We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for active people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Magic Resort
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We just came back from staying a week at Island Magic. The location is great. It's away from the town, which we thought was good, and close to Mele Cascades, Hideaway island and Black sandy beach. There is no sandy beach in the resort but snorkeling from the jetty is fantastic. Sometimes though the water was too choppy due to strong wind so getting in and out of water was dangerous. On such days we went to the nearby Black sandy beach for a swim. It's a 5-10 minute walk down the road. From our experience there are not many sandy beaches in Efate island, so having that beach nearby is very lucky. Our bungalow was perfect for a family with a child, very spacious, clean and 'as new'. Relieve managers Brian and Anne were very helpful and friendly, as well as the staff and locals. There are 2 BBQ areas at the resort and BBQ facilities are in the great state. There are a few restaurants around, the closest is about 5-10 minutes of walking, couple of them are a bit further, within a short bus ride. We liked War Horse saloon with it's beer brewery and Beach Bar that has fire show each Friday. We would strongly recommend Island Magic for your next holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theVadims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Island Magic Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent 5 nights in villa 1. Temporary managers Brian and Anne were extremely helpful with information about getting around, getting supplies and the local attractions. The villas are very spacious with a nice feel and well equipped with everything you need. The BBQ pavillion is also great.

The waterside location is very picturesque and relaxing even when it rains (or should I say pours) every day !! Snorkelling and feeding the fish from the jetty were still however a daily routine.

The resort is out of town but you can readily get a bus into town to get food from the supermarket. You do rely on the managers to ring for the bus and know where to get things from. Also, there isnt much in town to see and the restaurants/cafes are fairly limited and not cheap.

Mele Cascades are not far away and definitely a must.

Overall the resort appeared to us a prime spot to be on the island.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HolidayJill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 7 night stay at Island Magic. We were a family group of five and were very comfortable in villa 13 which was close to the pool and had a great view from the front patio which we regulsrly enjoyed.
The villas are very well appointed, both bedrooms in ours had ensuites, there was a full kitchen as well as TV and video (there is a book nd video library in reception). The grounds are lovely and for us the real plus was that there is great snorkelling off the jetty right out the front, we wiled away a fair bit of time in the water, or feeding the fish from the jetty.
The thing that really made our trip was the managers Brian and Anne, they were very generous with insights into their life in Vanuatu as well as advice on attractions and help with organising buses, tours and a hire car for a couple of days.
As a number of reviewers have noted Island Magic is a bit out of town but in my view Port Vila is probably not the ideal place to be staying in Vanuatu. Island Magic is also very close to the Mele Maat Cascades and Hideaway Island and if you do the Coongoola Cruise (recommend it) you are last picked up and first dropped off so less time in the bus!!
I would recommend Island Magic without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarblingMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Wow! We decide to spend 9 nights at Island Magic. We were a bit worried as it seemed quite a way out of town. It is but is still easily accessible by "bus". We hired a car which worked out wonderfully but do be careful who you hire from. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean, tidy, attractive, and filled with just about any amenity you might ever require. The pool is small but perfectly formed. There is no beach but you can snorkel on amazing reef accessible from a wooden jetty. We left Island Magic feeling like we 'd had a relaxing getaway from everything..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherryTartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

If you are into self-contained accomodation and plan a trip to Vanuatu, this is your best choice in my opinion. the resort is run by the nice managers Jane and David who take care of all your needs. They arrange everything for you, from the local bus pick-ups, tour trips, diving packages etc.

The resort is well-equiped, cosy and seems to be quite new. You can stay on the nice verandas, enjoy the pool or have a swim in the sea. A coral garden is just in front of the hotel beach (be cautious: no sandy beach running into the water but rocks/small cliffs) and offers great views for snorklers.

To get to Port vila, the capital, it takes you approx 4 AUD and 25 minutes with the local busses. The road is bumpy on some spots but the rides with the friendly drivers are nice happenings.

One thing you should be aware of is that there is only one restaurant within walking distance (approx 15 minutes) and that is not a cheap one (but delicious!). So, if you don't mind cooking in your holiday and want a retreat, beautiful spot with nice bungalows, go for this one!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huibuh666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at island Magic Resort and we recommend that everyone stay here.

The bungalow was fabulous and located right in front of the ocean. The whole place is so peaceful and tranquil and Jane and David are such lovely and informative hosts. The bungalows are set among a vast beautiful tropical garden that opens up to the ocean. The coral reef here is one of the best on the island - better than Hideaway - so daily snorkeling is a must! There is also a lovely pool in the main area which is adjacent to the big BBQ facilities. There is an additional BBQ on the decking area which is right on the ocean front.

The resort is approximately 15 minutes drive away from town but public transport is not a problem. Simply catch a bus for approximately 400 vatu each way (about $4 AUD). There is no restaurant at the resort however the bungalows are self-contained. We bought our groceries from the fruit and vegetable market and the meat from the supermarket and enjoyed home cooked meals most nights. Also, there is a lovely restaurant called "Benjor" situated 5 minutes walking distance from the resort. Coffee is pricey at this restaurant but the food is lovely. The coffee plantation called "Tana Coffee" is about 10 minutes walk the other way. The Beach Bar which is approximately 10 minutes bus ride or 30 minute walk is a fantastic venue for drinks and a meal. If you don't fancy walking that far or catching a bus, you can borrow a couple of push bikes from Jane and David.

The bungalow we stayed in was very spacious (2 bedrooms) and had a large fully-equipped kitchen. There is no airconditioning but plenty of fans and the ventillation is very good. We always felt sufficiently cool even though it was monsoon season and the humidity outside was high. The furnishings were nice and there is also a verandah out the front to enjoy the view.

Highly recommended!

Jo and Jaymie

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Have Just returned from 10 wonderful nights at Island Magic resort . We were in bungalow 16 the decor and the set up of the bungalow was exactly what you see on the brochure advertisment " Excellent ". (unlike some others ) Plenty of room to move and very very clean.The kitchen has everything you require and more. It was just perfect if you wanted to eat at home rather than going out each night for tea.Each bedroom had their own bathroom and a large washing machine to do washing if required.
The meat supplies from the reception was fantastic as was anything else you required.( Bread ,Milk etc) Jane and David were the perfect hosts and nothing was a bother to them at anytime when you asked for assistance in booking day trips or just to organise a bus to take you into town.
Being alittle out of town which didn't bother us (only 15 mins by bus ) we had Keith as our bus driver on quite a few occassions and as it turned out his father in-law worked with my husband when they worked together for the ANZ Bank back in 1982 in Vanuatu. So with finding this out by accident there was a great reunion when Keith took us around to his father in-laws village and caught up on old times together. "Fantastic"
IMR is very quiet and serene , the views from the bungalow looking out over the water is so relaxing and peaceful , listening to the small rolling waves on the shore line and the slight breeze was just perfect.Feeding the fish off the pier was great and the snorkling is fantastic seeing so many beautiful fish there. The resort pool is a good size for the resort as it was never crowded in fact the most people I saw in the pool at one time was 4.Very clean and well maintained by Joe.
We ate a few times at the resort down the road The Benjor Beach Club and the prices were great not over the top and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Loved every miniute there and would like to thank Jane and David for a most relaxing and memorable holiday.
Would recommend this to families or couples just wanting to get away and have a peaceful time.
Thank you Gail and Kent. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow looking out over the water
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
11.0 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
10.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
681 reviews
0.7 km away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
11.3 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
496 reviews
11.7 km away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Resort

Address: Devils Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $133 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Magic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with self-contained apartment accommodation with ocean views, tropical gardens, guest bbq areas, swimming pool, and jetty to access spectacular snorkeling. Ideal for wedding and family groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Island Magic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Hotel Port Vila
Island Magic Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing