We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$147
US$115
View deal
Priceline
US$147
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-31
Hotels.comUS$115
TravelocityUS$115
CheapTicketsUS$115
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveller rating
684
334
106
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
684
334
106
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden fare outdoor shower beach front beachfront fare seafood platter reef shoes happy hour high tide infinity pool ceiling fan local buses resort vanuatu town breakers island tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2020

We stayed for five nights after Christmas. We chose Breakas specifically because it's kid free and it was a great decision. As other recent reviews have said the resort was full but you would never have known it except for the time it took for meals to come out. Island time, relax. It reminded us of the Cook Islands! We took our shoes off when we arrived and didn't put them back on until we left. You can be barefoot everywhere. The staff were great, especially the team in the bar, although it'd be wrong just to single them out as everyone was great. We stayed in a garden fare. Roomy, comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities, iron and board and it stayed quite cool just with louvres open and ceiling fan on. The mossies didn't bother us as we kept mossie coils lit. Loved the kid free pool area, especially the bean bags, but again as others have said there needs to be some more shade around the pool/along the beach (as in more umbrellas). If you're going to go swimming in the ocean take reef shoes as there's lots of broken coral. On the whole the food was pretty good. Included buffet breakfast was good. A couple of misses, including at least for us the seafood platter that was pretty ordinary (and expensive) but New Year's Eve was a huge hit, including the seafood! Don't go expecting cheap, it's Aussie bistro prices, and why shouldn't it be? Happy hour every night was great. Loved the coconut mojitos, maybe too much ;) Not often we know we'll return somewhere because the world is a big place but we will return to Breakas.

Room tip: If you can afford beachfront do it, otherwise all fares are the same. Garden fare 16 that we stayed in was quiet, but close to everything
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

Dear Peter,

Greetings from Breakas Beach Resort and thank you for your great feedback and a bit of constructive comments which we could help us to improve our services.

We will pass on these feedback to our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back here at Breakas in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Alsa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2020

My partner and I stayed for 10 nights over the Christmas/New Year period in this wonderful resort. We had a beachfront fare where you walked straight out onto the sand and then on to the ocean, infinity pool or restaurant/bar. The Breakas staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome the whole time. Meals were outstanding, the menu was comprehensive and if you couldn't find something you liked then you were very hard to please. Our fare with its outdoor shower was one of the best rooms we've stayed in anywhere. And I must mention....no kids, only a few bogans here and there. We would return to Breakas without hesitation and enjoy the wonderful relaxing "feet in the sand" experience.

Room tip: Best to choose a beachfront rather than garden fare.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ericgroszmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Dear Ericgrozman,

Greetings from Breakas Beach Resort and thank you for your wonderful feedback from you holiday with us at Breakas.
Our staff are so pleased about the feedback and we are all looking forward to welcome you both for your next holiday at Breakas in future.

Thank you.

Kindest Regards,
Alsa
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We stayed here for a week over Christmas so it was really busy (full). Despite that it never felt crowded. The only down side to being so busy was the kitchen sometimes struggled to keep up. The food was mostly very good and the choices of menu items and specials were wide. Buffet Breakfast is included in the room rate and is a worth taking advantage of. The restaurant setting was especially nice when the weather allowed tables to be placed on the sand next to the pool for dinner. The majority of the staff were friendly, happy and informative. We had a garden Fare one step back from the beachfront which was for us, an ideal location. The bungalows are a good size, well appointed and serviced daily. The pool is large and deep. The bar gets busy at happy hour but nobody minds and the staff always have a smile. The beach is quiet and relaxing, (no kids) but does need some more shade in the area close to the pool. Breakas is a little remote but close enough to town that you can visit anytime for a few dollars on one of the local buses which are in themselves a great experience. Talk to the drivers, listen to some tunes and see the locals do what they do. We will be back.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecosseone_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Thank you Ecosseone_1for your review
Will certainly pass the feedback to all the staff
See you soon
Regards,
Alsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Stayed here for 9 days 3 couples. The place is a little out of town no problem,no kids allowed made swimming in pool great. Beautiful beach frontage but as most parts Vanuatu reef shoes are needed. The staff are friendly and happy hr was buy 1 get1 free great bargain. The meals from restaurant for lunch and tea were really nice but reason for 4 stars not 5 is because meals took so long to come out. We waited from 1 to 2 hrs for tea .

Room tip: Beach front Bure
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 923debrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Hello there,
Thank you for your review
Will pass the thoughts to others
Please note Breakas is always advertise as a 3.5star.
Thank you again
Lukim yu
Regards,
Alsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2020

well, we spent 5 days for New year at the Breakas for our 2 years anniversary, and were offered a bottle of sparkling wine and a massage, thank you for that, the bungalow was great, room cleaned everyday, a fridge, coffee facilities, a fantastic outside shower, great size room and bathroom and a great little deck to enjoy a beer. The beach is large and at high tide there is no problem to swim at low tide it`s good enough to put your bum in the water and enjoy the view. The swimming pool was great water at sea or in the pool were the same, hot !! a great place to enjoy a beer in the water ! the included continental breakfast was good enough, fruits, cold meat and cheese, etc...the danish pastries never tasted fresh, the toast machine takes ages to make a toast !! The food at the restaurant was good, with an excellent crab pasta, pizza were nice too. the biggest disappointment was the New Year eve dinner, i think only the prawns, pate and cheese were good, the rest was not up to the high price we paid for. Ok i`m a chef, but there are some minimum to cook food !! Most of the staff is friendly, some waitresses could do with a bit of a smile ! overall a nice place to stay, we would definitely comeback,

Room tip: beach bungalows are on the beach but offer very little privacy, we were great at number 37, check that you are not close to the bar !
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheferic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank you for your review
Will pass on to our staff
Kind regards,
Alsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews