We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-01
Hotels.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-01
Agoda.com
US$186
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-02
PricelineUS$73
Trip.comUS$186
Booking.comUS$73
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
436
264
45
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
436
264
45
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop the underwater post office hideaway island twin share fish coconut curry mele village night dive day trip cleaned daily fresh flowers laid back diving stella mainland reef bungalow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 782 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I have been there before.
It is amazing again!
The coral has suffered from past cyclone damage, crown of thorns and climate change decline.
But the reef and fish are making a fantastic comeback!
On this years’ visit we have been astounded by the biodiversity, colours and the varieties of fish, crustations and eels, etc. We have swam the top of the reef over two weeks while there and are so pleased with the recovery evidenced everywhere and the extent of pristine coral at the ends where it is creating up from the depths to engulf about 80 metres of the reef top.
Highly recommend a visit to this magnificent resort.
See you next year, if not before.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RussJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristinah562, Director at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Russell and Sonia
It was our pleasure welcoming you back and being your hosts. Thank you for your wonderful review and making hideaway your annual destination amongst others. It was inspirational speaking to you both and seeing first hand what you saw in the reef and the myriad of fish you identified. As regular return guests we derive our greatest pleasure seeing you happy and relaxed and that we witnessed for the whole fortnight you holidayed with all of us. Look forward to seeing you both very soon.
Kristina and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2020

I stayed at Hideaway for 6 nights. Staying here my first solo trip even more memorable. Only a 10-15 mins away from the airport transport was easy. 5 minute free ferry ride fo the mainland was fun every single time. I loved the staff here, amazingly friendly and helpful at all times. I loved all the water activities here. PADI dive team is super friendly and talented, snorkeling with them was a great experience. Loved jumping straight into the ocean every morning only to see the most beautiful coral and fishes I have ever seen. Snorkeling here is a must!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank madhulikar2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristinah562, Director at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Hello madhulikar,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was so wonderful to see you enjoy yourself for the week! As you know firat Hans we are like one big family at hideaway and our aim is always to ensure our guests are enjoying themselves and feeling relaxing. It was wonderful to see you make new friends enjoy all the free water sport activities, learn to snorkel with the masters (Russell and Sonia) just to name a few, hoping to welcome you back very soon!

Kristina and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2020

There is an underwater Post Office. They offer a glass bottom boat ride and snorkeling off a boat. The staff is good. They feed the fish by hand in the water which brings out a lot of fish. The lunch was good. You can snorkel from the beach but the coral is in poor condition near the shore.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristinah562, Director at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Hello Charles
Sounds like you had a wonderful day visiting Hideaway,
The glass bottom boat ride is a must for any visitor, you really get a feel of how big the reef is and how deep the drop is off the wall, most importantly seeing the abundant tropical fish in all their glory on the comfort of a boat. Our staff are amazing and extremely friendly this is evident when you have the opportunity to spend more time on the island and even better when you choose to holiday with us. Our restaurant offers a variety of meals to cater to individual needs, our curry being our signature dish with fresh poulet fish. Hideaway is only one of a handful of places in the world that you can literally walk out of your room or at the front of the beach into a marine sanctuary and be immersed in a myriad of wonders that the reef has to offer, the best snorkelling is more than a meter out of the water there you can see the wonderful rejuvenation occurring and the abundant tropical fish. Thanks again for visiting and we hope to welcome you back soon to this little slice of paradise we call home.

Kristina and Tram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2020 via mobile

Every now and again you need to disconnect from all the stresses of life. This was my 3rd stay on the island and it won't be my last. To dive on the reef is super easy with an amazing assortment of marine life. I thoroughly recommend the night dive. It dosen't matter if you snorkel or scuba you will love it. We stayed in a bungalow but there is a range of accommodation types to suit . It's altogether layed back and relaxing...you don't need to leave the island if you didn't want to and the staff are so helpful. We'll be back!!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristinah562, Director at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Hello Robyn
It was our pleasure to welcome you both back, thank you for your wonderful review, there is no greater compliment than seeing how much of our business is return guests, we value and thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we very much look forward to seeing you both back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2020 via mobile

Another great weekend at Hideaway Island. It was great to be back diving here again. The staff were friendly and helpful as usual and the food was very good!

If you only want snorkel and splash around, there is plenty of fish and coral just off the beach.

Hard to beat for a weekend away!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank O5995CWianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristinah562, Director at Hideaway Island Resort & Marine Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Hello Ian
Than you so much for you wonderful review and choosing to stay and dive with us. Like always it is a pleasure to be your host and seeing you chill and relax
and thank you for all of the laughter whilst with us and the team. Look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kristina and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews