for our taste. The sheltered nakamal with the lounge chairs on the beach were amazing as were the lounge chairs on our patio outside the living area of the villa.

Be aware: since this is a tropical region, there were a fair amount of bugs (spiders, wasps) in the villa--there is a can of pesticide supplied for use in the villa which was nice. The sink/tub area is open with no door, so if you need privacy to dress you must close the curtains to the bedroom area completely. Also, the curtains in the bedroom area are total black out curtains so there is no way to enjoy the amazing view and still have some privacy. The shower and tub area are all in one area (so someone cannot be in the shower and using the toilet at the same time, unless privacy is not an issue). The shower spray ends up getting the whole area wet which is not that fun when you need to use the toilet--we put a towel on the floor at the base of the shower to try to avoid this.

We did not do the food plan while we were there and do not feel it is necessary unless you are big eaters. We had a late breakfast everyday around 1000 and only needed a small snack in the afternoon before we had dinner. The menu has a fair amount of options and with the daily specials there was variety enough, but by day 8 we were pretty tired of the food. The food itself was SPECTACULAR, my husband and I each ate one thing we didn't love the whole time we were there. We did the dinner on the beach, and although it got rained out in the middle of dinner, the food was warm on arrival and the decoration on the table was beautiful. The service in the restaurant was amazing, everyone always had a smile and seemed really happy to be there.

Taking the day trip to Castaway Island is a must and one of our best memories of the trip. The snorkeling off this island was the best we have ever done, including other resorts in the South Pacific.

Caveats: Villa concerns as discussed above. As has been mentioned elsewhere, the ability to swim off the main beach is dependent on high/low tide which put a bit of a damper on our time there. You can still snorkel in other areas but you have to make arrangements to have someone take you out on the resort's boat. Making the arrangements was very easy and the boats seemed to be available all the time. I believe you can swim off the honeymoon beach regardless of tide but we did not do that. The beach is very rough and reef shoes are a must. I believe the resort has reef shoes you can borrow, but we had brought our own. We went during a time when children were allowed at the resort and would not do this again. The resort says their policy is not to allow children less than 5 years old but we saw numerous children that were toddlers (one of which was running around naked on the beach on more than one occasion). The children next door to our villa were running around our villa grass/beach and were very loud first thing in the morning. Definitely not romantic and would not go to this resort again when children are allowed. We did get a couples massage while there but unfortunately my husband's massage bed was covered with ants and he spent his massage time focusing on the ants instead of enjoying the massage. I loved the massage and the price was very reasonable. We really missed not having Wi-Fi in our villa, can use wi-fi in the restaurant and the reception area only.

Overall, this resort is a piece of paradise that we will not forget soon. The staff at the resort was amazing, always available and more than happy to take requests. We were truly sad to be leaving at the end of our trip and can't wait to return someday.

Room Tip: Try to get a villa furthest out on the point if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toxypharmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Eratap Resort is quite simply, paradise perfectly presented.
From the time you arrive, to when you leave, you have nothing to worry about. The biggest decisions to make are:
• should I snorkel in the morning over the brilliant house reef with its Nemo fish or will I snorkel in the afternoon on one of the nearby islands colourful reefs . Or will I do both!
• will I just drift in a kayak on the spectacularly vivid, peaceful emerald blue lagoon and watch the fish skimming the surface and glide over the brightly coloured starfish.
• should I paddle to one of the islands or take the complimentary ride offered by the resort.
• should I lie by the magnificent pool.
• will I relax inside the beautifully presented air-conditioned villa or outside on the lounges in your large private lawn area that leads to the water.
• when will I fit a spa treatment.
• will I use the indoor or outdoor shower.
• what delicious meals to select for lunch and dinner.
• when should I have the first cocktail for the day.
• or maybe I should just read, sleep and take it easy.
Honestly, if you want a relaxing, stress-free, high quality resort holiday, just go to Eratap – it truly is paradise perfectly presented.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finally_kid_free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I have just returned from a weeks holiday in Vanuatu staying at Eratap Bach Resort and can say that it is a wonderful place to stay. We wanted a restful and relaxing holiday. With only a small number of villas, at times feels like you are the only ones there. The staff were friendly and very welcoming with a smile! The food at the restaurant was excellent. All our expectations were met. There are activities if you wish to take part such as snorkeling and going on guided walks etc. We are now relaxed and ready to face the world again. Wish we were there now!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestAusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

eratap is one of the best resorts that i have visited and i have been to heaps in my time travelling. tony the owner had a vision about this resort and pulled it of beautifully. hand picked staff from the local village to the food at the restaurant they serve daily. villas as spacious as a home. we stayed in villa 11 as we got married there and was the best villa there. very private with your own plunge pool and private beach could not have asked for better, worth the extra money. a big thank you to samara our wedding co-ordinator from weddings parties everisamting. would highly recommend her to plan your special occasion. also our photographer angela from aelan photography thank you for our pictures they turned out great. i would also recommend her. will go back for sure and maybe make tony an offer to buy villa 11. LOL.

Room Tip: Spend the extra on villa 11 well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Everything about this place was brilliant. The luxury, the people, the eco sense and the location.
We stayed in one of the honeymoon villas and had the best holiday ever. The only mistake we made was leaving the resort - although the Cascades abseiling trip was the one fantastic exception.
This resort was worth every penny and we'll be going back as soon as we possibly can.
Thank you so much!
p.s the food isn't the same as in Australia, but Eratap had the best food in Vanuatu that we tried
p.p.s don't wait until the airport on the way out to buy your duty free. Buy it one day in town beforehand.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonlight_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Eratap was the second of our resorts during our trip. We were collected on time from LeLagon and it took only a sort time to arrive to this lovely resort. The day was bright and sunny which made our arrival a happy one. We quickly checked in, enjoyed a snack lunch then off to do some kayaking around the lagoons. We booked a fishing trip for the next day. That night we enjoyed a lovely sunset and meal, which for us was more than enough (I dont know how much people expect to have on their plate, from a previous review! obviously they eat way more than we do!)

The next day we had a lovely breakfast, but sadly the weather had packed it in and we were not able to do the fishing trip, as it was too windy. No problems, we went kayaking instead and had a nice time. We rested and relaxed by the pool during the afternoon. Again, we had a very nice dinner that night.

Next day - a huge swell overnight and again our trip was cancelled. Surf was up for the lucky surfers. We went on the deserted island picnic, but it was wet, windy and cold so not a lot of joy there either. That night, a huge storm hit and the next day, the day we were leaving was quite cold.

A shame the weather wasnt better as we really didnt get the chance to really enjoy the resort. The rooms are gorgeous, with several seating areas, personal cabana and outdoor lounges. Huge "backyard of lawn" just for us. There were so many choices but the weather just didnt allow us to use them all.

I can throughly recommend this resort for a romantic couple getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
27.4 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
573 reviews
5.6 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,533 reviews
1.3 km away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
7.6 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
8.6 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $516 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing