We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for moderate price in Seoul”
Review of Hotel Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sunshine
Ranked #172 of 552 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We checked into the hotel without much expectation due some feedbacks we've read.
It was a pleasent surprise that the rooms were very newly renovated and clean.
The location was excellent being moderately close to the subway approx 4 min walking distance and being located right in the heart of Kang Nam.
There are quite many shops & cafes around the area to stop by as well.
Can't complain about the staff, they were nice and had no difficulty communicating with us in English.
Also, last but the best, compared to many hotels in the area, price was moderate which is always a big plus for us.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whoisjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2009

I was really shocked to read all the bad reviews for this hotel so I thought I should share my experience which was all positive! We showed up at the airport without a hotel reservation and this was one of the options that the hotel desk found us. We got a discounted rate of 78,000 won per night for a double room which is about 55 dollars. I had fairly low expectations, but we loved it. We were on the 6th floor which had just been renovated. Beautiful rooms with some nice features like a huge flat screen TV on the wall, state of the art toilet (!) and heated mirror (doesn't steam up). Someone mentioned that toiletry items were for sale, but I don't know about that as I always bring my own shampoos and things anyway.

It is possible that the lower floors haven't been renovated yet, so ask for a higher floor to be on the safe side.

The location was good - about a 5-10 minute walk to 2 subway stations and walking distance to a very lively area full of restaurants, shops and cafes. There were lots of coffee shops on the same street too. We didn't try the hotel restaurant - it looked a bit basic. The sauna and nightclub in the annex building looked a little seedy, but we didn't use either, so can't be sure. Anyway, the room gets top marks, the location is OK and the staff were really friendly and helpful. There was also free LAN Internet!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

It is my first time to experience a kind of treatment like this hotel offers. All things are for sale, toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, razor and even cotton swabs. you can check out the checklist of items for sale in the photos I post.

If you are not a smoker, you are in danger because all rooms smell smoke. After you used the shower room, you will smell something terrible like coming from the drainage.

My recommendation, find another hotel. This ain't a hotel to me, its a motel.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank b9qwpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

A mediocre hotel near a business area: Sinsa-dong in Gangnam. Metro is within walking distance but not close (maybe 10-12 minutes north to Apgujeung Station). Photos I saw on the hotel website made the place look pretty nice. However our room was looking pretty dated & worn (despite hotel claims of a 2004 refurbishing) and was completely uninspiring and a bit dark. Things seemed fairly clean. The hotel has a Korean restaurant, bar, sauna, and karaoke lounge - didn't visit any of them so can't speak about them. The staff are attentive and friendly.

The hotel is situated in a central commercial area of Seoul (fancy glassed-in car dealerships abound) - located at the intersection of two major boulevards. It's not a bad location but it's quite a walk (or a short taxi ride) to anywhere with restaurants. The hotel is easy to find. Its claim to fame is that one of Seoul's hottest nightclubs (BOSS 677) is located in the basement, complete with intimidating looking boucers at the door (we didn't go in, since by all accounts Korean nightclubs are exhorbitantly priced and we were underdressed).

At $100/night the hotel seemed overpriced for the quality of the room. If you need to be in this area for business it might be all right. Also, if you were to avail yourself of the many services the hotel has on offer, you might have a better experience (we pretty much just slept in the room!) We were there as tourists on a weekend so it was very quiet (eerily so!). I wasn't unhapy with the stay but next time I'm in Seoul I will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lambiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2006

After spending quite some time looking for a hotel
for my 4 days stay in Seoul, I decided to make a reservation
at the Sunshine hotel for a promotional rate advertised at $95 US. Atter spending 14 hours on the plane, 90 minutes on the
airport express bus, and walking 30 minutes to find the place,
I arrived at the hotel only to find out they were sold out and would not honor my reservation.

At first, they told me that they had no record of my reservation.
When I showed them my printed comfirmed reservation,
I was asked to speak to another receptionist who finally
pulled out the exact same confirmation sheet I was holding,
and decided to simply apologize for overbooking the hotel.

The sad thing was that for the 20 minutes I spent in the lobby,
3 guests were able to check-in without any problems.
The only difference between my and their resevations was
that they were being charged $110/night (VS my $95)

If you want your Seoul vacation to start well, DO NOT take a chance booking at the Sunshine Hotel in Seoul.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
9  Thank db26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LolitaTamSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank crazykino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinsa / Garosugil
Dormy Inn Premium Seoul Garosugil
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#40 of 552 in Seoul
337 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#249 of 552 in Seoul
23 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Gangnam Family Hotel
Gangnam Family Hotel
#161 of 552 in Seoul
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: 205, Dosan-daero, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06026, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 552 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: C$112 - C$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunshine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing