We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Nearby Hotels
Mangoes Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cocomo Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Erakor Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Melanesian Port Vila(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$61
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$68
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveller rating
623
300
91
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
623
300
91
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden fareoutdoor showerbeach frontbeachfront fareseafood platterentertainment every nighttour deskvillage walkthemed nightsmelanesian nightrelaxing holidayinfinity poolpango villagemosquito netreef shoeshappy hourour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Fantastic to stay in a adults only resort. I love kids and have my own but find it fantastic to have peace and quiet.
Well situated 5 mins out of town right on the beach.
Nice Fare with ceiling fans and lots of cross ventiilation.Thought I would need air con but not needed as the fans ans sea breeze enough.
Especially love the open air shower,gives a real tropical feel
Whole resort very well maintained.There is a choice of the beach or pool to cool off in.
The staff are fantastic especially Rosemary and the girls at breakfast.
The resort is run by the owner George who can't do enough to make your stay a truly memorable one

Room Tip: The Fare's overlooking the water arethe best choice
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe fare; attended the Melanesian feast/show also. Fare was lovely with gorgeous open air shower. I did not like the fact that the shutters on all 3 walls of the room were unable to be closed giving you no privacy from anyone walking past to look in and see you sleeping or whatever though. Its right on the beach with lovely views and a gorgeous pool. Food was great too. Staff were friendly and accomodating and owner George was very lovely ensuring we felt welcome and that he would do anything to make our stay great.Definitely would go back again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallbyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was a mixed bag for us - the resort itself is nice enough, with a beautiful outlook. It's well priced and staff seem genuinely friendly and helpful.

The fale was nice - the bed was great, and the rooms were serviced regularly - although sometimes we'd not get all the necessary towels...

The garden fales are a bit of a nightmare when it comes to sleep - the nearby village dogs, the rowdy drinking and yelling sessions, the school bell (??) early in the morning left us getting less sleep than we'd like.

Breakfast was pretty average at best - the fruit was often good, but the baked good etc. were a little to be desired.

We ate in town every night and felt this better reflected our independent travel motif - the meals in the resort perhaps better suit those that like everything laid out for them and an 'experience' at every meal. We ate at Mangoes twice and far preferred the quiet, less 'tourist package' restaurant there...

Last, one of the things that stuck out for us in terms of payment on Vila (so the island overall, NOT just the hotel), was a tendency for the staff to hit the signature OK button BEFORE receiving a signature... This meant when it came to check out, and we had noticed we had been overcharged (signficantly) we had to ask for a refund - unfortunately, as we later discovered, this meant two transactions which came with different exchange rates and put us out of pocket $NZ3-400. It took a month or so, but we finally got a reimbursement for this (after much emailing - incl. to head office!).

Our advice would be that people specifically ask for the reception staff to not accept the transaction till after it has been checked (although this might take some explaining!!!)

Room Tip: Pay more for a beachside fale - the garden fales are near impossible to sleep in...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CardinalNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My extended family and I just spent 7 days at this beautiful resort, the staff were amazing, a special thanks to the elderly gardener who gathered fresh flowers for me every morning without fail to Helen who kept our Fare spotless and to Alfred who has "connections" everywhere , bus, hair-braiding, Kava etc whatever you need he is the one to ask....George (owner) was always around to have a chat and make sure everything was ok, The Resort is lovely, very quiet and serene and therein lays the problem, this is definitely not the place to go with a large group, we always felt the staff were torn between keeping us happy and letting us enjoy our stay and placating the "couples" or as an expat Aussie living there calls them "Newly Weds and Nearly Deads",The "Retirees" are the worst they complain when water gets splashed in the pool or when the children from Pango village venture into the resort or if you are not in bed by 10 o'clock they will send security over to tell you to keep quiet, I will not go back to Breakas I will go to a family friendly resort I personally love the sound of kids having fun and family's enjoying each others company.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our 7 days at Breakas. The service was great and the people were very friendly. The meals were on the high side as far as price goes but the food was good. I spent a lot of time in the pool. I asked for a Coconut to drink and they sent someone up the tree to get one and 3 minutes later i had a coconut in my hand (thats good service). We got taken on a tour of the local village which was one of the highlights of the trip. I would throughly recommend Vanuatu and Breakas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews