We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Efate”

Tamanu on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With our truly breathtaking absolute beach front location , our fine dining, yet casually relaxed restaurant, is considered to be the best in Vanuatu and is renowned for its pavilion styled, open-air al fresco dining. We also offer our chapel for larger groups. Tamanu on the Beach's restaurant has earned a highly respected international reputation for delivering the most distinctive dining experience, featuring local organic meat, indigenous produce and the freshest of seafood. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner for guests and visitors, our restaurant offers quality dining at affordable prices. Bookings are recommended.
Reviewed December 24, 2017

Tamanu Beach Club has been a long favourite of ours and when we heard about the devastation caused by Cyclone Pam - we were so worried for the owners and the wonderful staff.
A new owner took the challenge when the original owners could no longer. He has added another 15 Fares (villas) swimming pool, spa and function space.
But most exciting is the return of our favourite restaurant! The most wonderful original staff members and the best Vanuatu organic beef and produce! Sensational seafood goes without saying!
This restaurant is right on Whitesands Beach and is worth the bumpy drive off the main island road.
Thank you thank you and big cheers to the wonderful new owners!

3  Thank 512carynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

Just spend 6 days at Tamanu with my husband, was the most relaxing and romantic experience! Staff are just beautiful, food is incredible! Day spa is gorgeous! And the rooms are just breathtaking! Beachfront with a small pool, we did not need to leave the resort!!!! Can not wait to go back!

Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxi D, General Manager at Tamanu on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Hi Kristina,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we know you will be back! It was wonderful it was to have you stay with us.
The staff all wish you a wonderful 2018 and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017

We stayed at Tamanu for a week in July and ate either lunch or dinner most days and I couldn't fault any meal any of us had. From the local beef to seafood and curries it was all first class and equal to any of the better restaurants in Sydney.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017

A gorgeous location and stunning all white island style venue with beautiful food and well worth the drive. We loved it.

Thank Monique456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxi D, Guest Relations Manager at Tamanu on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Hi Monique,

Thank you for your lovely comment, we like to think of ourselves as the pot of gold at the end of the pot hole road! We do hope you visit us again in the future. Tank yu tumas KeKe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

We looked at the positive Trip Advisor reviews and thought this would be a good place for lunch, however we had no idea of the remoteness of its location, the road to the resort is very long unmade up road. However when you finally get there it has immense ocean views and indeed on the beach. Restaurant is lovely with pretty décor and you feel its a place for fine dining. They of course realised that we were only there for lunch as its a small boutique resort and treat us accordingly. The waitress was reasonably friendly and would only offer us the main regular menu (the daily lunch specials for the day were not offered to us, in fact a young lad went to show us the specials board and was told to take it away pronto. This did not make for a pleasant experience for us. Would we go there again for lunch, a definite no, they were not welcoming.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamanuVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Tamanu on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Hi Scott, thanks for your review.
Yes we are 15km out of the CBD or around 20-25 mins drive
We have one comprehensive menu that includes lunch, dinner and desert. We do not offer a single lunch menu.
Whilst we are sure you dined with us, some of your review comments were not correct.
We are sorry your didn't find us to your liking, we will let our other reviews speak for ourself, we take lot of pride in ensuring our guests have amazing meals and excellent prices and feel we do this. We are sorry you didn't feel welcome, we go out of our way to make sure all guests are welcomed from all around the world.
It sounds like you were just having a bad day when you wrote your review but we are a nice little bunch out at Tamanu and you are welcome back anytime and hope your week improves. Turn that frown upside down :-)

Thanks again for taking the time to review us

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamanu on the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Tamanu on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing