We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel And Casino(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$131
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tradewinds Villas(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunset Bungalows Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cocomo Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$148
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$228
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
146
40
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
40
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco de mermele bayself containedthe managersfishbeach barwashing powderwet n wilddevils pointgreat jettysmoked marlinbedroom bathroomhire caraway from the hustle and bustlesalad wrapcoconut prawnswell equipped kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 191 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We spent 5 nights in villa 1. Temporary managers Brian and Anne were extremely helpful with information about getting around, getting supplies and the local attractions. The villas are very spacious with a nice feel and well equipped with everything you need. The BBQ pavillion is also great.

The waterside location is very picturesque and relaxing even when it rains (or should I say pours) every day !! Snorkelling and feeding the fish from the jetty were still however a daily routine.

The resort is out of town but you can readily get a bus into town to get food from the supermarket. You do rely on the managers to ring for the bus and know where to get things from. Also, there isnt much in town to see and the restaurants/cafes are fairly limited and not cheap.

Mele Cascades are not far away and definitely a must.

Overall the resort appeared to us a prime spot to be on the island.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HolidayJill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 7 night stay at Island Magic. We were a family group of five and were very comfortable in villa 13 which was close to the pool and had a great view from the front patio which we regulsrly enjoyed.
The villas are very well appointed, both bedrooms in ours had ensuites, there was a full kitchen as well as TV and video (there is a book nd video library in reception). The grounds are lovely and for us the real plus was that there is great snorkelling off the jetty right out the front, we wiled away a fair bit of time in the water, or feeding the fish from the jetty.
The thing that really made our trip was the managers Brian and Anne, they were very generous with insights into their life in Vanuatu as well as advice on attractions and help with organising buses, tours and a hire car for a couple of days.
As a number of reviewers have noted Island Magic is a bit out of town but in my view Port Vila is probably not the ideal place to be staying in Vanuatu. Island Magic is also very close to the Mele Maat Cascades and Hideaway Island and if you do the Coongoola Cruise (recommend it) you are last picked up and first dropped off so less time in the bus!!
I would recommend Island Magic without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarblingMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Wow! We decide to spend 9 nights at Island Magic. We were a bit worried as it seemed quite a way out of town. It is but is still easily accessible by "bus". We hired a car which worked out wonderfully but do be careful who you hire from. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean, tidy, attractive, and filled with just about any amenity you might ever require. The pool is small but perfectly formed. There is no beach but you can snorkel on amazing reef accessible from a wooden jetty. We left Island Magic feeling like we 'd had a relaxing getaway from everything..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherryTartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you are into self-contained accomodation and plan a trip to Vanuatu, this is your best choice in my opinion. the resort is run by the nice managers Jane and David who take care of all your needs. They arrange everything for you, from the local bus pick-ups, tour trips, diving packages etc.

The resort is well-equiped, cosy and seems to be quite new. You can stay on the nice verandas, enjoy the pool or have a swim in the sea. A coral garden is just in front of the hotel beach (be cautious: no sandy beach running into the water but rocks/small cliffs) and offers great views for snorklers.

To get to Port vila, the capital, it takes you approx 4 AUD and 25 minutes with the local busses. The road is bumpy on some spots but the rides with the friendly drivers are nice happenings.

One thing you should be aware of is that there is only one restaurant within walking distance (approx 15 minutes) and that is not a cheap one (but delicious!). So, if you don't mind cooking in your holiday and want a retreat, beautiful spot with nice bungalows, go for this one!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huibuh666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at island Magic Resort and we recommend that everyone stay here.

The bungalow was fabulous and located right in front of the ocean. The whole place is so peaceful and tranquil and Jane and David are such lovely and informative hosts. The bungalows are set among a vast beautiful tropical garden that opens up to the ocean. The coral reef here is one of the best on the island - better than Hideaway - so daily snorkeling is a must! There is also a lovely pool in the main area which is adjacent to the big BBQ facilities. There is an additional BBQ on the decking area which is right on the ocean front.

The resort is approximately 15 minutes drive away from town but public transport is not a problem. Simply catch a bus for approximately 400 vatu each way (about $4 AUD). There is no restaurant at the resort however the bungalows are self-contained. We bought our groceries from the fruit and vegetable market and the meat from the supermarket and enjoyed home cooked meals most nights. Also, there is a lovely restaurant called "Benjor" situated 5 minutes walking distance from the resort. Coffee is pricey at this restaurant but the food is lovely. The coffee plantation called "Tana Coffee" is about 10 minutes walk the other way. The Beach Bar which is approximately 10 minutes bus ride or 30 minute walk is a fantastic venue for drinks and a meal. If you don't fancy walking that far or catching a bus, you can borrow a couple of push bikes from Jane and David.

The bungalow we stayed in was very spacious (2 bedrooms) and had a large fully-equipped kitchen. There is no airconditioning but plenty of fans and the ventillation is very good. We always felt sufficiently cool even though it was monsoon season and the humidity outside was high. The furnishings were nice and there is also a verandah out the front to enjoy the view.

Highly recommended!

Jo and Jaymie

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews