We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word, SUPERB!”
Review of Mangoes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangoes Resort
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“One word, SUPERB!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We want to thank the management and ALL the workers at Mangoes for making our stay an absolute delight! The warm rain did not deter us from swimming in the pool. That was most refreshing! The views into Erakor Lagoon reminded us that we were in a tropical paradise. There was a variety of fresh food, exquisite dishes and the cocktails are to die for! Our bure was kept clean and was cool even though it was humid and hot outside. Room service was prompt when we chose to eat in. We will certainly be back...thank you Richard and the boys at the bar, the wonderful chef and cooks, waiters and waitresses, cleaners, gardeners...thank you Callum and Ros for the wonderful example of team work and fostering the feeling of family amongst your employees...that is the difference, that is Mangoes!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilisitina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    153
    32
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
349
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Venezia, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

this little hotel is just 2 minutes walk from the city center (that'is nothig special) rooms are easy but clean. the cuisine was really good and with good prices, there's also a pool outside. Staff is friendly and helpful, so a good choise for who don't want to spend too much

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreasupertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laidley, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We were very impressed with everything at this resort, from our warm welcome, to our final farewell. Nothing was difficult for the staff, and all were most obligingly helpful and professional. Ros was always there with a helpful suggestion to make our stay absolutely marvelous. All facilities were spotlessly clean and tidy, with rooms cleaned daily and fresh flowers to greet us on our return each day. A great variety of meals at reasonable and competitive prices, and the willingness to accommodate my dietary requirements was refreshing. Close enough to walk to town and back or easy to catch a cheap bus or taxi out front. Peaceful and quiet surroundings ensured a relaxing holiday. Thank you to all at Mangoes - you have given us wonderful memories of Vanuatu - the happiest place on earth!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugbitten10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were made to feel very welcome by Michelle and Callum and really enjoyed our stay here. Our apartment was lovely with a very private pool and fantastic views over the lagoon. We enjoyed our meals in the restaurant and the staff were friendly and casual so we felt at home. We walked into town several times and enjoyed the stroll on the waterfront. Our room was quiet, spacious and very clean. We would love to go back...

Room Tip: Our room (16) was really lovely, large, great private pool and fantastic views. Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude_stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were delighted with our stay at Mangoes. Staff all very professional and friendly, rooms well appointed and very clean, beautiful fresh native flowers put out each day....where do you stop!! Enjoyed cocktails and local beer at happy hour each evening and stayed on to try the great menu on several occasions. Owners/managers were very helpful with their recommendations for places to see and things to do as was Glenda from Melanesian Tours. We hope to be back for another relaxing break sometime.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagpakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

In need of a bit of relaxation in a hectic year we chose Mangoes from the information posted on their website and TripAdvisor, we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were extremely well looked after. The location was great, easy walking distance to Port Vila but in a lovely quiet spot, even more peaceful being adults only. Our Lagoon View room with private pool was perfect, as was the delightful restaurant with superb food. The staff throughout the resort were so friendly and helpful and we were greeted wherever we went. Glenda was in each day to assist with tours and when she couldn't take us she contacted another company and arranged it. Great service. I was unsure if 4 nights would be enough time to relax but from the moment we got there we began to unwind and came home totally refreshed. We loved our stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenebull50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights for my first Vanuatu holiday. The service was great and restaurant served some very tasty food. We splurged on a seafood platter which we struggled to finish but the coconut crab was delicious. We stayed in a garden view pool apartment that was spacious, clean and had a great outdoor area with private pool to get stuck into book. Glenda, their tour liaison booked us some great tours. For a thrill seek thoroughly recommend the buggy tour and also the day trip to Pele Island. It was just a 10 minute stroll to Port Vila Centre with plenty of other restaurants and bars to try out. If you're looking for a quiet holiday to unwind (and cut yourself from email and work) for a reasonable price, thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momentarydivision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
3.2 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,486 reviews
0.1 km away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
300 reviews
1.4 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangoes Resort

Property: Mangoes Resort
Address: Captain Cook Avenue and Rue de Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangoes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high atop a cliff overlooking Erakor Lagoon on Port Vila, imagine that perfect intimate holiday, away from not just your own, but everyone's children. Mangoes Resort is that peaceful tropical escape for couples where you can relax and enjoy your Vanuatu experience. It is located close to the shops, restaurants, bars,of the capital of Port Vila, yet offers a peaceful retreat from the outside world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mangoes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangoes Resort Port Vila
Mangoes Hotel Port Vila
Mangoes Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing