We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have already rebooked!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eratap Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

After a very unfortunate flight delay we arrived late in the evening to be greeted with a fruit cocktail and shown to our room. Being told the restaurant was open till 11pm each night was music to my hungry ears!!
Everything has really been said here - beautiful location, villas spacious, privacy assured, blissfully quiet and wonderful staff. We had fairly rotten weather for our short stay but we still enjoyed everything. I felt so relaxed that we rebooked on departure. Through all our extensive travels this would be the only place we would go back to as we usually like to try something different. But why bother when it's this good?
My only small teeny tiny suggestion would be new towels (they felt quite thin and threadbare somedays).
We loved that breakfast was freshly cooked and not in a buffet - the bacon was some of the best I've had. The fire show was fantastic, and the trip into Vila was worth doing. Snorkelling off castaway was great, kayaking was fun, and the water was beautiful to swim in. The selection of DVDs and board games was great for the rainy nights.
Next time I think we will have one dinner in our villa and work on our fitness so we can kayak to the Big Island!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Villas 11 & 12 had the most privacy. 9 & 10 would also be good choices for privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antsuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from the most wonderful, relaxing week ever. This resort is something special, offering a superb location (right on the beach), top-notch villa's (very well appointed and so roomy with comfy pillows and bed), fantastic food (very tasty and plenty of selection, no matter what mealtime) and the most outstanding thing of all, is ALL the staff. They are so friendly, polite and accommodating, you couldn't ask for better. Lead from the top, by the owner Tony and manager Pascalle, it is evident that this is a well run resort and nothing is too much trouble for their guests.
Great activities are on offer and you can do as little or as much as you please. Snorkeling was the highlight for my husband-fantastic sea life to be seen. My highlight would have to be visiting the spa on a number of occasions and receiving the most relaxing treatments from Annie. Also kayaking in the lagoon and visiting Castaway Island, going to the local village with Mac (a must-do experience) or just the sheer bliss of lying on your lounger, under the nakamal on the beach. Evenings bring entertainment two nights of the week, being the Fire dancers performance (catch those 6-packs!) and a Cultural night (with a local group singing and playing their traditional instruments). Also wine-tasting and sampling of local nibbles, was on offer one night. All in all, great ways to pass an evening by.
With only 12 villas in the resort and the grounds set up so well, you can walk around or swim in the pool and feel like you are the only ones there, sometimes with no-one else to be seen. However, at mealtimes, it was always nice to be greeted by the staff's friendly smiling faces and also catch up with some of the other guests in the restaurant.
This resort has certainly lived up to our expectations and more and if you are looking for a special little place to relax and kick back, Eratap Beach Resort will deliver. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All villas are very private and well spaced out from one another, with superb views out to the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzclan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I am at a loss for words to describe this place. Eratap is just magic! From the beautiful private villas, the wonderful people, the food, the pristine beach and coral and all the free activities, our entire stay was perfect. Villa 12 had the most awesome plungepool and we could snorkel straight off our front steps into a lagoon full of coral. The food was wonderful with a great selection and daily specials and I would have to say I had some of the best dishes I have ever eaten, including the seafood risotto, which was to die for, and Mama's chocolate mousse!!! For everyone who worked at Eratap nothing was too much trouble. Tony, Pascalle, Robert, Mac, Andre, Pauline, Yvonne, Jenny, Rose, Sharon... and too many others to mention, you made our holiday truly special, thank you.

There were no hidden extras. We loved being able to grab a kayak, a paddleboard or snorkelling gear whenever we felt like it and getting a boat to one of the smaller islands was just as simple as asking. The Fire and Cultural shows were both amazing and nothing like what I was expecting, truly professional and incredible to watch. The village tour with Mac was well worth doing, and what can I say about the "romantic dinner" which was included in our package with our villa? Imagine our surprise on returning from a beautiful afternoon of kayaking to find a table for 2 set up in our nakamal, complete with candles, crystal, silver and scattered flower petals. Our meal was wonderful and one we will never forget.

I can only think of one thing wrong with our holiday in beautiful Eratap and that is it wasn't long enough. When we go back (and I have no doubt that we will) it will be for longer than 7 days. So, thank you for an amazing holiday Eratap. I wish we could be back there right now with a couple of Tuskers, relaxing by the plunge pool and watching the world go by......

Room Tip: They were all beautiful. Villas 11 and 12 have plungepools and are closest to the pool and jetty but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We are kiwis living in NZ but we've lived in Asia for a long time and were missing the wonderful smaller resorts of Thailand, Vietnam and Indonesia. We've done Fiji plenty of times and always felt the price is way over the top compared to the rooms and food you get in return. Eratap is the answer to our prayers! The food was amazing and there was always a table waiting for us - no matter what time of the day we chose to eat. You get a good feeling about boutique resorts when the owner meets you on arrival. You also see the staff being treated well and with dignity, which then results in happy and helpful staff. The all-inclusive price was truly all inclusive: free wifi, water, quality snorkeling gear, paddle boards, kayaks, great breakfasts cooked to order, well organised daily activities. The beds and pillows were super comfortable, the rooms were well appointed and the aircon was a blessing too. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZTraveller88984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our family of 4 (2 teenage children) stayed in Villa 10 - all villas are very private. Just a wonderful place and fabulous staff. The food was excellent and there was plenty to do for the kids. Being able to take a boat at any time to go snorkeling was great or just grab a kayak and enjoy the lagoon. The relationship of the resort and the local village adds an extra dimension to the experience and you felt a real sense of community which added to the beauty of the place. If you are thinking about visiting - just do it! You won't regret it for a minute.

Room Tip: All rooms are private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We knew it would be great after our youngest wasn't well on landing and being last through customs as everyone rushed to get through and then passing everyone who was scrambling for a lift to our awaiting transport and a cold bottle of water...bliss, and even though a lot has been said about the bumpy road, compared to some of Australia's it was a breeze.
Fantastic stay for families during the school holidays with plenty of activities to keep the kids busy and mum and dad lonely.......NOT!! Very relaxed atmosphere with no pretence and surprisingly attentive service for a smaller resort, which was another bonus as even though there was a few families staying at the same time you never felt that it was busy and you still had the beach practically to yourself.
Everyones kids got along and were happy to run around organising their own fun while us parents relaxed, even at meal time which is whenever, it was great that there was an opportunity to chat to others if you wanted or enjoy your own company. The entertainment of fire show and musicians was lovely and equally fun for the staff,entertainers and guests.
The breakfasts were lovely being served at the tables and not scrambling around a buffet, and the view........breathtaking, even the kids were quite sometimes just looking out at the reef.
As divers we have seen some beautiful things underwater and the reef out the front was spectacular. We were excited to show the kids how easy it is to snorkel and view all the beautiful fish and coral and see their eyes light up in their masks (although little one nearly drowned each time she tried to speak).
The pictures do not lie, this is a little piece of heaven on earth and I didn't want to tell anyone about it, but it is too good to miss.We felt safe the whole time we were there and cannot say enough about how the staff and our wonderful visit to the village cemented the lovely community in Eratap, you are all beautiful and we can't wait to meet again. Tank you tumas!
If you need someone to mind reception Pascalle my number is 04.............

Room Tip: Unit 1 was closest to reception and the restaurant and the easiest place to enter snorkelling to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Our family of 3 stayed here in one of the two bedroom villas during the school holidays.

The service is excellent and the staff are uniformly friendly. Almost everything is included, so if you want to go snorkelling and the tide's out, a boat will take you around to the deep side of the reef and wait for you there. Although people talk of Vanuatu time, as if it were the same concept as Fiji time, we found at Eratap that things actually occurred when they said they would. If one is going out on a boat at 1 pm, the guy is there at 1 pm. In Fiji we had a picnic on a deserted island and by the time they came and picked us up an hour and a half late, we were semi-seriously considering where we'd sleep for the night.

A particular mention must go to Pascalle, who is a fantastic manager and no issue is too small for her to take seriously.

We thought the food was excellent, but don't forget to budget a bit under $100 pp per day for food and drinks. If I had one suggestion (and it's no more than that), it would be to have a few lighter items for lunch, foccaccia and the like. Have a dinner at your villa at least one night. I've attached a photo of the table set up for ours.

Although we did one trip into Port Vila, we didn't feel the need to leave the resort.

Room Tip: Villas with lower numbers are closer to the dining room. Villas 1-8 have the beach straight in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
27.4 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#2 of 47 in Port Vila
573 reviews
5.6 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,538 reviews
1.3 km away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
7.6 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
8.6 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eratap Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eratap Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 3037, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $512 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eratap Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eratap Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eratap Beach Hotel Port Vila
Eratap Beach Port Vila
Eratap Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing