We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are kinda gross but the staff are really nice”
Review of Mother Land Inn 2

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yangon (Rangoon)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mother Land Inn 2
Ranked #10 of 162 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
vancouver
Level Contributor
122 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Rooms are kinda gross but the staff are really nice”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have no idea what reviewers are referring to when they say the staff are unfriendly. Stayed here for 5 nights on different occasions and the staff were very friendly and helpful each day we were there. The girls at the front desk were always happy to help with advice. The guys that serve breakfast were always singing and in a chatty mood. The pros for this place is the airport pick up/drop off and the staff. The cons: old rooms, kinda dirty and beat up, bathrooms are gross, the location is outside the centre and will cost you about $2-$3 for taxi fare to get to the sights. There's nothing going on around the hotel - no good restaurants, etc. The hang out area in the hotel is very small. The breakfast is just ok. It's budget with a capital B.

Room Tip: Room 101 is better than 103 if you're looking for AC with private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    231
    151
    42
    17
See reviews for
28
200
123
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at Mother Land Inn 2 on a recent trip to Myanmar and had a good experience both times. The staff are lovely, friendly and honest. We exchanged money there and, though the rates aren't as good as the banks they are the same as any agency you can use. Note that in Myanmar you get a better rate of exchange for a $100 bill than a $20 bill - this is the norm.
The girl counted our and her money and insisted we double check that everything was right.

The boys in the restaurant are sweet too, a few staff are a bit shy but if you smile and chat to them, they are a delight and keen to learn and share experience with you. As one pointed out, none of these staff have travelled outside of the country before so they have no experience of the hospitality industry elsewhere. This a GOOD thing and what makes the country special.

Yes, they are very busy all the time. We were recommended on word of mouth and were pleased to see it in the lonely planet. Check in is chaos as planes and buses deliver people at the same time but the girls are amazing - they all remember you and they give you a free breakfast. Plus if your room isn't ready they try and find you somewhere to sleep if you want to. It's clean and both rooms we had were spacious. Anyone of average fitness can easily walk to the centre and there are free buses to and from the airport saving you about 7000 kyat each way.

I'm sad that some reviewers want an pseudo-colonial/western hotel experience and grumble about gin and tonics. The fact that this country is different is what makes it a treat to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80skidsdotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Horrible staff. The most unfriendly I have ever experienced. They had a very insultive attitude.
We finally left and found a guest house in a much better location (center of Rangoon).
I think this gh has what I would call the "lp effect". Once it is referenced, the quality goes away. So bad.
Do not go there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiptopboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very unfriendly staff. They will try to cheat you on with the money exchange. Watch out. Also they make you pay in advance so make sure you are know how many days you want to spend there.
The place is not cleaned at all. The bed sheets were dirty, you could tell they hadnt been changed. The bathroom was way too smelly.
DO NOT STAY HERE.
They employ little kids. Horrible to see them carrying the bags, cleaning the rooms.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was our final stop on a two week tour of Burma. We had a wonderful time and our overwhelming impression of Burma was the gentle kindness and friendliness of the Burmese people . Unfortunately the Mother land inn was let down in this respect . I do not know if it was because they are always full but in contrast to every where else we stayed in Burma the staff here were surly and indifferent to the guests especially in the restaurant. This aside the $22 A/C room we stayed in was clean and pleasant ,hot water was good and no power breaks. We had a good breakfast where we chatted to fellow guests.The restaurant sells milk but you have to have powdered creamer in your tea and coffee! the cake is delicious. The walk into the city is not as far as we were led to believe and walking everywhere in Burma is interesting.We have heard bad reports of other budget hotels in the city so on the whole I think Mother land inn is a good bet - if you can get a room!

Room Tip: A/C rooms are slightly more expensive but are at the back of the hotel and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

When we arrived at 1pm, we waited 40 mins before we could enter the room. For the price of 18usd, we got a room without air-con, without attached bathroom. The walls are made of cardboard instead of cement, because of that, sound proof is zero. I woke up thrice in the middle of the night. Twice from slamming doors and once from morning singing from a fellow backpacker walking down the corridor.

If you decide to stay in Motherland, get a higher priced room, one with attached toilet that comes with real walls. And please bring along new looking (no stain, no ink, no crumpled line, and no centre folding line) cos their staff are really picky.

Staff could be friendlier by giving eye contact.

Location is not good too. Best to stay near Sule Pagoda and rely on the map you hold, that saves you alot hassle in trying to convey to the taxi driver or bus conductor where are you going.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stardeenaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Pros:
1. The price (usd18-30 for ensuite room with aircond)
2. Free airport pickup
3. Friendly waiter


Cons:
1. Unstable electricity (blackout several time in one night)
2. Slow check in ( we waited for almost 1 hour to check in)
3. Forgot the name of receptionist which always showed us her "sour face".
4. Yellowish water in the toilet and smells like rust.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsha1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.5 km away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#60 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.9 km away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#78 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.8 km away
Chan Myae Guesthouse
Chan Myae Guesthouse
#5 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.1 km away
Pickled Tea Hostel
Pickled Tea Hostel
#1 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Land Inn 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Land Inn 2

Property: Mother Land Inn 2
Address: No 433 Lower Pazundaung Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 951, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your complete satisfaction is our goal. We offer the convenience, comfort and value that our international guests expect.Located walking distance from many of Yangon's most popular attractions including Sule Pagoda, Bogyoke Market, Kandawgyi Lake, Botahtaung Pagoda, as well as many excellent restaurants. A short taxi ride takes you to Shwedagon Pagoda, Inya Lake, and the Fine Art Museum. Nearby there are many opportunities to explore local neighborhoods and small markets full of the colors, sights and sounds of Myanmar. The hotel is also located on convenient bus routes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mother Land Inn 2 Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Mother Land Inn 2 Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing