We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, not a 4-star quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benikea Hotel Acacia
Ranked #320 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Yes, apparently they advertise as a 4-star hotel, according to what scale I have no idea.
Not as advertised, especially if you get a standard room. Small room with a small window painted over white.
The bathroom is not separated from the bedroom, so you can (with some stretch) sit on the bed as you brush your teeth at the sink.
If you are a couple/family it might not be a big deal, but since I went with a friend/colleague I really disliked that unless I wanted to step out naked, I had to get dry&dressed right in the bathtub after a shower. I didn't like the idea of putting on their bathrobe - poor quality, worn out with holes. Otherwise the toilet/bath visibly newish - renovated, up to standard.
Furniture old, minibar empty. If you want to charge your cameras/phone, TV bench has to be pulled away from the wall, revealing not exactly safely installed set of sockets.
Only buffet breakfast available, rather basic selection, not included in price.
Only convenient location and available internet were appreciated.
We were upgraded to a much better room (I'd say 2.5 star worthy) but only after the call intervention from our agent. Ask to view several rooms if upon arrival you are not happy with what you see.

Room Tip: Book the best room you can, upon arrival negotiate to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jflooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

It takes 10 mins walking to metro station, either Dongdamun or Uijiro Station.

It is more expensive than other hotels nearby, eg Western Co-op.

The room has only 1 tiny window, with no curtain...

The feeling is so bad even my room has a good view (13/F).

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PIGPIGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The hotel is easily reached by airport bus, convenient, near metro/subway, it is in the Dongdaemun area. Room is spacious with big beds and computer with internet access, thought sometimes painfully slow. The hotel lobby is a bit worn out and needs a facelift, staff and receptionist are polite and friendly. Beds are comfy, and is quiet I can have a good night sleep. Bathroom are spacious with toilet seat area and shower cubicle separated, and here is the best part, there is a Jacuzzi bath tub in the corner and Wow, I thoroughly enjoy the tub after a day of shopping, has a big TV inside the room too. Room is being cleaned everyday and trash taking care of…
The only thing I can think of is it could be a bit scary when walking back to the hotel at late night as the street is dark and quiet. That shouldn’t be a problem If you are travelling with a group, and I think Seoul is a fairly safe city.
Overall, I enjoy this hotel and will stay here if I am in Seoul again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tachyon083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We spend two nights here. We payed $130.00 Aust and for that we got a very large bed, very large TV and a timber bathand internet in your room, a shower not a shower over the bath. It was amazing and the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We do an overseas trip one a year for about the last 11 years. Well done Hotel Acicia Korea. We will be back if we come back to Korea if not we will tell our friends. From an Australian couple.
Thankyou.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chez270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This hotel is located at Dongdaemun area; where market/mall opens till 5 a.m. in the morning. That was the reason why we book a hotel at this location. Hotel accomodates for big family, they have 2 double bed in room, and another extra single bed. Big TV, and 2 PC with free wifi in the room.Yes, they also have sauna and big bath tub in the room!. It's the cheapest we've paid for a room in Seoul. Only downside is, it's located at the other end of Dongdaemun, when you are coming back at night, it's really quiet and dark.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2010 for a quick weekend getaway with friends.

The best feature of this hotel must be its location. The hotel is situated between the Dongdaemun Market subway station and the Uljiro 4-ga subway station (each station about 10 minutes walk away). Right opposite the hotel is a convenience store and it only takes about 6 - 8 minutes to walk to the Dongdaemun shopping arcades (Doota/ Migliore) so you can shop till 4am in the morning and carry your goodies back to the hotel. The hotel is also reasonably close to a wet market (if you head towards the Uljiro 4-ga subway station) for those into getting a flavour of local culture.

Eat: There are two restaurants in the hotel (from memory) although we have never tried it. 24-hour eateries are available in the Dongdaemun market area (about 8 - 10 minutes walk away).

Transport: As the hotel is situated at the crossroad of two major roads, hailing down a cab is usually not an issue. The staff at the reception can always help to call a cab. We did have some difficulty locating the restaurant on our first day, so it is best to carry the telephone number of the hotel with you so the taxi driver can call the reception in case you are lost.

Rooms: Rooms are reasonably big (i.e. with room to walk in after fitting two medium sized suitcases). As someone previously mentioned on tripadvisor, there is a computer to each room (and free ethernet) which makes it easy to keep in touch with people back home (though internet speed is more like a dial-up than broadband). My only complaint is that not every room has a window and the rooms are dimly lit. Our room had an opening to the wall for fresh air, but as the hotel is situated on a main road, it is impossible to sleep with the "hole in the wall" open at night (There is also nothing to keep the hedge open.). Also the hotel had not compensated for the lack of natural light with artifical lighting - it was so dark in the room I found it necessary to read the guidebook sitting on the toilet seat (the only well lit place in the room) and put on makeup there.

It should also be noted that washrooms have an open design, with the toilet seat and the shower cubicle separated only by semi-transparent glass. The shower cubicle opens to wash basin and the corridor facing the beds so any person seeking to dry off after a shower will be in open view to the person in the room.

Rooms appear to be clean, though it is difficult to tell as it is so dark. Beds are made up every day and trash taken care of. From recollection, the beds were acceptable, though not particularly springy and the pillows were a bit too soft.

All in all, I believe there should be better hotels in the Dongdaemun area. But if you are looking for a clean, convenient hotel at a reasonable price, this can be one of your choices (but do try to request a room with a proper window).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globetrotter_wanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Probably the first holiday in years that went without a hitch! The staff there were very nice, and the service is beyond what you would expect in this class of hotel. It is 4 star so you don't expect perfection, but it gets pretty close, especially in terms of the food.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinUK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#242 of 505 in Seoul
46 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Uljiro CO-OP Residence
Uljiro CO-OP Residence
#158 of 505 in Seoul
296 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
ibis budget Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Dongdaemun I
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Baiton Hotel
Baiton Hotel
#150 of 505 in Seoul
89 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#142 of 505 in Seoul
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benikea Hotel Acacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benikea Hotel Acacia

Address: 360, Dongho-ro, Seoul 04561, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $68 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Benikea Hotel Acacia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benikea Hotel Acacia consists of 134 guest rooms, various banquet halls that can sit up to 700 people, and a luxurious wedding hall. The hotel is devoted to satisfying customers with high-quality service and advanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Benikea Hotel Acacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing