We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, value for money”
Review of Hotel Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sunshine
Ranked #172 of 552 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed 13 January 2015

I have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in December 2014. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained. Hotel's staff is courteous and helpful. Centrally located controls for the lighting, alarm, temperature given inside the room and anybody can choose Korean or English Language according to requirement. Toilets are small with bathtub and smart controlled commode.
2 bottles of water is complementary in the room rest all other items are chargeable. Bathrobe and slippers are also provided in the room for the guests.
Hotel has coffee shop and parking for the guests. Free wifi in room and lobby is also available for the guests. Many plastic surgery centers are available nearby this hotel. Mini stop store is located opposite the Hotel.
Overall experience of staying in this hotel was good.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Rishabh3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2015

Most uncomfortable stay for years I had was in this hotel. Location is bad, it is good only when taking a day tour to DMZ North Korea border as highway access is near from this hotel. All sights are far away, area where hotel is situated offers only steep priced restaurants and bars; e.g. 25USD for Italian pizza, what?

Receptionist was rude and yelling towards my face during check out, as if I was making too much work for her to be billed out of this hotel. Issue was minibar together into bill or separate. I did not use minibar anyway, so why all the yelling? Very Chinese way and unacceptable way to treat a customer, I just acted polite all the way to the end towards her.

Room cleaning is bad. There were black hairs in pillows, sheet, on towels. I wiped tables with antiseptic towel and discovered the dark black dirt on all tables even in bathroom.

Constant music beat is easily heard to fifth floor.

Room amenities with a fee.

Smell from sewer came to room every time when I opened the window. No air-conditioning! It was October and very hot in room, resulting bad sleep comfort every night.

Bed is hard, and it is narrow queen size bed which is suitable only for solo sleeping, keep this in mind if booking this hotel. Thin pillows.

I don´t know what this hotel management thinks about their product, this is not the place to be. Right place to be for me is very near, south area of Gyeongbok temple. There are all you need in that area.

I do not recommend this hotel nor this area.

Room Tip: Ask room from upper floor to avoid music beat from night club below or book another hotel from city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Huuhkaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

Small hotel, modern amenities. Most of the labels are in Korean though like the controls for the lighting and the toilet, so I had to do with trial and error.
The housekeeping staff were courteous, and they all look the same I thought at first they were twins. Same hair and make-up.
Staying here for 4d/3n.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DBrainMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

It is a small hotel but ok enough if you would be sightseeing most of the time. Not near any major tourist attractions but near plastic surgery centers. With mini stop store in front of hotel. Make sure you bring your own shampoo, toothbrush, and toothpaste. It isn't free. They only provide lotion and soap plus cotton buds and shower cap.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no view but are quiet. Specify non smoking floor. We were assigned to a smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinkshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Strategically located small hotel in the heart of Hongdae neighborhood with good, clean rooms and pleasant staff. In-room items are not free but are in keeping with the hotel's environmental and energy conservation policy. Smart toilets are a nice touch. Rooms could use more windows and natural lighting though.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed in Hotel Sunshine during my visit to South Korea in November 2013 for the Thanksgiving break. I was there for a night before my flight to Jeju Island. I found the Hotel Sunshine a comfortable hotel. The guest room is clean and equipped with ample toiletries. It has free wireless internet, breakfast, with fridge in the room, cable television, modern and clean bathroom. In addition, the hotel is located in Kangnam-gu district close to several restaurants and attractions including Olympic Stadium and National Museum of Contemporary Art. Based on my experience, I recommend Hotel Sunshine when visiting Seoul, South Korea.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SwimDiveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Was in Seoul, Korea last week and my group was booked in Hotel Sunshine in the Gangnam district. Locationwise it was a bit far from myeungdong and other shopping areas and places of interest so a taxi is the way to go. If you're with a tour then transportation wont be a problem.
Took a stroll at night to explore the surrounding area; aside from the bars and plastic surgery clinics around, i found a Starbucks, Gongcha, several convenience stores and a gem of a grocery store named JH mart which was open 24 hours and where you can buy everything like chips, Lotte Peppero, chocolates, nori, noodles and soju to take back home. You have to cross the main intersection at the back of the hotel to get to this one and walk a block more.
Our room on the 3rd was small and clean. No view from the window and we could faintly hear the karaoke singers from the club nearby. Bed was ok with fluffy covers but the pillows were small and flat. Toiletries were for sale so best to bring your own. The toilet had a digital bidet which was fairly easy to use, just look at the illustrations on the buttons. Free unlimited wifi in the room! Housekeeping comes in every morning to tidy up even if you dont tell them to.
Breakfast at the Sunshine cafe is the same every day and they have BACON! I liked the Korean porridge and the steamed dumplings. Of course, theres always Kimchi.
I havent had much interaction with the hotel staff because we had a tour guide but they seemed polite.
For tourists who spend most of their days out exploring seoul, this is a fairly good hotel to come back to after the long day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinsa / Garosugil
Dormy Inn Premium Seoul Garosugil
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#40 of 552 in Seoul
337 reviews
LEX Tourist Hotel
#327 of 552 in Seoul
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#249 of 552 in Seoul
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: 205, Dosan-daero, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06026, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 552 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $111 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunshine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing