We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Hotel Itaewon
Ranked #388 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“terrible hotel”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I stayed for 2 nights. The decoration of the room needs a serious update and the bed was really uncomfortable. The walls were very thin, It did not help that I was sandwiched between 2 occupied rooms, so I could hear the bathroom tabs and toilet flashes from one room, and other guests talking in the other room. There is also a night club located within the hotel complex, i could hear the music playing at 3:30am in the morning and that really gave me a headache. Stay away from this tel if you want to get a good nights sleep. Plus, there is no Wifi in room, and guests have to sit in the lobby if they want to have internet access.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nzpinkypiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    38
    139
    45
    13
See reviews for
62
32
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Near famous iteawon, good clubbing area, 5-min walk to the railway, just takes you 20-30 mins to famous myeongdong and dongtaemon.  Room rate is cheap - but if you don't mind their poor front desk service, it is definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meganpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed a few nights because The Crown Itaewon was close to our son's apartment and close to the location of his wedding (wedding hall at the War Memorial Museum). The room was a little cramped and too warm, but clean with very good housekeeping service. Being on the front, the road was too noisy to keep the window open for ventilation. Our rate included a good scrambled egg and sausage breakfast with toast, orange juice, and coffee. Had to use the wi-fi in the lobby for internet. Just around the corner from Itaewon Road, lots of restaurants, bars, coffee shops.

Room Tip: A back room would be good for opening the window when it is hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruceandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Having studied reviews of this hotel on the internet and looked at pictures I have to say I was not looking forward to staying here really. However, as my son was living less than 200 metres away from this place we decided it was good to be close to his flat so booked 4 nights there.
I do have to admit it was badly in need of a refurbish as the rooms were very old style and on first walk into the room you wanted to leave. However, once there and over the first shock it wasn't too bad at all. Very clean rooms and very quiet. The hallways however stunk of smoke and had that stale feel about it. Once again smoking in Asia is very common so I guess you have to over look that sort of thing. It didn't help that smoking trays were outside the lifts so it didn't do anything to stop people with this disgusting habit. It was a fairly popular hotel and there was always tour buses there in the mornings so I guess these people liked it.
We stayed 4 nights then left for Busan for a few days. We tried to rebook at the Crown on our return to Seoul but it was full so had to find somewhere else.
Internet was slack. Nothing was available in our rooms so had to go down to the foyer to use it. The two computers down there were all set to Korean so it was darn difficult to get some help to change things. For some reason the WiFi would not connect with my laptop and it was too difficult to get help from the staff because of the language barrier.
Anyway, other than that it was okay really, hopefully they will modernise things shortly and make it a bit more appealing. The location for us was wonderful and very handy to central Itaewon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbern2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The Crown is anything but, It is easily 10 years past it's prime and provided absolutely no value for the money. Perhaps they reserve the best rooms for their asian customers because mine could only be described as a pitiful. I had to go down to the lobby to have access to wi-fi which is ridiculous with how easy it is to but an access point on each floor. The entire floor smelled of smoke and the carpet probably hasn't been cleaned in years. At $135 dollars per night there is absolutely nothing good to say about the place. They even charged me 700 won for placing a local call to a cellphone. Do yourself a favor a skip this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank continental883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Crackle83
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This place could do with a serious upgrade but it is cheap compared to other hotels in Seoul.
The rooms were clean but very warm (April) which made getting a restful night difficult and also the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything (and I mean everything) that is going on in the rooms next to and above you.
Located in Insadong it is a convenient walk from shopping streets and the wall memorial.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crackle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

I just came back from the Crown Itaewon and I have to say that the location is fabulous. It's in Itaewon but it's enough off the beaten track that noise isn't a problem. It's close enough to the shopping/dining area, and about 5 minutes from the War Memorial which was one of the sights we wanted to visit. Plus, it's close to the subway.

I booked through Asiarooms and the price was great. $70USD for a single room on a Saturday night in Seoul.

The one problem: the room itself. It was a good size, but it looked like it hadn't been furnished in about 30 years. The furniture was big, heavy and very ornate. It was cream colored with pink angels and flower carvings. Throw in the green print carpet and green striped wall paper and you get the picture.

Personally, at the end of the day, I just couldn't relax in this room. It's the only reason that I wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The room decor.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
#148 of 472 in Seoul
389 reviews
Itaewon
I.T.W Hotel
I.T.W Hotel
#263 of 472 in Seoul
44 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Crown Tourist Hotel
Crown Tourist Hotel
#197 of 472 in Seoul
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benikea Hotel KP
#167 of 472 in Seoul
99 reviews
Hotel Capital
#356 of 472 in Seoul
92 reviews
Itaewon
Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel Itaewon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel Itaewon

Property: Crown Hotel Itaewon
Address: 140, Noksapyeong-daero, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04390, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crown Hotel Itaewon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Hotel Itaewon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing