We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

As soon as I arrived I knew I was going to write a review about Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu. It’s probably the best place I have ever stayed. These are some of the things you should know. Firstly its perfect to take kids in between the ages of five and sixteen, secondly there is amazing snorkelling where you can see so many fish in so many colours and lastly the staffs are really nice.

Some of the activities include snorkelling, kayaking, mini spa [girls], village tour and local weapons [boys].

Last of all on Tuesday nights they have some entertainment where six men and two ladies do a fire dance. Some of the acts include breathing fire, jumping skipping ropes that are alight with fire and doing the limbo under a rope that’s alight with fire.

In conclusion this is definitely the perfect place for a family to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahsacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We read everyone else's reviews before choosing Eratap Beach Resort for a quick getaway, and weren't disappointed. Tony & Louisa have done a fantastic job setting this place up... the staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful.
Tony pointed out the best surf breaks and that the boys would take us out in the boat straight to the reef about 400m out... and while the surf didn't really arrive for us we still had some good 3-4ft waves with some long rides (and a few reef scars to boot).
The restaurant is excellent, with views that are hard to beat... snorkelling just metres from the restaurant gives a taste of the coral reef life around Vanuatu.
Our villa was fantastic, and private enough to feel like you had your own spot of paradise.
The activities they put on, and the availability of morning trips into Port Vila makes it easy enough to find things to do beyond laying around enjoying the sun, water & food.
The fire-dancers that performed one evening next to the restaurant were an unexpected delight!
Our only disappointment was we couldn't book more than 5 nights at short notice... and our accommodation for the following 2 nights in Vila at a major resort left us pining for Eratap. It's more like a home away from home in an ideal location.
The other bonus is you don't need power travel-adaptors in Vanuatu as its all standard Aussie 3-pin points. Brilliant!
Overall an amazing experience.

Room Tip: The beds are quite firm and took a couple of nights to get used too, along with the sound of lapping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cws127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We recently stayed here as part of our honeymoon and cannot recommend it highly enough. The rooms were beautifully designed, spacious, spotlessly clean and had a great feel to them. The restaurant was excellent - the daily specials were varied and all delicious. The staff were all lovely and helpful especially Pascale, who consistently went out of her way to help.

The snorkelling off the islands and out the front was great and we even managed to see a sea turtle - very exciting.

There is a handy bus into town but more than enough to do at the resort to keep you entertained for a few days.

The coconut Margarita has to be one of the nicest cocktails I've ever tasted - and there is just something so tropical about drinking from a coconut.

But be warned the combination of delicious cocktails, mouthwatering foods and deserts, and comfortable banana lounges is not so good for the figure :P

Room Tip: We stayed villa number 3 - it was lovely - and an easy stroll along the beach to the restaurant - ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily_2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had lunch at this resort and managed to leave 5 hours later. Food was good with three lunch specials to choose from. Chocolate mousse to share was divine and the location was peaceful, relaxing and service was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We've just returned for a very relaxing 3 night stay at Eratap. From the start Eratap made an impression, from Steven who met us at the airport to Malani (sp?) at reception who took us straight to our rooms, welcome drinks in hand when she saw how tired we were.

The resort has it all - great snorkelling, private rooms, a pool (the beach isn't ideal for swimming so the pool is great to have), great food, a great open air spa and, most of all, wonderful people - Jenny, Aaron (?), Sharon, Yvonne at the restaurant, Annie at the spa, Drivers Steven and Robert, Pascale and Malani at reception, and these are just the names I remember! - everyone we encountered made our holiday wonderful without being too intrusive.

All the other reviewers have already mentioned the room, the food and the snorkelling but a couple of additional highlights for us were:
- taking the kayak out to one of the small islands, beautiful beach for swimming and snorkelling
- a great selection of DVDs which we did need as it rained quite a bit while we were there
- fire show was a great way to end our stay (not sure if it's a regular thing but they had that on a Tuesday night)
- good gear - snorkelling masks, fins and kayaks were all in great condition
- seafood chowder I had on the first night - just delicious! In fact, I'm surprised Eratap doesn't have a separate listing for their restaurant - they have some of the best food I've had in Vanuatu
- ipod dock in the villa

It was great that the resort had everything there, after having been to Santo and out and about every day while we were there, it was nice to just relax and not have to worry about any set plans for the day (apart from meal times and the spa booking!). They really do have it sorted and everything ran perfectly smoothly as far as we were concerned.

The only low point was having to leave so soon! We can't wait to come back and next time we'll make sure it's for much longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms, except for the honeymoon villas are beachfront so I don't think you could go wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamrNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our second stay at Eratap and we wondered if we would enjoy it as much the second time round. We are the sort of travellers that like variety and to try new places. But something about Eratap brought us back. We were not disappointed. Once again the service and experience was unsurpassable. I swore I wouldn't get upset again when I left, but alas it is impossible. The staff are just so great and really make the place. You just feel like you are part of the whole thing. Hard to explain. Anyway, we will be back again no doubt! Thanks Tony. Thanks Andre, Rose, Melanie, Mac and all the staff. Just a brilliant place to stay!
Simone, Richard & Charli

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Eratap, it was amazing. I couldn't fault a thing! The accommodation was perfect, spacious villa, comfortable bed,and all mod cons if you felt the need for aircon/TV etc. The level of service was beyond reproach, all the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, nothing was ever a problem. The food, wow! Great fresh ingredients prepared with skill and imagination produced fantastic plates which were a delight to both the eyes and palate. Snorkeling straight off the beach in front of the villa was a real treat, a never ending variety of sea creatures to amaze. Beautiful people, wonderful atmosphere, simply paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 6, it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Numbawans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
27.4 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
573 reviews
5.6 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,532 reviews
1.3 km away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Port Vila
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
7.6 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
8.6 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $517 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing