We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome for kids!”
Review of The Beach Bar

The Beach Bar
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A great place to hang out for the day. The Beach Bar is famous for its wood fire pizzas, but offers a large choice of alternatives as well. The kids just love playing on the beach with all the free water toys while Mum & Dad relax in the beer garden. Sit back and enjoy the stunning sunsets over Mele Bay whilst enjoying a cold beer or glass of wine. Keep an eye out for the special "Friday Night Fire Dancing" evenings, Tuesday Movie nights on Port Vila's biggest screen, right on the beach and our Sunday Sessions starting with live music from 1pm followed by our great new show "Sunday Kustam Karnival" where Bank's Snake Dancers meet our talented Circus Performers". Something for everyone at The Beach Bar!
Reviewed September 15, 2016

Loved this place and went back a few times from Port Vila. The clean black sand beach is safe and lovely for swimming, and our 3YO loved running along the sand and into the water with all the local kids. The location, near the ferry to Hideaway Island, was not too far from downtown PV (20 mins), and all the drivers know the location and you can get the local bus rate to Mele. Staff at the Beach Bar were great, and the pizza was good too. We never saw the fire show as it's a bit late for our kids, but we went to the circus twice and it was really fun. Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Narelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 435 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2016

Firstly, I wouldn't race back to this place for the food! It was probably one of the 2 average meals we had in our 8 days in Efate BUT its still worth visiting because the fire show is absolutely fantastic. Their drinks are really good here too and I loved the fact you could buy bottles of nice Aussie shiraz at a reasonable price. We pre booked for the Friday night fire show (which I would recommend as its busy) and ordered food as soon as we arrived. The staff were all lovely and friendly, and the wait for our food wasn't long at all. I was disappointed in the wood fired pizza though, the topping was good but the base was horrible. I ordered another meal and got the fish curry. Another person on our table got the chicken curry BUT they were basically the same. It was like they had the bland curry base with the veges, then just added the chicken or fish to it. A bit ordinary we all thought! However, my husband had burger, chips, calamari and said they were all OK. But the show is really really good so don't let this put you off!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank kiwidaisyWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

What a lovely, relaxing cafe bar on the beach! A feel-good atmosphere with great food. Staff are very friendly whilst providing very efficient service. Best of all is the unbelievable Fire Show they have there every Friday night. Not to be missed! I take my hat off to The Mele Beach Bar for giving these young Ni-Vanuatans a go and who are now performing on a full time basis with amazing, very exciting and entertaining performances. Tip....do not book a table. Instead, arrive early, around 5pm, get a seat right up the front and enjoy a pizza or another "finger food" type meal with a drink or two whilst waiting for the show to start. You will not have the comfort of sitting at a table, but you will not be sorry!!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AngelaS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Friendly staff, australian food, hambugers, pizza, fish and chips, etc.. Definitely not a real restaurant but a funny bar where you can eat. You will have to go yourself put your order at the bar but the ambiance is very good.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christian7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful place to sit ,relax and enjoy great food while the children swim, my husband and I read,talked,swam,had a cocktail as the sun set and then the amazing fire show began !! And pizza!!
The crowd arrived (book!!) and we had a wonderful night, Thankyou.
The staff where very friendly and Thankyou Roxy for all your great holiday tips! We will be back...

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank gypsysouthpacfic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing