We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star room, 5 star service; smells like smoke” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Seoul COEX

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Ranked #25 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“3 star room, 5 star service; smells like smoke”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

My room was on a non-smoking floor, but the smell of smoke lingered. The worst part of the room is the bathroom faucet. It is dual knobs, with no easy handle to turn; especially hard to turn with wet hands. That aside, the water was hot enough, and decent pressure, though definitely not the greatest. The room lighting controls are disguised as an alarm control, took me a few days to find out (possibly operator error?). The mattress is firm, and a pillow menu is available. The staff speaks English, and are accessible at all hours.

The service was fantastic, the concierge automatically made a car reservation for my return trip. I was sufficiently impressed to conclude this merits five stars for service.

There is no reason to stay at this hotel, since taxis are cheap in Seoul. The Coex Mall is connected to the hotel, but nothing else is nearby.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johndoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
johndoe13,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.
Thank you again for your review.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    604
    119
    26
    16
See reviews for
176
141
124
796
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wahroonga, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental COEX for the first time last week and was impressed. My room had a great view and was well appointed. Great location close to mall and business district. Staff were very helpful.
Just 2 small concerns - prices in the bar were expensive and the Asia Alive restaurant on the 2nd floor which I ate at needs some help. Menu choice was poor and food bland - Plenty of other good places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJC238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

Our location and direct access to areas such as the COEX Mall, the Duty Free store & Casino are a great advantage for staying with us here at the InterContinental Seoul COEX and as you have highlighted our higher floor rooms certainly have some of the best views of Seoul and surrounding areas.

I was very pleased and proud that you mentioned the friendliness that all our team here at the InterContinental Seoul Coex display in our attempt to make your stay here in Seoul a pleasant and memorable one but naturally disappointed that you found Asian Live to be not so memorable.

The menu itself is quite extensive offering Korean, Chinese, Japanese and Indian and therefore would be very grateful if you could share a few more details with me on your experience so we can follow up and make any necessary changes and improvements.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and we hope that should you return to Seoul you will again choose the InterContinental Seoul, Coex.

Travel Safe and Best Regards,

Darren Morrish
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very good business hotel near the river in Coex. Especially the highest floors have a magnificent views. Rooms are big and clean with a quite hard bed. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Highest floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

I was very pleased and proud that you mentioned the friendliness that all our team here at the InterContinental Seoul Coex display in our attempt to make your stay here in Seoul a pleasant and memorable one.
Our rooms certainly boast some great views over the Han River, and other areas of Seoul…and do hope you got to visit and enjoy the spectacular view from our Sky Lounge Restaurant located on the 30th Floor..?

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and we hope that should you return to Seoul you will again choose the InterContinental Seoul, Coex.

Travel Safe and Best Regards,

Darren Morrish
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have been to the COEX Intercontinental Hotel on numerous occasions for the wine buffet on a saturday and I am basing my opinion purely on the wine buffet and not the accommodation the hotel offers.
First of all, the fact that the price of this buffet managed to go from 23,000 won up to 39,000 in less than 10 months is an absolute disgrace.
The food on offer is diabolical, and usually consists of typical Korean street food (sundae) to cheese slices, cut in half, still in their wrappers.
Maybe people don't go here just to eat, but for those who do, its not even worth it for what you pay.
Alcohol wise its an OK deal, but the staff seem a bit reluctant to telling you have certain things when the deal is, all you can drink.
The head waiter is an older gentleman who needs to learn a thing or too about attitude and manners in general.
The standard and quality of this otherwise fine establishment has been and continues to deteriorate and I have made the decision to never go again for the wine buffet.
I voiced my opinions to the COEX via email which is of course, ignored.
Give it a miss.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cfp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review in relation to our Lobby Lounge.

Firstly please let me explain why in fact you have not received any response from us:

Despite numerous attempts to contact you from different workstations and email addresses your email continued to bounce back as an invalid address, and as you have only given us this address we have had no other means or ways of contacting you.

We actually did respond to you back in August and again in January however with the same result…”undeliverable address”.
Therefore I was very disappointed to read your comments again here on TripAdvisor knowing that you could have easily called the hotel and asked if we had in fact received your complaint..

We take feedback from all our guests very seriously and use this feedback in many of our meetings to improve the quality and offerings which we cater to our regular and loyal customers.

As per when we received your original email and did reply to you, I would be more than happy to discuss your experience in greater detail and encourage you to contact me here at the hotel directly at anytime, however given the problems we have had with your email account I suggest you do this by means of telephone!

Thank you once again for taking the time to voice your opinion, however please share the facts without making assumptions.

I hope to hear back from you sometime in the near future.

Best Regards,



Darren Morrish
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

As a RA, got upgraded to a very nice Corner Suite. Stayed just for a night as I also wanted to check out the other Intercon. Staff were very pleasant and friendly. They have a free taxi shuttle service from the City Air Terminal. They even arranged for a free shuttle to the Grand Intercon when I checked out. Access to the Casino on the 2nd floor is very convenient. I had a nice view of the Huge Buddha Statue & Temple which is adjacent to the hotel. Rooms are clean, modern finish and well maintained.

Room Tip: High floor room facing the Buddha Temple will be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.

Our location and direct access to areas such as the COEX Mall, the Duty Free store & Casino are a great advantage for staying with us here at the InterContinental Seoul, Coex.
As you have highlighted the view out over the Bongeunsa Temple from our corner suite rooms is truly a unique and calming outlook in this bustling and vibrant city of Seoul.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Seoul, Coex again sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Darren Morrish
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

this is the second time we stayed at intercon in coex. the last time was three years ago.
i had very good memory of this hotel three years ago so decided to stay there again in Jan 2012. it wasnt a disapointment. it was still as good as it used to be, the room is spacious but less spacious compared to the grand intercontinental hotel but it was good, the bath room is huge!! a shower with separate bath. we stayed there very comfortably that i didnt even miss home =(
its connected to coex mall, so pretty much all undercover, so perfect for winter... abt 10-15mins walk to the subway station, depends on how fast you can walk. but it was ok distance. i still love this hotel...

3 years ago the room service memu was really good,this year they have changed the menu, very disapointed. as i used to have room service almost every night 3 years ago. i just couldnt resist it. this time i didnt even want to look at the menu.

but anyway this is still a good hotel to stay at. i wouldnt rate it higher than grand intercontinental next door to it though. if i have to pick one, i would prefer grand intercontinental hotel as its 2 mins walk to the subway and with spacious room!!
but i will come back to this hotel again nexxt time , as i still hope that they will change their room service menu , i really miss eating umm Ali "dessert" from intercon coex.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raindrops2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your favorable comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here in Seoul.
I was very happy to hear that you have returned after 3yrs and still love our hotel just as much, something that the team will be very proud of.
We hope you don’t have to wait another 3yrs before you return again…!

Thank you for your feedback and comments on our Room Service Menus, we actually are currently reviewing these menus and will be making a number of changes and introductions back into our menus and appreciate your honesty and opinion on the current offerings which I will definitely share with the team.

As you have highlighted, our location and direct access to areas such as the COEX Mall, the Duty Free store & Casino really are all great reasons to choose the InterContinental Seoul Coex but additionally with our dedicated team who are always striving to make your visit to Seoul a enjoyable one we do hope that when you return to Seoul you will again choose the InterContinental Seoul Coex.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again and again…

Best Regards,

Darren Morrish
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I hesitate a lot between 3 stars and 4 stars but in the end I decided to give this place 3 stars -- mainly because of its price. Make no mistake -- this is a very solid choice, and I actually prefer this one to its bigger (and considerably older) sibling that is a few blocks away: Grand Intercontinental. Here are a few points to note:

1. Its location is ideal for exploring the Kangnam area (South of Han River) of Seoul.

It is adjacent to the large underground mall complex called "COEX." You will find all kinds of restaurants, shops, aquarium and cinemas along the busy underground corridors. You won't get bored even if alone. This part of Seoul is very much young, in terms of both construction and people. Also, right in front of this hotel is a nice temple -- a perfect place to stroll and mediate. If you take a cab, you can reach most everywhere in Kangnam in 20 minutes.

2. Rooms are small but neat.

Do not expect any luxury here and tend to be small as well, but they are clean, modern and nicely appointed.

3. Staffs are average.

The staffs are average by most luxury hotel standards: polite and business-like but not going out of way for your concerns.

4. Foods are average.

The Asian Grill on the second floor was by far my favorite: they have a sampling of Asian dishes including Indian. All very authentic. However, the first-floor main buffet falls short of the standard expected of this level hotel. Also, the prices tend to be steep in light of the foods they offer.

In conclusion, Korea is not the best place for value-oriented hotel tourists. The prices are almost on par with those in San Francisco or New York (beverages are much, much more expensive). But I found this one among the more reasonable, although I would prefer its price to be a bit lower considering its level -- although it is rated as a five-star hotel, I can see that it is more like a four-star one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enpassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Manager at InterContinental Seoul COEX, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback after your recent stay with us here at the InterContinental Seoul Coex.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a chance to look around the local Gangnam area.

Our location and direct access to areas such as the COEX Mall, the Duty Free store & Casino are a great advantage for staying with us here at the InterContinental Seoul COEX and having the cultural and historical places such as the Bongeunsa Temple, located across the street, certainly gives a calming feel to this bustling city.

I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage team in relation to Asian Live and also your thoughts on the Brasserie. We are actually finalizing some renovation and improvement plans for this outlet and are confident these will be well received.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the InterContinental Seoul Coex sometime in the near future and again thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Darren Morrish
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Seoul
#32 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#16 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#60 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Seoul COEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Seoul COEX

Property: InterContinental Seoul COEX
Address: 524 Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06164, South Korea (Formerly COEX InterContinental Seoul)
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Seoul
#12 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#12 Family Hotel in Seoul
#13 Business Hotel in Seoul
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#32 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Seoul COEX 5*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Seoul COEX is part of the massive World Trade Center Seoul, the country s one-stop business destination. You ll walk to COEX, Korea City Air Terminal and the COEX Mall s underground 16-screen theatre and more than 200 shops. Well worth a short drive are the Namdaemun Market, the Namsan Hanok Village and the Korean War Battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Seoul COEX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Seoul Coex Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing