We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome location”
other travellers have booked this property
What a way to start the day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
What a way to start the day
Evenings for entertaining Sun loungers and hammocks - perfect
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
What a way to start the day
Evenings for entertaining
Sun loungers and hammocks - perfect
Come join us.
Gourmet Kicthen
This is your aspect everyday in paradise
Our actual front gate and beach. Perfect for sunset walks
Private gated property
Large Tropical grounds
Large internal living areas
Open plan dining/kitchen
The pull out nook
Tasteful design
Gorgeous coconut hardwood furniture
infinity pool
daybed fare, great napping
Outdoor showers after that sea dip
privacy assured
our beach front
outdoor dining area
entertainers delight at night
Master Bedroom
Guest room
ensuite
balcony off guest room 1
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Port Vila, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark D
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

on my return visit to casa der ma,with my family 7 adults 2 children ,we had a fantastic time at this fabulous property,regretted not bringing my surf casting rod as I reckon the fishing off the beach would be great,would recommend dining at tamanu [next door]and ripples a couple of kms down the road,both excellent.enjoyed the blue lagoon and zip lining was awesome,turtle sanctuary best at high tide and you need cash ,le lagoon great place to take kids for swim and lunch ,also iriki and hideaway worth visiting,the weather was superb as was casa der ma enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza B
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa de Mar for 9 nights with 5 adults and 5 children (aged 6 mths to 13).
We were greeted on arrival by Craig the owner and shown through the property. Amazing first impression. Clean, fresh flowers, clean yard, sparkling pool, stocked fridge and pantry. The have a rotating pantry system. You leave what you buy and don't take anything home. The house is big enough for everyone to have their own piece and quiet and you don't feel on top of each other. There were a few minor maintenance issues with the property such as faulty lights and door handles falling off. The tv didn't work the whole time which in the end was great because it forced the kids to play outside. The main toilet blocked several times but was attended to promptly by the house staff. We also experienced a power blackout and no water for 12 hours which was interesting. That was also attended to promptly by the owner glen and we were back online. It made our stay exciting.
The best thing about our stay was having the complimentary car. It was fantastic to be able to do our own thing and we got to see the whole island. The location of casa de mar is an easy but bumpy 20 min drive into port Vila. The location s amazing with a beautiful beach and swimming holes at the front door. Exploring Vanuatu was so easy with a vehicle.
The staff at casa de mar are excellent. Asnet and Wendy helped us so much, especially with the kids. they are more than happy to help with any aspect of the house.
The pool area and the hammocks are so nice to relax in. The kids loved the rock pools out the front and swimming at low tide.
I highly recommend casa de mar for a stay in Vanuatu. For a group it is ideal and I don't know if I could stay in a resort again after staying in a rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: The blocked toilets
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Thanks for the lovely review and choosing to stay with us.

We apologise for the power outage, the power company have replaced their faulty roadside switch.

Glad you had a great time.

Cheers

Glen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David B
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tu meke”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

O for awesome Thanks to Glen for allowing us to share his slice of paradise. To Asnet, Philip and Seth thankyou for taking care of us, be it having the house inside and out cleaned daily to the trip around the island, it didn't seem to be a problem.The wealth of knowledge about the island and people we got from the three of you was invaluable.We were a family of 6 and with the size of the house and property we were able to find our own space and if that wasn't enough there was a deserted white sand beach as far as you could see both ways.The house was equipped with everything you needed if you wanted to do nothing which is what a holiday is all about. The trip into Port Villa, pot holes, left hand drive 4x4 that was provided,and driving on the right hand side of the road helped make the holiday an experience to be shared with others.We would recommend Ripples for a meal either lunch or dinner, both were superb.We found the locals friendly and they were always prepared to offer a wave and a genuine smile when you drove past and were happy to chat if you stopped to give them a lift. We all agreed that we would love to return to Vanuatu and Casa De Mar again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ample room top chill
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca G
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday for a family. Perfect accommodation!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It was our first trip to Vanuatu, and it was spectacular. Casa de Mar was superb for us with two adults and 4 young children. The location was so secluded and private. The only people we saw on the beach the entire stay was a group of local kids having a Sunday School picnic, and our kids played with them for about 2 hours. It was fab. The snorkelling on the beach at low tide is beautiful. Lots of gorgeous fish in the rock pools and the kids loved it!! The pool and backyard was fantastic and so relaxing - the children spent hours catching hermit crabs and letting them go again. Wendy and Phllip showed them how to lure the crabs with coconuts and paw paw. A wonderful experience with nature. The house is so well equipped for a family with a fully equipped kitchen, BBQ, DVDs (just in case it rains) and a library of holiday reading. It is very spacious so there is always a spot to relax. Phillip, Wendy and Asnet were great with the kids, generous with bringing fruit and flowers from their gardens, and it was such a treat to have our washing done everyday. They also gave lots of tips for sight seeing. Speaking of sight seeing, having the ute was invaluable. We explored the island, saw all the tourist spots and discovered some remote spots along the way. We could also duck into town or the supermarket whenever we wished. It was great to be mobile and not have to rely on drivers. Glenn and Edmund were also extremely helpful, and great to correspond with. Seth, our driver to and from the airport was also lovely and gave us a commentary along the way. The other wonderful part about staying at Casa de Mar was Tamanu restaurant and Ripples. We especially loved Tamanu. The staff there were fab, brought colouring sets out to our children as soon as we arrived, and even showed our children the turtle eggs buried on the beach, plus it was just a short stroll up the beach. Ripples food was 10/10. The veal steak is so tender, the curry is delicious and the lobster is perfect. Just not as many kids meal options there, compared to Tamanu. We would highly recommend staying at Casa de Mar. It was great to get off the beaten track and away from the resort and cruise ship crowds, for privacy, relaxation and time together. We truly relaxed, explored, and had a fun time as a family. It was a perfect holiday. Our only regret if that we didn't stay longer….can't wait to go back. Thank you to Gl

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally H
Alexandra Headland, Australia
1 review
“The greatest place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This spacious house truly does have everything you need and more. Loved having the expresso machine in a fully equipped kitchen. We stocked up at the supermarket and local fruit/veg markets on our way home each day after sightseeing
The staff felt like part of the family they were so helpful in many ways
Our family of 7 adults and 2 little children easily fitted into this spacious home away from home.
Beautiful large gardens with lots of shade, and we had a bonus of discovering that 2 turtles had been up on our beach front.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful review Sally. We very much enjoyed having you stay at our little piece of paradise. Please come back again, the staff loved having you all stay. Glen - owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikiG367
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous position”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent 13 days in Vanuatu for our 30th wedding anniversary and wanted somewhere to stay with our family. We found this wonderful home. The position was great - we were a 10 minute stroll down the beach from a resort where we could get breakfast or dinner and 2 kilometres from Ripples - great for lunch or dinner.

We were very well cared for by Asnet, Wendy, Philip and Seth - they made our stay very memorable - nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

There were 3 couples and there was plenty of room for everyone to have their own personal space.

We were very sad to say goodbye to everyone - we will be back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$381
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing