We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic House”
Aerial view of the house before lap pool built
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial view of the house before lap pool built
New 12m x 3.2m fully tiled lap pool Lap pool and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
Aerial view of the house before lap pool built
New 12m x 3.2m fully tiled lap pool
Lap pool and dining area
Laimy and her mum enjoying the ocean pool
Yes - it's great in the water
Come and join us for a swim in the ocean pool
A beautiful view when you wake up
View of the house from ocean side
View of the guest and living pavillions
View to the ocean
Where most people like to have their breakfast
A great place to watch the waves or the dolphins
Some of the garden
View to the ocean from the carport
A great view!
Living pavillion balcony
BBQ off living pavillion balcony
A nice place for lunch
A courtyard surrounded by tropical leaves
A quiet spot to read your book!
Living pavillion - living and dining
Living pavillion - kitchen
Main bedroom pavillion
Main bedroom pavillion bathroom
Guest pavillion bedroom
Guest pavillion bathroom
Have a swim on the reef right near the house
Enjoy a sunrise 1
Enjoy a sunrise 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port Vila, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TimberBlu...
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fantastic House”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a week at the Bukura Beach House and we all wished it could have been longer. The house is beautifully designed, with a central living/cooking/eating/ socialising area and the sleeping pavilions seperate but connected via covered walkways. This along with the little lounge areas around the garden allows for people to have their own space if necessary. Every room has sea views which you can enjoy without even getting out of bed. The kitchen is great with a full sized fridge and dishwasher. There is no TV reception but more than enough DVD's if you feel inclined to lounge about inside. There is also radio with a few stations that play great Island music.
The weather was not kind to us with a Cat 2 Cyclone down around Fiji that provided windy conditions and a few rain squalls for 6 days, the rain was not heavy which is a shame as they really do need rain, but it's never cold so if caught in a little rain you will be dry in a few minutes when the sun pops out again.
The house has been designed to accommodate windy conditions and there is a very nice lounge area on the leeward side of the house to relax in the evening if windy. When not windy the verandah overlooking the sea would be the place to be. Unfortunately the wind made conditions too rough to snorkel off the shelf directly in front of the house which was a real shame. Last year I snorkelled off that shelf further along the bay and it was fantastic. We did use the rock pool each day for a refreshing dip shared with the resident tiny stunningly electric blue fish.
You will need to hire a vehicle, as it is a bit out of town, around 3 kms from Benjor Beach Club which has the nearest restaurant and about 6 kms from the main road. Some hire car companies insist on a 4 wheel drive if staying out on Devils Point Road, just check with them.
( I would not use World Car Rentals again, I had an issue with them when I visited in May and noted in the visitor book at the house that others have as well).
I won't list all the things you 'must do' there are way too many but one I have to slip in is the Friday night Fire Show at the Mele Beach Bar, it's not far and it is a great night, do book a table and try the wood fired Pizza especially the Melanesian! If you think banana doesn't belong on a Pizza your wrong. Both the Benjor Beach Club and The Island Magic Resort have good food and they are close. (Try the coconut prawns and smoked marlin at Island Magic). If you just want to chill out and look after yourselves, The Au Bon Marche numbatu supermarket has the best selection, excellent beef and chicken, Vanuatu beef is the best in the world, and the main markets in town have everything you need in fruit and veggies (just wash things first).
One word of advise: The water pressure and consistency in temperature will not be what you are used to at home, there isn't mains pressure, but it works and you are not in a hurry anyway.
All in all a beautiful well designed house with everything you need and our thanks to Robin for sharing it with others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from every room and listening to the sea.
Liked least: The wind.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WickBirks
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome family holiday”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We travelled with 3 children 2 x 10 year olds and a 12 year old. We found bukura beach house a great base for us all. There is plenty of space for everyone, the kitchen was well equipped, lots of dining options indoors and out. The photos are a good representation of the property. It was very clean, very well maintained and the caretaker’s live onsite. The grounds are lovely with lots of seating options. Obed and Eki keep to themselves but they were always available if we needed help or had questions.
I would high recommended hiring a car while there to get around. Some of our highlights were scuba diving on Hideaway Island with our children – introductory dive, the zipline which is on the same road as the house, Mele waterfall nearby and the Blue Lagoon. Food was expensive to buy which we expected. I would suggest taking some packaged snack food with you as well if you have children. We enjoyed two evenings at the Beach Café which is near the ramp to Hideaway Island. Tuesday night was a movie night on the beach and Friday was the Fire Dance which you should book ASAP as it was packed out and definitely worth seeing. Food there was good but mainly burgers and pizza.
There is very little evidence of March's cyclone except in some area trees have been knocked over, we also found very limited fruit but plenty of vegetables for salads etc. There is a supermarket on the way from the house towards Port Villa and one in the middle of Port Villa opposite the police station. Definitely pack some reef shoes too, a lot of the beaches have coral on them.
We would and have highly recommended Bukura Beach House to friends who are thinking of travelling to Vanuatu. This was an awesome family holiday!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the property is modern and clean
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylough19
Waikato
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We just enjoyed a weeks stay at this exceptional beach house. Out stay was enhanced by there being two lovely care takers who live on site but stayed in the background and were always on hand when needed. The house is situated on the coast with a beautiful view of the ocean and is very comfortable with high spec furnishings.. I'd recommend a four wheel drive if you stay here as Devils Point road is full of pot holes and it's a rocky ten minute ride but worth every bump. I'd certainly love to stay here again. Be aware that the trade winds blow at this time of year so sitting outside can be a bit blowy at this time. There is a rear courtyard that's sheltered for that evening glass of wine or curling up during the day with your book. There's a cute shallow coral dug out pool which is available during low tide.Take your camera, this is a picturesque spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and the location.
Liked least: Only one pillow and towel provided per person.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposa6...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Best place for a reunion”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

On Earth there are still a few pieces of paradise like this. A perfect place where the ocean meets the jungle where we ate bananas from a tree!! We also got fresh produce from the garden where the word "organic" was not even a question.
The first day I put on a mask and went on a search for hidden treasures in the coral reef.
This place is amazing, far away enough so I could feel at ease and not too far from the best touristic spots. I will definitely go back and invite my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen B
1 review
“Wonderful spot to rest, relax then use as a base to explore Vanuatu”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Bukura Beach House provided a lovely environment for us - 3 couples in their 50's. The accomm. was very good - great beds, kitchen/laundry/bathrooms more than adequate. Loved the view from all bedrooms and the living area. We walked/ran most mornings then into the 'rock pool' on the reef in front of of the house and watch the waves crash in. Breakfast, a walk on the reef to check out abundant marine life - a highlight for me! - then a trip somewhere on the island. We spent time at Mele Beach Bar (10 mins away) - Friday night Fire Show excellent! Location great - quiet but good access to island by car.
Tips - hire 4WD car & drive slowly (bad experience with local car hire co - Bukura owner knows about it!) Do Coongoola sailing, lunch at Erakor Island & at Port Havannah

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Environment, views, ambience, lovely people
Liked least: Roads - bad condition exacerbated by cyclone a few months before
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Great news - I am over in Vanuatu now and the road has recently been sorted out after being partly washed away by the cyclone and is now better than ever.Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCli...
Taupo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Bukarabeachhouse was the perfect base for our family group of parents, grandparents and grandchildren.
The layout of the house offered a wonderful combination of private and shared spaces and the extensive grounds led down to a coral rock pool complete with small fish.
Snorkelling is possible at low tide over the reef.

The local family who are on site property caretakers are delightful....there if required but non intrusive.

Unless you plan to relax at the property for the duration of your stay a four wheel vehicle is a must to explore the island....the road is being graded but still a bumpy rocky ride!

The owner Robin was very easy to deal with and made sure we had all the information and more required for our Vanuatu holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegz84
1 review
“A Beautiful place to relax at”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely stunning location. We found it so easy to relax and unwind. The house was immaculate and the gardens were beautifully manicured and the view was amazing. I Would recommend hiring a car when you land at the airport or getting one dropped off to the beach house for ease of getting around to and from Port Vila.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing