We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic old style luxury hotel”
Review of The Shilla Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shilla Seoul
Ranked #17 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Shilla is a grand old hotel with a wonderful staff and many amenities. It is not in the best location in modern Seoul and getting from the hotel to many business engagements can be complicated by traffic. But, it is a very fine hotel where one is treated with great care and efficiency by an exceptionally well-trained staff.

The hotel is old and, in some places, shows its age. The rooms are not ultramodern and are not setup to accommodate the electrical needs of a modern business travelers. But, the rooms are relatively large, very quiet and laid out to make you feel comfortable and even "at home". It also has wi-fi and other communications amenities that make up for the complications of finding sockets.

The fitness center at the Shilla is one of the best that I have ever used. Even though it has a big local following and is frequently crowded, I never had a problem getting access to a treadmill or other equipment. The center's staff is better than average and are very attentive to your fitness and other needs (like broken shoe laces).

The Shilla has a range of restaurants including excellent French and Chinese rooms. It also has an all-day, buffet centered restaurant that is really first rate. For breakfast, the choices are immense as they are for dinner. Okay, buffets are not everyone's cup of tea but this one is exceptional and worth a try.

The Shilla has a wonderful old-fashioned bar that features a very fine jazz ensemble most nights. And, unlike many Asian establishments, the bar has a nonsmoking section and actually enforces the rule.

i like this place a lot. Not hip or cool in any way; it is a classy old style hotel with almost perfect service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
There are newer reviews for The Shilla Seoul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

Shilla is supposedly the pinnacle of Korean hospitality and star quality. Or it probably was - a decade ago.

The hotel feels decidedly old and worn - and the rooms (Superior room, 2146) are very small. The lobby is by all means impressive, as is the entrance driveway.

The neighbourhood is empty - at least if you, like me, like a bit of life in the street beneath you. You have to take taxis to most places from here. Gangnam, for example, seems to have a lively cafe and restaurant life (I'm by no means an expert).

The service is average. If you only have a GSM phone (they don't work in Korea), there is a free rental attached to the room. Outgoing calls of course cost - but at least your loved ones (or the office) can call you.

However, I still stress at paying usd 25 for an internet connection per day - at those rates and in this day and age, you just can't justify that. Especially in a city where internet is free in most cafes.

As I was staying 4 days, I asked if I could instead join the Leading Hotels of the World (LHW) Leaders Club - which Shilla is a member of - pay the usd 100 membership fee and in return get free WiFi (that is guaranteed as a LHW member). That would make sense, at least. However, no help to get here, either; that was not possible after the booking was made - and besides, the room rate would probably be different. I could join the Shilla Dynasty (only worth anything if you travel in Korea, I believe ?). Not a lot of help - and seemingly not interested in promoting the Leaders Club, either.

Final straw; a skinny fruit platter and cafe latte as a quick morning bite will set you back usd 50 !

I would accept that Shilla used to be Korean top quality. Today, however, they seem to have been taken over - in most aspects - by the large international chains. I'd advise you to book at a Gangnam business quality hotel instead.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Did 2 nights here a few days ago.

Had the transfer from the airport, given the distance from incheon its well worth doing!

The hotel is amazing and has real wow factor. Lobby is cavernous. Well worth paying the 40k won extra per night to go one step up from the deluxe.

Room was really nice. True luxury after just coming back from the south pacific and having had a couple of overnight flights!

My only criticism would be the food and drink prices. Room service - 2 of the cheapest dishes on night 1 cost us more than the rest of our combined f&b spend the remainder of thee trip to Seoul!

More than likely will stay here though next time in Seoul.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I recently stayed at the Shilla Seoul for 3 days. It was my second visit. I really like atmosphere and service at the hotel, rooms are always keep clean. I highly recommend !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I was at this hotel last week.
As Seoul is far from Incheon airport it always takes time to get into the city.
The gentle climb to the hotel opens a great view of the japanese style building around.
The entrance is nice and in the -7C the warmth from the burners are welcome.
The lobby is huge !
The attraction now is the large christmas ornament hanging at the lobby,made with over 1 lakh crystals with strings,looks great ( have put in a picture of the same)
The checkin was on the executive floor and was very smooth and fast.The floor also has a executive club that has happy hours in the evening,good! and a lovely view across the glass wall.
The rooms are large and comfortable,bathrooms included.
There is complimentary internet in the room,which is so welcome nd very easy to plugin as well. The breakfast is continental only
In all I had a good stay.I had herd the name of this hotel for the very first time and was sceptical,but was plesantly surprised.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highstandards00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I recently stayed at the Shilla for a business trip and the service was perfect the entire stay. My company booked me a car service from the airport. A hotel representative met me outside customs and walked me to the curbside where the car was waiting. On arrival at the hotel the doorman had been told in advance that I was arriving and greeted me by name (nice touch!) and they had all my papers for check-in waiting.

I was on an executive floor and the rooms were huge with a separate sitting and dressing area from the bedroom and long with a big bathroom.

Room service was very good and punctual.

I wish I had more time to use the hotel services and explore the grounds.

The hotel was about a 15 minute cab ride from my office so that would be the only drawback of this hotel for me.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USHKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We live nearby the hotel, so we take advantage of the summer packages to use the pool (kids).

Shilla is a hotel with a great reputation, and the service is just that. The lobby looks fabulous, as is the Lobby Lounge buffet.

We enjoy the swimming pool, although it's a bit small, but it's great for younger kids.

However, the rooms are really old and out-dated. Everything in it (except for the TVs) looks worn, not sure when the last time they cleaned the carpet.

Overall, service, food is great, but the hotel really needs to do a complete renovation for the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryChoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 500 in Seoul
3,327 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#69 of 500 in Seoul
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#25 of 500 in Seoul
1,844 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shilla Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shilla Seoul

Address: 249, Dongho-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04605, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Namsan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seoul
#6 Family Hotel in Seoul
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $272 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shilla Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilla Seoul represents the best hotel in Korea, with contemporary design blending well with traditional patterns and style used back in the Shilla Dynasty. Next to the main building stands the former guesthouse that was once used to welcome special guests from around the world. The main building is replete with restaurants offering outstanding international cuisine, a shopping arcade featuring global brand goods, a pool, and a luxurious spa while in a separate building within the property lies a grand duty-free shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Shilla Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shilla Seoul Hotel Seoul
Shilla Hotel Seoul
The Shilla Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing