We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible and disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Guest Care Hotel

Guest Care Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest Care Hotel
Ranked #128 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible and disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

Worse hotel in Myanmar!

We stayed for one night at Guest Care Hotel in November.

Of all the hotels we have stayed in Myanmar this one was the worse:

1- Room was dirty and shabby
2- We were promised a room with Pagoda view and we got a room with building next door view
3- Paid 35 US$ (quite too much for the standards of this hotel). For the same money you can get some very nice and clean accommodations
4- We were separated from the room next door by a wooden door…so we heard each other movements, TVs and… toilet visits
5- The restaurant next door (same owner), where you also get the breakfast serves overpriced bad quality food
6- Several rats call the restaurant their home
7- When we complained and wanted to talk to the owner he always refused to talk to us and sent out his poor staff who was not allowed to change the situation

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    12
    17
    6
See reviews for
2
9
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

I stayed here one night in Dec 09 -- it's perfectly fine, but really not worth the $30 they charged me for a single room. They also tried to charge me a pretty outrageous $1 for a bottle of water (the normal price is 1/3 of that), as well as charging 300 kyat me for an phonecall within Yangon - which should have cost 100 kyat at most (or nothing - which is what guest houses elsewhere in the country charged me). Finally, they advised me that a taxi into town should cost - you guessed it - twice what it should have cost. Like I say, it's a perfectly okay hotel, but all the above means I ain't staying there again. (in fact, i moved to another place the next night - the White House, which I DO recommend).
(PS, the much-vaunted views of the Shwedagon are not nearly as impressive as the LP makes them out to be. It's pretty distant, don't imagine a stunning peak into the area from on-high. )

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craxetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

As also mentioned in previous reviews, this is a typical indescriptive hotel (comparable with those in former Eastern Europe before the '89 revolution) for a reasonable price (ca. 24 USD), tucked away behind the well-known Coffee Circles (see below).
If you are just looking for a basic hotel (but with secured electricity, running water, BBC World Service) with a rather central location (at ca. 3 km (or 2 USD by taxi) from the city-centre and on walking distance to Shwedagon Pagoda; a must see) than this might be a good choice. Kind and helpful staff, though with a rather limited knowledge of English. Price is including breakfast (two slices of toasted bread, with egg the way you like it, marmelade, coffee/tea and one piece of fruit) in the adjacent (and well-known) bar/restaurant Coffee Circles (which also has a nice - but rather expensive - choice of lunch/dinner meals, fruit-shakes, coffees and cakes). The bar/restaurant (and even some of the rooms, eg. nr. 102) offers wireless internet (for free).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelNieuwegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Arrived to stay for 3 nights. We checked all rooms they had and didn't make any sense the price range they apply. Similar rooms have 10$ difference and same price for rooms were completely different in quality (?!)

Most of them if not all have views of Shewzigon Pagoda, one of the rooms was right in value and price (Deluxe, 26$) and then we arrived to the Junior Suite (37$), the second less bad as we needed 2 rooms. Furniture Ok, beds firm and seem clean, toilet definitely of a standard room and very strong smell of animal's urine by the window. Ah yes, there is a balcony with views!

We talk to the girl in reception and told her we'd only stay 3 nights for a much lower price. We left the following morning.

You could find better places for the same money. We went to Asian Plaza Hotel, with views of the Pagoda as well, for 30$. Nothing special, but price much right for value.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr2niet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2007

At first they seems very friendly but there are a lot of hidden things to get some extra money. They put 10 % tax and 10 % service fee on the bill for a dinner, which is not mentioned in the menu. It`s maybe the only hotel in Myanmar which charges for drinking water, nearly every hotel offers you two bottles of drinking water a day for free. And there`s is no pricelist at the minibar so you get to know the price when you checked out.
Finally they charged 2 $ for a broken juice glas (broked by our 5 years old daugther not with intension). The quality of the meals is midrange. The service is overpriced (like for transportation) !!!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fungky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2007

In February my wife and I stayed here for a couple nights.

Location is good, as it's out of the clamor of downtown and has a view of Schwedigon from a little balcony on the top floor.

Rooms are ok - simple and clean.

Nothing wrong with this hotel, but we would rank it lower than other places we've stayed in town (Winner Inn is better and a little cheaper; Summit Parkview is a little more expensive but far better).

  • Liked — Reasonable location
  • Disliked — Poor value
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel H Valley Yangon
Hotel H Valley Yangon
#51 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.7 km away
Yuzana Hotel
Yuzana Hotel
#125 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.8 km away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Winner Inn
Winner Inn
#7 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 km away
Sky View Hotel
Sky View Hotel
#52 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#47 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Care Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Care Hotel

Property: Guest Care Hotel
Address: 107(A) Dhamma Zedi Road | Kamayut Township, Bahan P.O., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guest Care Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Care Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing