We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel in the heart of Kin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Memling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Memling
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Kinshasa
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the heart of Kin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had a good expereince staying there. The hotel is clean, the service is good. They have a nice patio by the pool with a restaurant. The food at the restaurant is pretty good as well, though slow. The breakfast buffet is well garnished. The looby and the patio are quite busy, so it's a bit hard to find a quite place to work or meet. The internet worked very well when I was there (not so well in the room).
It's in teh heart of Kin, so very accessible but noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    74
    67
    18
    7
See reviews for
2
2
21
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Not exactly sure what to expect as it was the first time in Kinshasa. Drive from the airport can take a lot of time, my trip took under 2 hours but my colleague took 4 hrs on a Sunday. Hotel check in was fast but they will want you to pay up front asking you to pay for the whole stay in advance. You can argue with that and get away with just a day or two but you will be asked to come down after those days and make another payment. Staff are reasonably friendly and several speak English. Food is expensive so try to get breakfast included. $30-$45 for a not too spectacular meal P.P. rooms decent sized, clean, beds a tad soft and pillow just abut too hard. Decent WiFi at no extra charge and OK selection of TV channels. Not much in the mini-bar but the beer was reasonable if you compare with the bar or pool. Eating by the pool is nice but like I said, expensive. There is a gym, small, two decent treadmills, two cycles, and weights. Air France check-in in the hotel and a few shops but nothing special. A few South African fast food chains right across from the hotel not bad, and a Sushi restaurant which I did not try (in Kinshasa?). Small supermarket around the corner with fresh fruit, bread, cheese etc. no complaints and seems very safe, good parking if you have a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterBwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed there whilst in a business trip to Kinshasa. Its well located and clean enough. The security outside the hotel was ok during my stay but there is a huge amount of prostitutes walking in and out in the evening... The food is not bad but if you only have 1 hour for lunch dont expect the service to be quick and I had to go back to work with an empty stomach several times! The best waiter was the oldest one and about to retire (Julien) and he was brilliant. The gym is the size of a broom cupboard with no air cond so I gave up after 2 attempts. I guess its as good as it gets for a 5* hotel in DRC. Its very expensive though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carina1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

As a well-travelled South African business owner ,I have spent many weeks in total over two years in 5-star hotels in Kinshasa. I have to conclude that the Memling Hotel far outstrips its rivals when it comes to service. Based in the heart of Kinshasa and in itself a pivotal part of the history of this capital and country, the Memling Hotel has succeeded in remaining the best 5-star establishment in the DRC by far.This is quite a feat ,considering that a brand-new 22 -storey 5-star hotel opened its doors in Kinshasha in the past year! The Memling might not be as modern in appearance,but it has oodles of charm and sustainable hospitality and good service to keep it in the top position.It is a clean and efficient hotel with a strong support for the day -to-day needs of the business person away from his office;from good connectivity to excellent administrative support.And if your French is still "petit", the staff will help you find your way and throw in some French lessons to boot!.As far as service excellence goes,this hotel still sets the pace in Kinshasa .

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area have a tropical view and are spared the traffic noise of north-facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andredippenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I've spent a wonderful 5-days stay at the Memling about one month ago. My room was neat and clean, the Wi-Fi worked perfectly, the food was delicious - they serve some divine buffets! - the staff was nice. I even had the chance to attend a special event the hotel organized celebrating Congo Independence Day . It was tribal and sophisticated at the same time. I loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you are in the DRC, it's because you have to be there. And if you have to be there, then you know you choices are limited. It is an acceptable hotel if you have to stay in Kinshasa, but the price tag is definitely not proportionate to the level of service you get (but this applies to everything in the DRC).

The pool are provides an oasis of peace when staying in Kinshasa. But the restaurant is very limited in choices and the service varies a lot. Sometimes I would go there and be serve right away, the next day I would have to go get the waiter if I wanted something.

Blackouts are common and the internet is very slow but hey, you are in Kinshasa.

Room Tip: I usually leave a tip for the housekeeping staff on my night table. One day I came back in the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guilavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Things seem to be improving at the Memling... my colleague and I wonder if the arrival of some competitors in the city has done the hotel good. We stay here 2 or 3 times each year and this was the best yet.

Check-in was, for the first time, pain-free with no quibbles at all over whether we'd already paid for the room (it's much better value to pre-book online with breakfast and Wi-Fi included).

Our rooms were clean and the service was friendly if not lightning-paced.

It's still not at all cheap but the online deal was better value than the new arrivals. We find this hotel safe and reliable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManFromManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinshasa hotels
0.0 km away
Kempinski Hotel Fleuve Congo
4.5 km away
Pullman Kinshasa Grand Hotel
0.7 km away
Hotel Royal Kinshasa
Hotel Royal Kinshasa
#2 of 24 in Kinshasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#3 of 24 in Kinshasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
4.4 km away
Grand Hotel Kinshasa
Grand Hotel Kinshasa
#15 of 24 in Kinshasa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pour Vous
Hotel Pour Vous
#22 of 24 in Kinshasa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Memling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Memling

Property: Hotel Memling
Address: 5D, Av de la Republique du Tchad | BP 68, Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Phone Number:
Region: Democratic Republic of the Congo > Kinshasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Kinshasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Memling 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Memling is the five star Hotel of reference in the central business district of Kinshasa. It offers 180 luxury rooms and suites as well as a complete infrastructure to organize all kinds of events.The hotel is the ideal place for every business trip to the Congolese capital. It offers comfortable and sophisticated surroundings, exceptional service and all necessary commodities. The hotel includes two restaurants, five conference rooms, a lobby bar, an outside swimming pool, a fitness center, a commercial gallery and a secured private parking.Always striving to improve the service the Hotel constantly upgrades the facilities to meet all needs of today's clients. It comprises a very high performance Wifi connection as well as a fully equipped business center.The hotel also provides a very efficient outside catering service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Memling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing