We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday in Paradise at Breakas Beach Resort, Vanuatu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday in Paradise at Breakas Beach Resort, Vanuatu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from the most wonderful stay in paradise at Breakas Beach Resort, Vanuatu. It was my first trip to this beautiful part of the world (at my husband's recommendation from a previous visit) and hopefully not my last. The resort was nothing short of perfect. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The location was breathtaking, our "fare" would have to have been the BEST location, looking out across the sand to the ocean and the early morning surfers. The ladies who attended our room and adorned it with fresh hibiscus flowers daily, the gardeners who raked the leaves and the ladies who swept the sand from the restaurant never stopped smiling! God I love those smiles!
By the way, my greatest indulgence (apart from the Sav Blanc!) was the Wagyu beef. Finally someone knows what "blue steak" should be like!
We cannot speak too highly of Breakas, everyone do yourselves a favour and enjoy as we did!
Mary & Rod Whyte
Gladstone Qld
Australia

Room Tip: Room ("fare") 09 on the beach is the ultimate location. Wake up and look out across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    269
    78
    25
    18
See reviews for
75
668
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Fantastic to stay in a adults only resort. I love kids and have my own but find it fantastic to have peace and quiet.
Well situated 5 mins out of town right on the beach.
Nice Fare with ceiling fans and lots of cross ventiilation.Thought I would need air con but not needed as the fans ans sea breeze enough.
Especially love the open air shower,gives a real tropical feel
Whole resort very well maintained.There is a choice of the beach or pool to cool off in.
The staff are fantastic especially Rosemary and the girls at breakfast.
The resort is run by the owner George who can't do enough to make your stay a truly memorable one

Room Tip: The Fare's overlooking the water arethe best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe fare; attended the Melanesian feast/show also. Fare was lovely with gorgeous open air shower. I did not like the fact that the shutters on all 3 walls of the room were unable to be closed giving you no privacy from anyone walking past to look in and see you sleeping or whatever though. Its right on the beach with lovely views and a gorgeous pool. Food was great too. Staff were friendly and accomodating and owner George was very lovely ensuring we felt welcome and that he would do anything to make our stay great.Definitely would go back again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smallbyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was a mixed bag for us - the resort itself is nice enough, with a beautiful outlook. It's well priced and staff seem genuinely friendly and helpful.

The fale was nice - the bed was great, and the rooms were serviced regularly - although sometimes we'd not get all the necessary towels...

The garden fales are a bit of a nightmare when it comes to sleep - the nearby village dogs, the rowdy drinking and yelling sessions, the school bell (??) early in the morning left us getting less sleep than we'd like.

Breakfast was pretty average at best - the fruit was often good, but the baked good etc. were a little to be desired.

We ate in town every night and felt this better reflected our independent travel motif - the meals in the resort perhaps better suit those that like everything laid out for them and an 'experience' at every meal. We ate at Mangoes twice and far preferred the quiet, less 'tourist package' restaurant there...

Last, one of the things that stuck out for us in terms of payment on Vila (so the island overall, NOT just the hotel), was a tendency for the staff to hit the signature OK button BEFORE receiving a signature... This meant when it came to check out, and we had noticed we had been overcharged (signficantly) we had to ask for a refund - unfortunately, as we later discovered, this meant two transactions which came with different exchange rates and put us out of pocket $NZ3-400. It took a month or so, but we finally got a reimbursement for this (after much emailing - incl. to head office!).

Our advice would be that people specifically ask for the reception staff to not accept the transaction till after it has been checked (although this might take some explaining!!!)

Room Tip: Pay more for a beachside fale - the garden fales are near impossible to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CardinalNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My extended family and I just spent 7 days at this beautiful resort, the staff were amazing, a special thanks to the elderly gardener who gathered fresh flowers for me every morning without fail to Helen who kept our Fare spotless and to Alfred who has "connections" everywhere , bus, hair-braiding, Kava etc whatever you need he is the one to ask....George (owner) was always around to have a chat and make sure everything was ok, The Resort is lovely, very quiet and serene and therein lays the problem, this is definitely not the place to go with a large group, we always felt the staff were torn between keeping us happy and letting us enjoy our stay and placating the "couples" or as an expat Aussie living there calls them "Newly Weds and Nearly Deads",The "Retirees" are the worst they complain when water gets splashed in the pool or when the children from Pango village venture into the resort or if you are not in bed by 10 o'clock they will send security over to tell you to keep quiet, I will not go back to Breakas I will go to a family friendly resort I personally love the sound of kids having fun and family's enjoying each others company.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We really enjoyed our 7 days at Breakas. The service was great and the people were very friendly. The meals were on the high side as far as price goes but the food was good. I spent a lot of time in the pool. I asked for a Coconut to drink and they sent someone up the tree to get one and 3 minutes later i had a coconut in my hand (thats good service). We got taken on a tour of the local village which was one of the highlights of the trip. I would throughly recommend Vanuatu and Breakas.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We arrived from Europe and so were not sure what to expect. I must say that the Resort is very well set-out in beautiful tropical suroundings but we were disappointed with the sea. Due to the corals we were not able to swim and this was a minus factor for us. The rooms were a good size and as we were close to the sea we were able to enjoy some beautiful sun-sets from our verandah, The service was O.K but the breakfast was rather poor. A plus factor is the mini-taxis/buses passing continuously outside the resort , which for a very nominal fee, will take you to the town. We also found food in Vanuatu rather expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEENgREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.8 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
23.2 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.7 km away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing