We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
20
58
27
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
58
27
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean hotel apgujeong tv toilet bed station plugs subway housekeeping luggage shopping
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 112 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2009

I was really shocked to read all the bad reviews for this hotel so I thought I should share my experience which was all positive! We showed up at the airport without a hotel reservation and this was one of the options that the hotel desk found us. We got a discounted rate of 78,000 won per night for a double room which is about 55 dollars. I had fairly low expectations, but we loved it. We were on the 6th floor which had just been renovated. Beautiful rooms with some nice features like a huge flat screen TV on the wall, state of the art toilet (!) and heated mirror (doesn't steam up). Someone mentioned that toiletry items were for sale, but I don't know about that as I always bring my own shampoos and things anyway.

It is possible that the lower floors haven't been renovated yet, so ask for a higher floor to be on the safe side.

The location was good - about a 5-10 minute walk to 2 subway stations and walking distance to a very lively area full of restaurants, shops and cafes. There were lots of coffee shops on the same street too. We didn't try the hotel restaurant - it looked a bit basic. The sauna and nightclub in the annex building looked a little seedy, but we didn't use either, so can't be sure. Anyway, the room gets top marks, the location is OK and the staff were really friendly and helpful. There was also free LAN Internet!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2008

It is my first time to experience a kind of treatment like this hotel offers. All things are for sale, toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, razor and even cotton swabs. you can check out the checklist of items for sale in the photos I post.

If you are not a smoker, you are in danger because all rooms smell smoke. After you used the shower room, you will smell something terrible like coming from the drainage.

My recommendation, find another hotel. This ain't a hotel to me, its a motel.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank b9qwpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2007

A mediocre hotel near a business area: Sinsa-dong in Gangnam. Metro is within walking distance but not close (maybe 10-12 minutes north to Apgujeung Station). Photos I saw on the hotel website made the place look pretty nice. However our room was looking pretty dated & worn (despite hotel claims of a 2004 refurbishing) and was completely uninspiring and a bit dark. Things seemed fairly clean. The hotel has a Korean restaurant, bar, sauna, and karaoke lounge - didn't visit any of them so can't speak about them. The staff are attentive and friendly.

The hotel is situated in a central commercial area of Seoul (fancy glassed-in car dealerships abound) - located at the intersection of two major boulevards. It's not a bad location but it's quite a walk (or a short taxi ride) to anywhere with restaurants. The hotel is easy to find. Its claim to fame is that one of Seoul's hottest nightclubs (BOSS 677) is located in the basement, complete with intimidating looking boucers at the door (we didn't go in, since by all accounts Korean nightclubs are exhorbitantly priced and we were underdressed).

At $100/night the hotel seemed overpriced for the quality of the room. If you need to be in this area for business it might be all right. Also, if you were to avail yourself of the many services the hotel has on offer, you might have a better experience (we pretty much just slept in the room!) We were there as tourists on a weekend so it was very quiet (eerily so!). I wasn't unhapy with the stay but next time I'm in Seoul I will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lambiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2006

After spending quite some time looking for a hotel
for my 4 days stay in Seoul, I decided to make a reservation
at the Sunshine hotel for a promotional rate advertised at $95 US. Atter spending 14 hours on the plane, 90 minutes on the
airport express bus, and walking 30 minutes to find the place,
I arrived at the hotel only to find out they were sold out and would not honor my reservation.

At first, they told me that they had no record of my reservation.
When I showed them my printed comfirmed reservation,
I was asked to speak to another receptionist who finally
pulled out the exact same confirmation sheet I was holding,
and decided to simply apologize for overbooking the hotel.

The sad thing was that for the 20 minutes I spent in the lobby,
3 guests were able to check-in without any problems.
The only difference between my and their resevations was
that they were being charged $110/night (VS my $95)

If you want your Seoul vacation to start well, DO NOT take a chance booking at the Sunshine Hotel in Seoul.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
9  Thank db26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews