We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the budget traveler”
Review of Hotel Dongdaemun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dongdaemun
Ranked #341 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location for the budget traveler”
Reviewed 30 April 2008

The hotel was recommended by our Korean business friends who we instructed to get us a below USD 100 a night room and they did at USD75. Very good location and budget wise you would spend less since you are at the city center.

Do not expect the frills and fancy of a business hotel. This is good for a 4d/3 night stay for those who just need a sleep in and shop, shop, shop plus enjoy the sightseeing in wonderful Seoul.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank majangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
3
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We booked two rooms at this hotel but the conditions they were in were identical - small room, dark and grim, dirty old carpet, air condition that did not work. The best area in the room is the bathroom! I made a mistake of using their shampoo which not only I found out later I had to pay for but the previous occupier had mixed water in the shampoo to avoid paying for it. Staff spoke very limited English and it seemed they used that as an excuse not to take up your complaints.

However, the location is great, its very central and close to lots of restaurants, shopping centres and local food and clothes market which open until late. The subway is also just outside the hotel so its convenient to travel anywhere within Seoul. There is only one computer access at the hotel reception area. I did not have meals at the hotel so cannot comment.

I would recommend this hotel to travellers who are on tight budget and only use the hotel as their base to put stuff away and to sleep!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unclean rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsImpartial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

I stayed in this hotel from 16May-20May'07 for a business cum leisure trip. Generally this hotel has nothing in appeal besides its great location, which totally makes up for everything.

The hotel is just within 5 minutes walk to its famous shopping belt in Dongdaemun and the fashion wholesale market. A subway station is just below it. Within a few stations away, you can access to the various business centres and shopping areas like Myeoungdong (very hip & trendy), Itaewon, etc. Great if you are planning for a lot of shopping.

You can never go hungry staying in this hotel. There are alot of eateries around. However they are all in Korean so equipped with lots of pictures or wordings in Korean, and show them to the food vendors. Most of these restaurants and local eateries (those in small shops) are quite safe to try as they are quite standardized in their pricings. However do be careful of the roadside food stalls (those operates in makeshift canvas and big plastic sheets to block out the cold) as they usually jack up their prices when they know you are not local. Check before you sit down.

Besides the great locality of this hotel, expect nothing else from their services or the luxury they provide. The rooms are very rundown and dark, aircons blew warm air (we stayed in two rooms and faced same problems with the aircons) and need servicing badly, the carpets are very dirty, the wallpapers are stained yellow and etc. The hotel staff are okay but like the locals, they speak very little English.

Generally, the hotel has nothing appealing except for its great location that totally makes up for it. You won't regret its location! Communication is a big problem in Korea, so go equipped with your maps, pictures of food, wordings in Korean of things you need and etc.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — The rooms are rundown.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 April 2006

The service was quite good, typical of Korea and Japan. However, my room was rather shabby, and the bathroom smelled. I asked for a non-smoking room, but was told there were none available. There was a strong contrast with the luxurious (albeit 50 percent more expensve) room I had in Tokyo the following night. The Hotel Dongdaemun has a restaurant with a nice buffet that I found very convenient for both lunch and dinner. It is located in an interesting shopping area encompassing winding side streets with Old Asian street stalls, wholesale marts crammed with merchandise in huge multistory buildings, and modern retal stores. I predict you won't buy much there, but you will glimpse a bit of what is driving the economy of the country. For souvenir shopping, try Insa-Dong instead.

  • Stayed April 2001, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2005

This hotel was ok. It looked like it had seen much better days and you could smell it in the air. However, it's in a very busy intersection of the city and sits right above the subway line. Very good location.

The clerk at the front desk was not nice at all, and my friends and I didn't feel welcome. We didn't stay in the hotel much, but that was a good thing because I wouldn't have wanted to either way.

If you are just looking for a place close to the attractions and shopping, regardless of decor and such, than stay here. But if you like to feel comfortable and relaxed after a day of traveling around Seoul, choose another place.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nekostickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 January 2005

This hotel is pretty much a regular Best Western. The room was okay, a little small but we've become used to that in Asian countries. The main thing we didn't like was that they make you pay for all toiletries so I would suggest bringing your own shampoo and soap. They give you the excuse about it being bad for the environment to provide little bottles.
The hotel in general is very simple. The staff weren't bad. They spoke a little English and helped out with directions for the airport shuttle bus. Hotel is close to shopping markets and authentic restaurants. It's not bad if you can find it at a good price.
To get here from airport take the bus bound for Cheongryangni (bus #602). If you hear the word 'Dongdaemun' get off the bus. We had to ask a few people for directions as it was a little difficult to find. When returning to the airport, go to the opposite side of the street from where you were dropped off. Make sure you look for a sign that says 'airport limousine', don't just stand at the regular bus stop like we did and waste lots of time.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Kingstown Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Tong Vivace Dongdaemun
Hotel Migliore
#196 of 471 in Seoul
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
KY-Heritage Hotel Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#315 of 471 in Seoul
43 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Uljiro Co-op Residence
Uljiro Co-op Residence
#154 of 471 in Seoul
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dongdaemun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dongdaemun

Property: Hotel Dongdaemun
Address: 286, Jong-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03119, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dongdaemun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dongdaemun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dongdaemun
Best Western Seoul
Seoul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing