We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Simply the Best "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Magic Resort
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Have Just returned from 10 wonderful nights at Island Magic resort . We were in bungalow 16 the decor and the set up of the bungalow was exactly what you see on the brochure advertisment " Excellent ". (unlike some others ) Plenty of room to move and very very clean.The kitchen has everything you require and more. It was just perfect if you wanted to eat at home rather than going out each night for tea.Each bedroom had their own bathroom and a large washing machine to do washing if required.
The meat supplies from the reception was fantastic as was anything else you required.( Bread ,Milk etc) Jane and David were the perfect hosts and nothing was a bother to them at anytime when you asked for assistance in booking day trips or just to organise a bus to take you into town.
Being alittle out of town which didn't bother us (only 15 mins by bus ) we had Keith as our bus driver on quite a few occassions and as it turned out his father in-law worked with my husband when they worked together for the ANZ Bank back in 1982 in Vanuatu. So with finding this out by accident there was a great reunion when Keith took us around to his father in-laws village and caught up on old times together. "Fantastic"
IMR is very quiet and serene , the views from the bungalow looking out over the water is so relaxing and peaceful , listening to the small rolling waves on the shore line and the slight breeze was just perfect.Feeding the fish off the pier was great and the snorkling is fantastic seeing so many beautiful fish there. The resort pool is a good size for the resort as it was never crowded in fact the most people I saw in the pool at one time was 4.Very clean and well maintained by Joe.
We ate a few times at the resort down the road The Benjor Beach Club and the prices were great not over the top and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Loved every miniute there and would like to thank Jane and David for a most relaxing and memorable holiday.
Would recommend this to families or couples just wanting to get away and have a peaceful time.
Thank you Gail and Kent. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow looking out over the water
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Island Magic Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

One week wasn't enough! Excellent self contained bungalows. Everything you need. A little out of Port Vila but we preferred this as we had a car. The snorkelling was fantasic. Try the War Horse Saloon (on the road to Port Vila) for dinner too! Great fun atmosphere. Would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

If you want self contained but with a tropical feel this is the place! Nice bungalows, swimming pool, fantastic snorkeling, BBQ, but it is a little out of town so we hired a car (but you can arrange a bus as well) staff very friendly, bungalows clean. Loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We had a week at Island Magic in Bungalow Number One. It has one bedroom where all the others have two. You get a great location, wonderful accommodation and great snorkelling. The local Mele people work here and they are happy to take you to their village(thanks Joe) or as with Keith our trusty bus driver, help us to understand his life, meet his family and reliably transport us anywhere we needed to go. (even waited for me at the airport for more than an hour)

It is great to be able to sit out on the balcony and eat your own breakfast and the resort provides barbecue facilities for people to use. I think two couples travelling would have great fun here or a big group. Each have their own bathroom and then can connect to cook. Benjor, a bigger resort is right next door and you can walk there each night or morning for catered meals. There are even torches to make sure you get there safely. Having said this, as a couple we had great fun. People say the pool is small but each time we used it we were the only ones and it is perfectly fine, not a resort size but for a swim or dip absolutely fine.

Island Magic Resort is 15 minutes away from Port Vila. However, the majority of attractions are much closer by. Hideaway Island, The Cascades, Tanna Coffee are all within walking distance as is the most beautiful snorkelling which is just outside your bungalow.

Thanks to Jane and David for our memorable trip from trip information to providing rissoles for tea.

Room Tip: Bungalow One is great for couples
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here years ago when Island Magic only had a few Bungalows, we loved it then and we love it even more now! The Bungalows are self contained and very comfortable, there is Incredible snorkeling right in front of the Bungalows, would love to try and dive it when we come back and we will be back! They also have a swimming pool which was great for our toddler. The sunsets are amazing, loved just sitting out on our deck each evening listening to the waves and watching the fire flies! The most amazing waterfall is not far away, horse riding on the beach which for me was the high lite of the trip, village tours and there is a nice restaurant just down the road called Benjor, its a nice walk with jungle on one side and ocean on the other. The staff really made us feel welcome and were amazing with our son, they can also organise baby sitting if you need. Would highly recommend this place if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the bigger resorts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

An ideal relaxing resort in the laid back Mele Bay area of Vanuatu.

Units are well appointed, serviced and staff are oblidging.

Excellent BBQ facilities and pool.

We had fun snorkelling off the deck and feeding the fish.

Would highly recommend for a quiet and relaxing seaside holiday.

Room Tip: Request a waterfront room if available to enjoy the rolling waves day and night
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolman981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We (my husband and kids, 8 and 10, and myself) stayed in one of the spacious and very clean bungalows at Island Magic in October 2011 for 9 days. Even though we had our doubts about the distance from the resort to Port Vila (abount 15 minutes by car), we booked a bungalow and never regretted it. We did rent a car for the duration of our stay, which cost us around 400 AUD. In hindsight we could have booked many a taxi for that amount of money. The manager is willing to call you one anytime and they will generally take 15 mins max to come to the resort. The bungalows are everything you hope to find in the tropics, with spacious rooms (both bedrooms with ensuite), fully equipped kitchen and large verandah, all looking brandnew. The pool is small but the kids had enormous fun anyway. Snorkeling off the jetty is definitely worth doing also and the staff on the site are always friendly and helpful. We'd love to return there someday. Too bad it's on the other side of the world from where we live.

Room Tip: stayed in bungalow 17, which is not right on the ocean edge but we'd reeeaaally love to have bre...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukimyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
11.0 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
10.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
679 reviews
0.7 km away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
11.3 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
495 reviews
11.7 km away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Resort

Address: Devils Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $133 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Magic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with self-contained apartment accommodation with ocean views, tropical gardens, guest bbq areas, swimming pool, and jetty to access spectacular snorkeling. Ideal for wedding and family groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Island Magic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Hotel Port Vila
Island Magic Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing