We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Villas(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Hotel And Casino(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$131
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Bungalows Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$147
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocomo Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$228
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Iririki Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)
US$248
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
146
40
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
40
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco de mermele bayself containedthe managersfishbeach barwashing powderwet n wilddevils pointgreat jettysmoked marlinbedroom bathroomhire caraway from the hustle and bustlesalad wrapcoconut prawnswell equipped kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 191 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2011

LOCATION: I do agree with kab00ki’s review of this resort. Its location is off the beaten track. If you choose to stay here, you are quite depended upon using a taxi. It is difficult to get transportation to the city centre in the evening. Getting back to the resort is also a hassle late at night. The manager, Jane, can arrange transportation to and from the airport using the Melanesian Tours.
HOTEL: Big and well furnished huts. I had a two-bedroom, two-bathroom hut with an open kitchen, living room and balcony facing the ocean. One of the bedrooms has clearly not been used for a while and the undersides of the pillows are moldy, sticky and humid.
CONCLUSION: Nice resort. The manager is friendly and capable, so is her husband. There is no restaurant at this resort. Hence if you do not mind do you own cooking while in Vanutu this is a place for you. There is a restaurant at the nearby resort, which is a five minute walk away. Walking there in evening with a hand-winding torch is an adventure in itself and please beware of the dogs. If you prefer to dine out, I would recommend staying closer to Port Vila, such as the Iririki Island Resort where a small, free ferry runs on a regular interval and the ride takes less than five minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorttricks, Manager at Island Magic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

Unfortunately HKasyouare and kab00ki seemed to be unaware of the location of Island Magic Resort prior to booking. I do apologise to them for any misunderstandings as to facilities and location of our beautiful resort.
As stated on our web site we are 15 minutes by car or bus from Port Vila town and 10 minutes from the international airport. We take an exit off the main Island rd to travel 2 kms along a coral road that parallels the shores of Mele Bay. Stunning ocean views on your left and glorious mountain views on the right. Then you arrive at 18 fully appointed units, 90 metres of ocean front all wrapped up in beautiful landscaped gardens, pathways and green undulating lawns.
Again I apologise to HKasyouare and kab00ki for not making it easier to understand exactly what Island Magic Resort offers. We will look at our website and our other advertising mediums and endeavour to make it plainer for our potential visitors.
However the current website and wholesalers we use (within their limitations) do state our distance from town and airport and do describe us as fully self contained apartments with no restaurant on site offered. We have tried to make this as clear as possible. In addition we have described local eating places with the compendium in the apartments giving more details. We might not have all the facilities a large multinational resort has but we do have the following –
Wireless internet access, 5 Aus TV channels, jetty, petanque court, 2 BBQs, swimming pool, BYO bar, and fridge, oceanfront deck and jetty, snorkelling equip, book exchange, free dvds, free pushbikes, tour bookings, transport arrangements, airport pickups, babysitting, small shop for essential supplies 24 hr security, guest car-parking and friendly and helpful staff.
We arrange shopping trips for our guests and all the apartments have everything in them from washing machines to gladwrap and alfoil.
We are set up as a resort for our guests to enjoy our beautiful environment, to relax at their own speed, and to appreciate our stunning surroundings. 2009 and 2010 saw Island Magic Resort win best self contained accommodation in Vanuatu. Surely this speaks for itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2011

As others have noted, Vanuatu is not Hawaii, and Vila is not Noumea. While there are some posh big hotels and resorts around the small city, the quieter, more expansive resorts around Mele Bay bring you closer to the real Vanuatu and its wonderful people.
Attending a church conference from Australia, hosted by our new good friends of the Mele Presbyterian Church, I expected to be near something like a small town, with all the facilities that implies... in Australia. Mele is a village - one of the larger ones, sure, but for shops, services, and most entertainment, you need to go into Port Vila. The sealed road goes to Mele Village but not all the way to the resorts on the west coast of Mele Bay. Our local minibus driver, Keith, explained that while the road had been graded two weeks before, a week of solid rain had then washed much of the repairs into the sea (5-10 metres away). We spent the week skilfully negotiating potholes, puddles, ditches and local people on a road we came to know extremely well!
From the front gate of the Island Magic Resort, all that changed again. Level crushed coral paths meander through beautiful gardens (thanks Joe and team) to a series of well-appointed, comfortable bungalows facing the bay. My colleague and I shared a bungalow with two ensuite bedrooms, comfortable king size beds, and the necessary ceiling fans throughout. Kitchen, laundrette, dining and lounge rooms with TV were supplemented by the lovely verandah, perfect for breakfast. Australian managers David and Jane were always a great help with suggestions, bookings, emergency provisions, and occasionally a lift into Vila. Thanks guys!
Others have commented warmly on the facilities: suffice it to say that everything worked perfectly - hot water, electricity, the stove and washer, iron and fan. TV reception was a bit dodgy, consisting of a few regional Australian channels broadcasting 'live' (i.e. one hour behind Vanuatu time) - but Vanuatu is not there so you can watch Australian TV! Take some DVDs. To my observation, the bungalows and gardens are newer and better appointed than Benjor or Tara Beach, and definitely a step up from Hideaway Island (but Hideaway is a different sort of experience.) The only critical difference is that Island Magic has no restaurant.
Food: The nearest restaurant is about 10 minutes walk up the road at Benjor, and others are not far away. Island Magic bungalows have fully functional kitchens and all you need to cook and eat with, but you will need to get some provisions on your way in, esp. for breakfast. I suggest you email Jane before you come, to get some advice on where and how to do that. It's never easy straight off the plane; but your driver will be able to take you via an 'Au Bon Marche' supermarket. The resort also has a great BBQ area, with sauces and tools all there.
Swimming: I went for a dive off Hideaway Island, which Jane organised for me from the I.M. office. It wasn't a great day for visibility, though fun. However I saw much more sea life, for free, with my snorkel and fins straight off the jetty at I.M. I snorkelled the entire west side of Mele Bay, almost from the black sand beach in the north to near the atoll at Tara Beach resort at the south-western end, as well as the western side of Hideaway Island, and though Hideaway came close (once you get away from their dead beach and pointless underwater post office thingy), nothing beat the 100 metres or so outside Island Magic and its immediate northern neighbour. There is a vast array of live coral and every kind of fish, including two different giant clams (sorry, you have to find them yourself). Most days the water was very still, but when there's a swell or surge you need to be very careful getting back up the stainless steel ladder to the jetty. The concrete ramp is very slippery, and could be scrubbed down or water-blasted at low tide, as it would be a much safer and easier option for some people.
DO NOT MISS A TRIP TO THE CASCADES! Entrance VUV 1500 each (about $15), and stay all afternoon swimming, relaxing, climbing, chilling at the cocktail bar or cafe. Wear crocs or similar shoes you can get wet, not thongs. The rocks are not slippery, but sometimes hard on the feet. The grass can be muddy and slippery. But these waterfalls are the most magnificent playthings ever. Go on, get right under!
Transport: Sure, you can hire a car, but be prepared for island driving. They drive on the right - sometimes - depending on where the potholes and people are. On the unsealed roads, you GO SLO or risk disaster. People wave to you - be nice, wave back. Local buses are 14-seater minibuses and the fares are modest, and depend on whether the driver has come out specially for you, or has a full bus, and how far you are going, or if it's late. The ni-Vanuatu people will go out of their way to accommodate you. Talk to them, get to know them, and your visit will be made.

Room Tip: Talk nicely to Jane!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RevPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2011

if you are after accommodation that is off the beaten track and looking for some seclusion then this is the place for you. You will need to grab some groceries on your way in as there is nothing in terms of facilities at the resort - it is very self contained. The resort can organise transfers from the airport and they can drop into the supermarket on the way. We were not aware of just how secluded it was here and so was not prepared for the stop at the supermarket. There is a resort 10 minutes walk up the road that has a restaurant, which while a little expensive was a delicious meal. There is a great reef off the end of the jetty which was where we spent a lot of time and the cascade waterfalls is walking distance away (20-30 min stroll). The people running the resort are very friendly and do all they can to accommodate you. The apartment is clean but I think the one we stayed in had not been used in a while so there was a very stale smell to everything. Generally, the resort was not what I was expecting, and if I was to stay in vanuatu again I would stay out on one of the islands - maybe iririki or erakor. One thing being out here is we have had the chance to see the real vanuatu as the bus driver took a few detours through the local villages and around the town etc

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kab00ki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Had a wonderful time at the resort, a special mention to Joe (the gardener and unofficial PR man)and his "cousin" Keith who was our main bus driver..the resort has the best snorkeling.... far better than Hideaway Island, the only downfall is the distance from town, a hire care is the only answer if you dont like waiting for buses etc.. the food up the road at the War Horse Saloon was great as was the meal at Benjors.. Jane and David were always there to help and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2011

As a couple visiting Vanuatu with the purpose of moving there, we spoke to lots of people with questions and details we thought we needed to know. David and Jane, the managers at the resort , were always ready to answer any questions we had and we found them very helpful. The resort is very well run by them with spotless rooms, linen changed every four days, and the bungalows are very well supplied with everything you could possibly want even down to a supply of clothes washing powder. It is a 20 minute drive into Port Vila therefore a hire car is recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jow64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews