We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, value for money, and awesome hospitality :)”
Review of Ann Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seoul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ann Guesthouse
Ranked #52 of 541 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, value for money, and awesome hospitality :)”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you're looking for a convenient location to stay at in Seoul, this is IT! Ann Guesthouse is conveniently located near exit 1 of Hongik Uni. station. & all the rooms have lift access so you don't have to worry about your luggage at all!

the 4 of us managed to get a room for 6 cos the other rooms were full during the period we travelled. It was really great, stayed at 7th floor and had an awesome view from our window! Plentiful of beds, pillows, and even a couch in the room! Totally self-sufficient as well as all the appliances (fridge, toaster, microwave, water dispenser, computer, wifi etc.) are all inside the room! The place is very clean, and Ann provided us with a fresh loaf of bread everyday as well as offers laundry services.

Location rocks as well as it is near all the shopping area, and Ms Ann is a very hospitable person as well so you can direct her any questions you might have about getting around in Seoul :)

Definitely would stay here the next time I visit Seoul!!! :D 5 million stars for Ann's Guesthouse :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
4
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed in Ann's guesthouse for 3 days and it was amazing! Conveniently located in hong-ik station and very near to Hong-ik university where the hip and cool people resides study. most importantly Ms. Ann is very accommodating and very nice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stay at Ann's Guesthouse for 2 weeks during Spring. I really enjoyed my stay here. Conveniently located right above Hongik Station. The place is really clean as Ann's husband vacuums the place, cleans the toilet and empties the trash everyday. He does it in the afternoon while everyone was out, so everyday after exploring you'd come back to a really clean environment, excellent. There free wireless internet as well. Free toast (jam/butter) for breakfast everyday. A stove, hot/cold water dispenser so you could actually cook a meal or just have instant noodles. Beds were comfortably decent. We'd get new clean towels daily. Got to meet interesting people from Thailand-Turkey-Korea etc. while staying in the dormitory room. But the best thing that Ann provides is that they do your laundry for you! You just have to leave them in a basket and they'd wash, dry them and return them to you the next day. There's an ironing board and iron provided as well. I paid 20 000 won/night. This place is the best value for money ratio imo. I wouldn't recommend this place to others only because there might not be room for me to reserve in future if i revisit Korea.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank meow234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

perfect location. very nice hosts. wonderful place. =)

Room Tip: excellent for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherie_dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at ann guesthouse for 5 nights and the service was excellent. Enable us to keep our luggage in her office when we traveled to jeju, provided simple breakfast and free laundry. Location was great as it was at hongik university, easily access by metro system in seoul. Extremely high speed of free wifi to use and free internet with TV in the room. The only disadvantage is that the bathroom and toilet is together, so we all have to queue up to use it which take a lot of time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. Great location right on the excellent metro system, big clean dorm with free tea/coffee and as much toast as you can eat. Even more ace is the free laundry service, thats a first for me.
My 8-bed dorm was only generally half full so it would have been interesting to see how busy the single bathroom would be under full occupancy.
The owners are friendly and helpful and make you feel like a guest rather than a customer like so many other places.
Caveat: based on my experiences it's not exactly a party hostel as most of the guests tend to keep themselves to themselves, so there may be more appropriate hostels if you are looking for a few drinking buddies for nights out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I stayed with Ann guesthouse for 5 nights, we checked out on April 1st 2012. We booked a family room for ourselves. Our room is located on the 16th floor.
All the reviews by fellow tripadvisor users hold true to Ann guesthouse, it is 100% worth very penny for it's location, which is so near to Hongik university subway station. Ann guesthouse got the best wifi, top notch, and it's endless of tv channel available to us. They have PC for you to use as well. There is a 24 hours KFC nearby and of course family mart too.
However there are a few pointers I would like to share with those who are going to Seoul for holiday, especially my own people, the Singaporeans.
Pointer number 1: if you are a shopperholic like myself, you might want to stay in myeongdong area. Because myeongdong is a shopping paradise for Singaporeans who love skin care products, fashion clothing, and lots of makan places aka restaurants.
Pointer number 2: if you are into cheap bargain clothing and accessories ,Hello Apm,doota, migliore, U:US shopping mall, you might also want to stay in myeongdong area, because dongdaemun is only like less than 3 stations away, and you are on subway line 4 all the way. Hongik university is at line 2, and from Hongik to dongdaemun history culture station is like 9 stations away !
Pointer number 3: walking to the subway and changing subway lines is not fun at all, regardless which district you are staying. Seoul subway is way more extentsive as compared to my Singapore MRT. climbing of staircases and walking to board the train, is no joking matter.
Pointer number 4: I would like to suggest to Ann guesthouse , if they are reading this review, I would like to advise them to change their window blinds, because the window blinds in my room were unable to shield the sunlight from outside. After a late night shopping, the next thing you want is being woken up at 7-8am, due to the sunlight penetrating into the room. We had to use eye shades in order to sleep till 10-11am.
Pointer number 5: the beds in my room is not that comfortable, if you are traveling with your folks, they might not be able to take it.
lastly, My piece of advice to all Singaporeans who wants to explore Seoul and on a tight budget , this is the best accommodation you can get in Seoul. oh, one more thing, if you are traveling with your wife/girlfriend or any female companions, Ann guesthouse bathroom might not up to the girl's standard.
You should know what I mean yeah !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Kenji_suppitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Hongdae Guesthouse
Hongdae Guesthouse
#27 of 940 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
#4 of 940 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Hongdae
Dustin Guest House
Dustin Guest House
#38 of 541 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
NJoy Seoul
NJoy Seoul
#142 of 940 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Hongdae
Urbanwood Guesthouse
Urbanwood Guesthouse
#7 of 940 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Hongdae
Cocoon Stay Hongdae
Cocoon Stay Hongdae
#115 of 541 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann Guesthouse

Property: Ann Guesthouse
Address: 514 Paradistel 5th floor, 159-6, Dongkyo-Dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul 121-200, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 541 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ann Guesthouse Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing