We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$164
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$164
travelup.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
444
301
74
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
444
301
74
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar kids club king suite overwater villa fire show hole golf course lagoon view room main pool great family buffet dinner paddle boards beautiful lagoon staff were fantastic water sports hideaway island relaxing holiday pools
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 857 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2020

Beautiful location on the bay. Recommend kayaking up the bay to Erakor Island and the other resorts for lunch and coffee, as well as sailing and happy hour by the pool. The Holiday Inns rooms and restaurant are dated but you are never really there. The hotel is expensive for what it is but this is pretty standard for Vanuatu.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2020

Very good Holiday Inn, probably one of the best we have been to.
Excellent benefits for Spire members, upgraded either to Bungalows or Suite.
The bungalow are on the other side of the lagoon, about 40sqm. Very quiet during the day, as no other guest can disturb you directly. Shuttle is very efficient to bring back and forth to the reception whenever needed. The 10 minutes walk is even better, with beautiful grounds and the magic view of the lagoon.
The king suite is also very private and fairly huge, about 60 sqm with a separate living room. Also a big balcony overlooking the golf. Very quiet as well. Easy access to the golf and all facilities of the hotel.
Breakfast is good, at 3000 Vatu.
For the restaurant, we had dinner several times as well as room service. Every time, we have been satisfied by the quality of the food and presentation. The waiting time was always very decent. Price wise, it is very comparable to other restaurants in the city.
It feels the hotel is really well managed. The hotel organize every two days a special night (fire show, local dances, movie night...) and bring excellent live bands at the bar of the reception and at the main pool on Sunday.
Hotel provides lots of free activities, such as golf, tennis, kayak, catamaran, fish feeding, kava testing and yoga once a week.
Lastly, the staff is absolutely lovely, smiling and kind, from the restaurant to the pool team, housekeeping, gardeners, reception and managers.
Highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: February 2020
3  Thank sharley1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2020

I have rated this property very good and is some aspects it is very very good but in other areas it lets itself down. But I want to be fair in my review because we had a wonderful and relaxing holiday at the Holiday Inn. Firstly the staff are terrific. I make special mention of a few....Nixon, Pool Bar, the absolutely lovely omelette/egg girl at breakfast each day and Sheiltha (prob wrong spelling) in Lobby Bar. Many others made our stay great but these 3 were special. The resort is older and is in need of some updating but I can see there is always work going on....the new deck by the pool. Our Lagoon view room was extremely comfortable, the best storage in bedroom and bathroom. I don’t like climbing in to a bath to have a shower, can be very dangerous especially if older. The Lagoon Pool was just wonderful.....we hardly shifted from here as it was clean, big and just fabulous. Some dislikes.....the many stairs from pool to room to verandah restaurant. We were on 3rd floor....never again. If anyone has mobility issues then this resort might not be for you. Lastly the food and beverage side of it. Not the greatest food at all. Not a great selection and very over priced. Alcohol as well. I understand having to import in, but a better choice of wines especially whites is needed. Pinot Gris or Grigio are the popular whites in Australia, definitely not Chardonnay. But that’s a personal thing I guess. The credit card surcharge is not popular but it is universal in Port Vila.
We were ripped off on our first day getting a taxi into town VATU2000. Stupid us didn’t know any different .......and this amount was organised by someone on reception!!!!!
We had a lovely relaxing holiday which was our aim. If some of the concerns of guests were looked at and improved then this resort will gain by the changes.
I would recommend if stairs and climbing into a bath, with a wide lip, were not an issue.

Room tip: 2nd floor or ground floor Lagoon view
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewSenyard, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2020

Dear Julie G,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write and share your review and tips with fellow travelers, we're absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful and relaxing stay with us!

It's great to see that so many of our team played such a big part in making your stay so memorable, particularly Nixon, Estella and Shieltha (so close on the spelling, took me ages too) and we will share your feedback with them and ensure they are recognised for their efforts!

I was disappointed to read that you were overcharged by one of the taxi drivers, particularly one arranged by Front Desk. They are normally so good with their fares.

We also appreciate the other constructive feedback that you shared and will also share this with the team as we strive to improve our product and service.

We cannot wait to welcome you back some day soon!

Kind Regards,

Matthew Senyard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2020

Holiday Inn is a stunning property. The grounds are just beautiful and even includes an adults only pool. The rooms need a freshen up but that will no doubt happen at some point. The only real negative was the breakfast buffet- the fruit was not that great (pineapple was excellent but the papaya not that good) although Chef Joe makes a great omelette. The staff were amazingly helpful and their advice was spot on when asked. Handy hit, take the onsite taxi into town for VATU700 then take the bus back for VATU150.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LittleMsFussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewSenyard, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2020

Dear LittleMsFussy,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay with us!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and I have to agree that Chef Joe does make a great omelette - very dangerous if you live here full time!

I'm glad that you found the staff so helpful and friendly and appreciate the tip for other travelers, it's spot on!

Kind Regards,

Matthew Senyard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2020

Hotel is in a great location along a lagoon with 2 pools, a poolside bar a lobby bar and the Verandah Restaurant. The staff are outstanding from check-in to check out, the concierge (so helpful), the cleaning staff, the pool staff, the bars and restaurant. Room was quite comfortable. The hotel does provide added events that are treat (e.g. fire dancers). The areas that need attention is that the food was average at best (including restaurant, room service and lobby bar), with prices too high (e.g. least expensive white wine about $50 AUD's) and the 4% surcharge for credit card services is too high. I would recommend that you go to the city buy beverages from local store (Pointer: no alcohol can be purchased on Sundays) and convert dollars into VTU's to pay your closing bill at the Hotel, you will save a good deal on money especially if you book tours from the Hotel.

Room tip: Best to have a room away from lobby or restaurant as they do have music events
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewSenyard, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2020

Dear Lyn A,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your review of your most recent stay. We're glad that you enjoyed the location, facilities and in particular the service from our team.

We appreciate your comments about food and beverage too, and we aware that the prices are up there, and this is largely to do with so many goods needing to be sourced from Australia and New Zealand to ensure food safety and quality standards are met, the duty and excise applied to all alcohol imported into the country, as well as the declining Australian dollar, but with that being said we are always trying our best to reduce the price for the consumer.

I note too, your comments about the credit card surcharge and it's something that we will review again with the banks.

Kind Regards,

Matthew Senyard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews