We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Prestigia.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
129
22
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
22
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront villa plunge pool french chef seafood curry manicured lawns beach front spa staff shuttle bus second bedroom luxury escapes dirt road king size moment you arrive amazing week tuesday night ocean view lovely pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 160 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2020

We had a wonderful 5 day visit to the resort, staying in a beachfront villa with a plunge pool. The room was gorgeous, with some lovely personal touches so it feels boutique. We did not do very much so we had total relaxation, and this location is perfect for that. Staff were so lovely and the food great. I really had to pinch myself a few times as it truly felt like easy, relaxed and simple paradise

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank terrirI5934LZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2020 via mobile

16 spacious villas. All of an excellent standard, some have small pools. Beds are true king size and extremely comfortable.
The staff are friendly and welcoming. You feel like you are at home.
The food is exceptional. Good variety of choices and delicious. All served with a smile.
The hotel managers are accommodating and personable. The resort is exceptional. The ocean view is just wonderful.
You can do a lot or a little depending on what you want.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ChezBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2020

Dont get me wrong, the resort itself is beautiful and the view is just picturesque, however the lack of consistency and service was incredibly frustrating.

The Restaurant - what you read on the menu, is not what is served. The lobster that they rave on about in all of their advertising, didn't make an appearance until the very last day of our 9 day holiday after multiple requests, and it was unfortunately served to us undercooked/raw. We had to catch a taxi to another resort just to try coconut crab. The chef will only cook steak and burgers medium rare, despite being asked not to on several occasions. Often times they would have no drinking coconuts available for days simply because no one had climbed the trees.

Room charges - you are not asked to sign or view a receipt at the end of each meal/drinks, so you have no idea what you are being charged. Upon check out, they present you with a bill with simply each day's date and the amount charged (no other details). We requested a copy of every transaction charged to our room (much to the their annoyance) and discovered that we had been overcharged by $220 AUD, which they then credited thankfully. But we would not have known this otherwise.

The room - lovely and spacious, beautiful design. We had a two bedroom 2 bathroom villa, and unfortunately the shower in the second bedroom had very limited water pressure and was only occasionally hot, but was OK to have a quick rinse.

The usual managers were away during our stay so perhaps things are done differently when they are present. I also wonder if the Israeli chef was their usual chef as the meals were so inconsistent.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NicStoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona J, General Manager at Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2020

Dear NicStoney,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not match your expectations. Our team work very hard to deliver the very best and usually we achieve this, I am sorry in this instance that we were not able to. We take on board your comments and use them as an opportunity to learn and improve for the future.

In terms of the restaurant we take on board what you have mentioned and will share your feedback with the chef. With regards to coconut crab as this is an critically endangered species we do not serve this at the resort.
All of our lobster is local and as such we are dependent on the seas and fisherman. We don't serve frozen lobster as we want the best possible quality, and so unfortunately supply can be sporadic.

Our hotel systems provide your bill as a summary per meal, and our team are always very happy to print each individual charges. I am surprised you hear that you feel our team were 'annoyed' to do as this has never been an issue and is something we do fairly routinely.

Our focus is always to deliver a great stay and provide an opportunity for the wonderful Ni-Vanuatu hospitality to shine.

We hope that one day we see you back again and can show you the true Tamanu experience.

Warm regards

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2020 via mobile

My 4 girl friends and I went to Tamanu on the Beach for a week away to just relax and spend some quality time together. We had the absolute best time!! The villas are so stunning, we had villa 16 which has a lovely pool out the front and 2 bedrooms. It was super spacious and modern, and the care put into the facilities of the resort is just amazing. The food at the restaurant is fantastic!! My friends and I especially recommend the seafood curry and the beef tagliata- so good! The people who work there are so so lovely, they went absolutely above and beyond for us and were so friendly. The fire show on the Tuesday night is a must! We also loved the Tamanu Tour on the Wednesday that took us around the island. It was honestly so so relaxing and what we all needed. A special thankyou to Alvin, Ellen and Nicholas for really looking after us, and to Vanessa for helping us with payment at the end! We had such an amazing week. Would definitely recommend staying here if you’re going to Vanuatu!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank KatrinaD603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona J, General Manager at Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2020

Dear Katrina,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We really appreciate your comments and have shared your feedback with the team. The staff really get a kick out of seeing their name in print, so thank you!
The tour is a great experience we agree, a wonderful way to get a taste of the island.
We wish you the best and hope to see you all again.
Warm regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Great resort albeit a little bit isolated from town (Port Vila) although this was exasperated by the significant roadworks going on at the time. Execellent Location, facilities and staff. Good value package which included tours, massages and most meals (which were great from a resident French chef (?).

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank tdecourcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews