We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More British than "Burmese" - but great first stop in Myanmar”
Review of PARKROYAL Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
PARKROYAL Yangon
Ranked #12 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My trip was in 2010 - forgot to review then. This was a lovely welcome to Burma and a huge suprise. The lobby is formal and well-appointed - and you feel at home right away with the "welcome drink", a Burmese custom in many hotels. Rooms were clean and comfortable, though street noise was very audible at times. The buffet was excellent in terms of selection and food was OK. They also had a tempting "bakery" like venue in the lobby. Location is kind of odd, but it is witihin walking distance to the market and not terribly far from the pagoda - though I doubt you can walk there. I was in a group, so can't speak to cost.

Room Tip: Request a room which does not face the street - or bring ear plugs! Night noise and dogs barking kep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CultureSleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed 2 nights on early Feb 2012 on a business trip and got the Orchid Club room at special rate of USD135 per night (bookings made by local business partner).

Room is clean, comfortable, with all the standard amenities expected of a 4 star hotel. I really enjoy the welcome drink, a glass of pineapple juice, which is so refreshing after a whole morning of travelling.

Nothing to complain about. If you need a good hotel and service, Parkroyal should meet all your requirements.

Went to the shopping centre beside the hotel, nothing much to see and left 10 mins later. There is a tea shop nearby and their tea is quite good. Ask hotel for more info.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derrick_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Slightly on the outskirts of Yangon. This hotel has good services. Very clean, decent money exchange rate..... Good value.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angnfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

If you want something more atmospheric or historic, you'll probably want the Strand or the Savoy. But the Parkroyal is a comfortable, well located, friendly, professionally run hotel with great amenities. We stayed on the Orchid Club level, which offered some additional advantages. This is also currently the only hotel in the city (or maybe even the country?) that takes credit cards. We didn't take advantage of that while we were there at the beginning of our trip, but I wish we had, since once your cash runs out in Myanmar, you're stuck. (For a country that needs foreign currency, they sure make it hard for tourists to spend money!)

Room Tip: Additional benefits offered on the Orchid Club level, including access to the lounge, with happy hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Lovely hotel. Nice size room with TV, great shower, plenty of storage space, comfortable bed. Internet available for a fee. Modern and spacious lobby. The highlight of our stay was the delicious and enormous buffet breakfast – reportedly the best in Yangon. Well located near the center of Yangon – short cab ride to all the great restaurants. Friendly staff. The best hotel we stayed in Myanmar.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ram N, General Manager at PARKROYAL Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing PARKROYAL Yangon as your preferred accommodation in Yangon.
The Hotel is conveniently located within the Central Business District and yet within easy reach to several Tourist and Retail attractions.
Thank you for rating our Breakfast as “The best in Yangon”. We have received several positive comments on our Breakfast, several rotational menus have been put together to cater to the diverse geographic origin of our valued guests.
Our rooms are large and spacious, are designed to make our guests feel comfortable, much effort is placed to ensure detailed cleaning and servicing. To improve our product further, we have started our Rooms refurbishment project in February this year slated for completion in the latter half of this year.
Our associates are our greatest asset; they take pride in serving our valued guests with genuine care.
Thank you once again for your comments. Please be so kind to let me know whenever you plan your next visit.
Kind regards
Ram Nurani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A good hotel - clean, comfortable with all the basics provided. I stayed on the executive floor - very helpful staff and nice lounge.

First night's sleep was ruined by noise from night club in the basement and dogs barking all night outside.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the opposite side to the night-club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BritRockdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Parkroyal is ideally situated just above downtown, the market and the various attractions
It is a quieter location than Traders, yet is less than ten minutes' walk to the center
It is clean, comfortable and good value
The lobby is spacious and welcoming and Parkroyal is what you would expect of a typical city hotel. The pool area was rather small for the size of the hotel but was adequate as most residents were out and about enjoying the city and the sights
Breakfast is good - especially the soup!
We mainly toured the city on foot - it was easily managed even in the heat of the day.
We stopped by at The Strand which is an interesting hotel - but rather dark and also too far from the centre for our brief visit
Also went to The Governor's Residence one lunch time - this is where we would stay if we wanted to sit back and relax and enjoy the luxury and the tranquil setting - but, again, too far from the center for our present time constraints
Parkroyal had all we needed for a brief stay in the city

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elaineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.5 km away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,711 reviews
0.9 km away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
346 reviews
2.2 km away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
338 reviews
1.3 km away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,409 reviews
2.9 km away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Yangon

Address: 33 Alan Pya Phaya Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11191, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $167 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an unforgetable experience at PARKROYAL Yangon, one of the best hotels in Myanmar, with superb location that puts you in the heart of the city's prized cultural attractions, including the legendary Shwedagon Pagoda and its heritage sites. Explore Yangon, a charming melting pot of noble cultures, scenic attractions and ancient traditions, from our convenient location. Our helpful associates are pleased to point you towards the best local experiences. Whether you're here for work or leisure, you'll leave with happy memories of dynamic Myanmar hotel that pampers you with its superb hospitatlity and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your PARKROYAL Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Parkroyal Yangon Rangoon
PARKROYAL Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing