We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restuarant in Port Vila”

The Blue Marlin Club
Ranked #1 of 103 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Description: We are a Restaurant & Bar but we also cater for events and parties, we are open for Lunch & Dinner and our bar is open all day. We have the Best views in town and over look the harbour, Irriki Island and beyond. We are kid friendly and have a pool that our guests are welcome to use. We pride ourselves on our friendly service and going the extra mile for our customers
Restaurant details
Description: We are a Restaurant & Bar but we also cater for events and parties, we are open for Lunch & Dinner and our bar is open all day. We have the Best views in town and over look the harbour, Irriki Island and beyond. We are kid friendly and have a pool that our guests are welcome to use. We pride ourselves on our friendly service and going the extra mile for our customers
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was delicious.4 of us dined at night we all chose something different and each dish was better than the next
The atmosphere wonderful
The views sensational

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 117gloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattL3948, GM / Head Chef at The Blue Marlin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Gloria
Thanks for your Great Review and Voting us the Best Restaurant in Port Vila
we do indeed have great views and a wonderful atmosphere
I will be sure to share your review with the team
Culinary Regards
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This truly was our most treasured meal and dining experience whilst staying for 9 days in Vanuatu. It was also NOT the most expensive. The service we had was warming, friendly and encouraging. I wasn't sure about some of the things on the menu and asked questions and everything was explained throughly and hence enjoyed some things I never would have tried before like Crunchy Shuit Shuit tops with nori Salt= delicious-similar to Kale flash fried. The caramelised scallops and chorizo were delicious and was sufficient for me as a main even though an entree size. My husband enjoyed the Seafood risotto. We shared and enjoyed a dessert that we cannot remember but by the photo we took was polished off clean. All in all an extremely lovely and memorable night with lovely personable staff and a relaxed friendly environment that was more up market than any other we visited in Vanuatu. Highly recommend for Vanuatu standards. If we ever go back to Vanuatu I absolutely would be visiting here again, no doubt. Best of luck for future business, you deserve to be Numberwan restaurant #1. Thankyou for a great dining experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattL3948, GM / Head Chef at The Blue Marlin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Lan05
Thanks for Voting us "The Best Dining Experience in Vanuatu" Delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us, and happy to that the Team were able to explain some of Vanuatu's unique ingredients
I will be sure to share your review with the team and Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Port Vila
Culinary Regards
Matt & The Blue marlin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of dining at Blue Marlin last night, and it was a refreshingly enjoyable dining experience. We’re big foodies and had been underwhelmed by the price and quality of meals elsewhere in Port Vila so far that are well reviewed, but the Blue Marlin was great.
Slightly apprehensive at fine dining with a 3.5 month in tow (though she typically does well in restaurants), we couldn’t have had a better experience. We dined early and the staff went above and beyond, making up a “bed” for our baby next to the table in case she wanted to rest and offering to hold our baby whilst we enjoyed our meal without us requesting. In fact, it was almost a challenge to get her back haha (we’ve found most locals genuinely seem to enjoy babies/children).
As for the food and drink, the prices were fair for the quality on offer, the service was warm and professional comparatively to other Port Vila restaurants. The dishes were tasty, restrained and had flavours which belonged together. Looking forward to returning before we go home.
Thank you Blue Marlin team for a lovely night.
Pictures included of prawn entree, seafood risotto, beef cheek and dessert tasting platter.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TalithaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattL3948, Head Chef / GM at The Blue Marlin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Talitha
Thanks for your Great Review of the BMC and Happy that you were happy with your experience
Its great the way Ni Vanuatu's are so family orientated and love to steal everyone's Kids
Hope to see you again soon before you return
I will be sure to share your reviews with the team
Culinary Regards
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a misadventure trying to eat at another restaurant that wasn’t open, we decided to hedge our bets on a Monday night and catch a bus here. So glad we did. The staff were very accommodating and helped us get comfortable after a rain soaked afternoon. They even went as far as getting an arm chair set up for a make shift bed for our 3 month old.

To the food- we started with the coconut prawns for an entree to share. We should have ordered 2 of them as the prawns were juicy, and the coconut coating was tasty.

For mains we ordered the seafood risotto and the beef cheeks. The risotto came with baby squid, salmon, clams, prawns and was delicious. The beef cheeks were cooked to perfection, and I mean perfection. The portion sizes are very reasonable.

We ended the night with the daily special of a tasting platter for two consisting of 4 different desserts which by then we were quite full.

The service is very friendly, as they offered to babysit our daughter while we ate. Overall meal cost around 11,000 Vatu with 2 glasses of wine.

Favourite restaurant in Port Vila so far

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nathan_Eatsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattL3948, Head Chef / GM at The Blue Marlin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Nathan
Thanks for your 5* Review glad you enjoyed all thinks BMC, especially the Beef Cheeks which are my personal favorite
I will be sure to share your comments with the Team, Hope to see you back again soon
Culinary Regards
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the foods, the ambiance and the staff. They went out of their way to accommodate my requests for my friend’s birthday! They respond to email and call, too. It’s rare for me to find these kind of service.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coastal256302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattL3948, Head Chef / GM at The Blue Marlin Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi
Thanks for your wonderful review of the Blue Marlin Club, so glad you loved the food and service, and glad that we could make your friends birthday a memorable one
I will be sure to share your reviews with the Team
Culinary Regards
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Marlin Club also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Marlin Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing