We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
230
112
18
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
112
18
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barcheonggyecheon streambudget pricefamily roomcity hallbig showerwalking distancefinancial districthotel is locatedseoul stationgwangjang marketnice hotelgwanghwamun squaretwo single bedslotte departmental storefree shuttlelaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 369 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Convenient, clean, comfortable. Good staff and good breakfast. THis was a great relief after a long trip. Staff spoke fluent English. There was a pleasant lounge off the lobby with English and Korean language newspapers. They have a restaurant and bar but I did not go there except for breakfast, which was a nice mix of western and Korean options. While there are many restaurants nearby in the evening, I think breakfast would have been a challenge. The room was quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little small but would be considered great in Manhattan
Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kevinmccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minju s, 제너럴 매니저 at A First Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear kevinmccormick,
Greetings from aFIRST Myeongdong.

Thank you for your valuable feedback for us.
In particular, we are very happy to hear that the staff has given you useful information.
Our hotel offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and comfortable tea time. We recommend you to use more during your next visit.

It was our greatest pleasure to have been able to serve you here and
we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Thank you very much.

Sincerely,
James Jang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Air-con for family room was not working during my stay (29 Mar - 2 Apr 2018) and it was quite hot at night. We need to open the window during bed time. Nearby metro station (Line 2 - Euljiro 1-ga station) within 5-min walk, but not close to Myeong-dong station / Myeong-dong shopping area (about 15 to 20 mins walking distance).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank yungmabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minju s, 제너럴 매니저 at A First Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear yungmabb,
Greetings from aFIRST Myeongdong.

Thank you for your valuable feedback for us.
As you mentioned, our hotel is a great place for shopping and sightseeing.

But, I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the room temperature.
All room has individual Heating and AirCon control system and the control is working for one function depending on the season in Seoul.
Hope you can kindly understand our situation.
If there is any inconvenience in the future, please contact the front desk immediately.

It was our greatest pleasure to have been able to serve you here and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Thank you very much.

Sincerely,
James Jang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

The hotel is new. The rooms were clean , staff were nice and the location was very good surrounded by many restaurants and close to Myongdong shopping area and other major attractions. I recommend this hotel

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eyadjan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minju s, 제너럴 매니저 at A First Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear eyadjan89,
Greetings from aFIRST Myeongdong.

Thank you for your valuable feedback for us.
As you mentioned, our hotel is located at the center of 4 different subway stations (City Hall, Gwanghwamun, Euljiro 1ga and Jongak) and it only takes less than 5 minutes to get there. You may find lots of delights nearby hotel area and 24 hours convenient store as well.

Also, we will strengthen the shuttle bus during March by adjusting its route and operating hours.
You can easily move around the hotel such as Gyeongbok Palace, Seoul Station, and Namsan Tower.

It was our greatest pleasure to have been able to serve you here and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Thank you very much.

Sincerely,
James Jang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

A First Hotel Myeongdong. Its a place where you can feel home away from home. Very friendly staff,nice and clean room. Location is very accessible to myeongdong and Namdaemun,Train station and Bus station. Overall we are very happy with our stay in that hotel.Will definitely come back! Thank you A First Hotel Myeondong!

Percival De Jesus

Room Tip: If your looking for a best Hotel with good location,nice and clean room and friendly staff get AFirst Hotel Myeondong
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank val1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minju s, 제너럴 매니저 at A First Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Dear val1871,
Greetings from aFIRST Myeongdong.

Thank you for your valuable feedback for us.
As you mentioned, our hotel is located at the center of 4 different subway stations (City Hall, Gwanghwamun, Euljiro 1ga and Jongak) and it only takes less than 5 minutes to get there. You may find lots of delights nearby hotel area and 24 hours convenient store as well.

Also, we will strengthen the shuttle bus during March by adjusting its route and operating hours.
You can easily move around the hotel such as Gyeongbok Palace, Seoul Station, and Namsan Tower.
lastly, If you need more amenity, please feel free to contact the front desk.

It was our greatest pleasure to have been able to serve you here and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Thank you very much.

Sincerely,
James Jang
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

Only bed is too small, also room smells smoked. Very convenient to go everywhere, Myeongdong can go there by walk, no need to by subway. There are many good restaurants around the hotel. If I go there next time will choose the same hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sabrinakhh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minju s, 제너럴 매니저 at A First Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Dear sabrinakhh2018,
Greetings from aFIRST Myeongdong!

Thank you for your valuable feedback for us.
As you mentioned, our hotel is located at the center of 4 different subway stations (City Hall, Gwanghwamun, Euljiro 1ga and Jongak) and it only takes less than 5 minutes to get there. You may find lots of delights nearby hotel area and 24 hours convenient store as well.

Also, we strengthen the shuttle bus adjusting its route and operating hours. You can easily move around the hotel such as Gyeongbok Palace, Seoul Station, and Namsan Tower.

Nevertheless, we deeply apologize for hurting your feelings.
We will do our best to maintain the pleasant rooms.
If there is any inconvenience in using the room, contact the front desk immediately and we'll take care of it.

Your opinion are really grateful and all staff members are glad to share your review.
We really wish to serve you again with our improved service.
Thank you very much.

Sincerely,
James Jang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews