We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
114
57
17
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
57
17
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews richard and ursula coconut crab fish fabulous evening beef wellington large balcony beautiful lagoon wonderful hosts clams highly recommend staying here tropical breakfast a short taxi ride fresh fruit mosquito net a fantastic place to stay local buses free kayaks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 194 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2018

I so want to give this hotel a better review as it has so many amazing qualities to it. Set back from the road it's nice and quiet. The restaurant overlooks the lagoon and river is amazing place to sit and watch the sunset or the locals fishing. I love the style of the bar area, very European, could be set in the 50s. The rooms and the balcony are an excellent size so plenty of room. The location is only a short taxi ride into Port Vila. The owners were friendly and helpful.
But.....
The rooms were filthy. The bathroom was filthy. The bathroom sink didn't drain and when someone came to clean the room, they poured coffee into the sink and was left there for when we came back.
The setting for the restaurant is a huge selling point, but hardly anything on the menu was available. So we ended up going into Port Vila to eat.
The pool area wasn't clean and so we chose not to use it.
Maybe we were just unlucky and these aren't normal issues, but it was such a shame as this place could be amazing!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tupeloking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaChaumieres, Owner at Vila Chaumieres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

We are most concerned about the comments made by our guest.
It is always our wish to provide a high standard,both in our rooms and our Restaurant.
We are at a loss to understand why our guest states that their room was filthy.We always check the room,prior to any occupancy and we are at a loss to accept this comment.
During the last two months our Restaurant has been able to offer every option available on the extensive menu,apart from two days when Lobster was unobtainable due to high coastal wind conditions.
We therefore strongly reject the claim that ,hardly anything on the menu was available.
The swimming pool was out of action for several days as the poolpump broke down.This pump was replaced at the first possible moment with new equipment.
Finally,we are surprised that none of these issues were communicated to any of our staff during the Guests time at Vila Chaumieres.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay. Comfortable, clean bure's. Friendly, helpful owner's & staff. It was like staying with family. The location was excellent. The food was well priced & of excellent quality. It was right on the lagoon & with free kayaks I spent a lot of time making use of them. I highly recommend staying here. Thank you, so much to Ursula, Richard & your amazing staff. I will be back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Di P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaChaumieres, Public Relations Manager at Vila Chaumieres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a lovely comment you posted. We're happy that you enjoyed visiting our little piece of paradise and you are welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2018

Our trip Vanuatu late last year was highlighted by visiting and dining at this resort. The restaurant pictured is over water, The menu is outstanding and in particular we had Coconut Crab in white wine and garlic. A speciality of the restaurant and our 3rd time of having it. It was excellent. We had to pre order because of the availability of the crab. The day we were there for lunch coincided with a cruise ship booking, however, the service was excellent..

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaChaumieres, Public Relations Manager at Vila Chaumieres Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi John, we are glad to see that you enjoyed yourself for the third time at our little Vila Chaumières Restaurant & Resort. We can't wait to see you for the fourth. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2018 via mobile

Room was nice, very clean. Staff were helpful and friendly and dinner and breakfast lovely. We only had a short stay but would definitely like to spend longer next time to try more of the menu! Beautiful setting in the restaurant also.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my parents (80's)for 5 nights.
Garden bure are perfect, large and well cared for, as are the grounds and whole resort.
On no.2 lagoon which is lovely to kayak, provided free along with reef shoes and a lot of help provided by Ursula and Brian! (Thanks guys).
Staff are awesome and everyone goes above and beyond.
Restaurant is very popular, the food is amazing. The free breakfast is to die for.
Definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank sandy01Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews